Ipsy, March 2014

Standard
Ipsy March 2014

Ipsy March 2014

She’s alive!  I’m back and mostly healthy.  Let me tell you, that stomach flu knocked me flat on my ass and I stayed down for a full week.  Thank you for being patient with my lack of posts.  I’m feeling much better now, though still not quite 100%.  I’m improving every day.  In other news, I got my big pink envelope in the mail that can only mean that it’s Ipsy time again.  Before I get into March’s bag, I want to mention how much I enjoyed last month’s Ipsy bag.  I don’t usually do a follow up to my Ipsy posts, so you never get to know what I thought after actually using the products.  With the exception of the nail polish shade that wasn’t my style, I really liked all of the items I got last month, especially the blush, lip gloss, and cream eyeshadow which were all surprisingly great.  It made me super excited to see what Ipsy had in store for March.  For those who are new to this blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a subscription service.  For $10 a month, you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.

March Ipsy bag by Klari

March Ipsy bag by Klari

March’s theme is Destination Beauty.  One really cool part about this month’s bag is that Ipsy is starting a artist series with the bags themselves.  The cool street art bag is the first to feature the artwork of a local artist.  I think it’s great, and really like the bag this month.  I love that they are going this route with the bags.  I can’t wait to see what other art bags come in the future.  Now, onto the products.

Nicole by OPI Roughles polish in “On What Grounds?”

Nicole by OPI Roughles polish in “On What Grounds?”

Nicole by OPI Roughles polish in “On What Grounds?”:  “Nicole by OPI launches Roughles (“ruffles”) – 4 new textured nail lacquers featuring speckled, pastel shades of purple, pink, turquoise and yellow. When the lacquer dries, Roughles lacquers reveal a unique pebbled finish. For the perfect matte effect, skip the top coat!”  This is a full-sized bottle, worth $7.99.

Be a Bombshell Eyeshadow Quad in "Bora Bora"

Be a Bombshell Eyeshadow Quad in “Bora Bora”

Be a Bombshell Eyeshadow Quad in “Bora Bora”:The Bora Bora Eyeshadow Quad contains a highly pigmented long lasting formula for all day wear. To use as an eyeliner, wet the tip of your brush and dip end into the shadow and apply on lash line.”  This is a full-sized compact, worth $16 at beabombshellcosmetics.com.

Klorane Smoothing and Relaxing Patches

Klorane Smoothing and Relaxing Patches

Klorane Smoothing and Relaxing Patches with soothing cornflower:  “Soothing and Relaxing Patches for Tired-Eyes are designed to revive puffy, fatigued eyes for a brighter appearance. Formulated with softening cornflower extract, smoothing and stimulating arnica and relaxing chamomile, these easy to use patches increase circulation while decreasing signs of stress, lack of sleep, prolonged activity, sickness and allergies. Use before a night out to diminish puffiness and dark circles, after a long day of working in the garden or as a once a week treatment for bright, smooth and youthful eyes.”  7packets are available for $18 at dermstore.com.  Sample is two packets, worth $5.14.

bareMinerals Marvelous Moxi Lipstick in "Get Ready"

bareMinerals Marvelous Moxi Lipstick in “Get Ready”

bareMinerals Marvelous Moxi Lipstick in “Get Ready”“Make an impact with Marvelous Moxie Lipstick. Creamy, super-saturated, ultra-pigmented color glides on like butter for full coverage in a rich satin finish. Lips look fuller and more voluptuous. An infusion of minerals revitalizes lips for a healthy-looking pout, while a moisture-loaded hydrating complex helps to nourish and condition with Abyssinian Oil and Omega Fatty Acids for supple, baby-soft smoothness. All the while, an encapsulated vitamin A, C and E complex helps to deliver antioxidant defense, so you’re ready for anything—and everything.”  The  full size lipstick is .12 oz, worth $18 at bareescentuals.com.  Sample size is .05 oz, worth $7.50.

March Ipsy bag

March Ipsy bag

The grand total worth of my March Ipsy bag is $36.63, plus the totally awesome bag.  I have to say it, I’m bummed by this month’s bag.  After such a great bag last month, Ipsy really dropped the ball.  First off, I’ve come to expect 5 items in my bag, and when there are only 4 items, I feel like they should be really awesome products to make up for it.  These just aren’t.  I’m most disappointed by the nail polish again.  I hate textured polish and won’t even open this one.  I know textured polishes are all the rave right now, but I can’t handle them on my nails.  It’s a personal preference thing, though I know that Nicole by O.P.I. is a good brand.  It will definitely be given away.  I would be stoked to get the Marvelous Moxi Lipstick mini, but I already have the shade.  That’s not Ipsy’s fault, but kind of a bummer for me.  I’m not sure what to think of the Klorane Smoothing and relaxing patches.  I don’t really have issues with puffiness or dark circles normally, though I’ll be happy to try them out.  I am excited to try the Be a Bombshell Eyeshadow Quad, but I wish the shades were different.  It’s a beautiful quad, but I already have two palettes with similar shades (again, not Ipsy’s fault).  I have been very happy with the previous Be a Bombshell products that I’ve gotten so, even though I already have these shades, I am excited to further explore the brand.  Oh well, that’s the risk you take with these subscription services.  You aren’t guaranteed to like everything that comes your way.  Even though this month was kind of a bummer, I can say that I have liked way more bags than I have been disappointed with (it’s been about a year and a half).  Ipsy is still totally worth it, in my opinion.  If you are not subscribed and are interested in getting your own Ipsy bag, please use this referral link to sign up.  What did you get in your Ipsy bag?  Were you happy, or was March a disappointment for you?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

