Review: Benefit Cosmetics Skincare Products

Standard
Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit

Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit

Today I have an overview of Benefit Cosmetics skincare.  I had heard great things about Benefit’s skincare line from other beauty bloggers and Youtubers, so I was pretty curious about what the brand had to offer.  Ulta offers the Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit which “features deluxe minis from the collection for bright, radiant, hydrated and youthful skin.”  I thought that this would be a great way to try several of Benefit’s skincare products all together, as they were intended.  I happened to have a 20% off coupon at the time, so I went ahead and bought the set to see if Benefit’s skincare was all it was cracked up to be.

Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit

Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit

The Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit includes six Benefit skincare products in mini size.  And when they say mini, they aren’t kidding.  The bottles, jars, and tubes are all pretty small, and only good for a few weeks of daily use.  The set of six retails for $24, regular price, so each item is worth $4.

The set comes in a clear plastic makeup bag, and includes:

  • Foamingly Clean Facial Wash (0.3 oz.)
  • Refined Finish Facial Polish (0.3 oz.)
  • Moisture Prep Toning Lotion (0.3 fl. oz.)
  • Triple Performing Facial Emulsion SPF 15 PA++ (0.3 US fl. oz.)
  • Total Moisture Facial Cream (0.1 oz.)
  • It’s Potent! Eye Cream (0.1 oz.)

To be honest, I wasn’t actually impressed with this set.  In general, the products weren’t too bad, but there wasn’t anything great about them either.  They all contain fragrance, so if you are sensitive to that, you should skip them completely.  Maybe these products are simply not made for my skin type, which is pretty dry in the winter (when I was testing), though Benefit claims that they are formulated for all skin types.  I need good moisturizers to keep from getting dry, flaky patches.  I’ve had great luck with Neutrogena, Olay, and Micheal Todd products, so I’m not just committed to one line, but Benefit didn’t do me any favors.  Let me break down each product.

Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit

Benefit B.Right Radiant Skincare 6 Pc Intro Kit

Foamingly Clean Facial Wash: “There’s clean & there’s really clean. This 1-step facial wash effectively cleanses the skin & removes makeup & impurities with a soft, gentle lather. This facial wash has a subtle floral and cucumber fragrance.”  This cleanser was definitely foaming.  I tried to use it with my Spa Sonic once and looked like a giant meringue.  While I liked the feel of the heavy lather when washing my face, the cleanser left my skin tight and dry.  And, of course, while I liked the scent, fragrance is bad news in skin care.  Foamingly Clean Facial Wash is $22 and there are so many comparable (and better) products on the market for a fraction of that cost that it doesn’t seem worth it for just an average cleanser.

Moisture Prep Toning Lotion: “The special step for extra radiant skin. Moisture prep toning lotion smoothes and revitalizes allowing skin to fully optimize benefits of your moisturizer. Contains vitamin E acetate, natural oat and meadowsweet, botanical extracts known to purify and smooth the skin and help reduce fine lines. This specialized formula contains a blend of aloe leaf and yeast extract, known to clarify and soothe the skin.”  The toner wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I look for in a toner.  Although alcohol is the third ingredient in this toner, Moisture Prep does feel hydrating.  It has a pretty odd consistency, actually.  It is a lot thicker than most toners and sits on top of the cotton round instead of absorbing in.  The main problem that I had was that I tend to use toners as cleansing waters at this point, and Moisture Prep didn’t feel like it was cleansing at all.  I much prefer The Michael Todd Cranberry Antioxidant toner or the Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner for alcohol free, non drying formulas that still cleanse.  Moisture Prep Toning Lotion is $30.

Total Moisture Facial Cream: “Say good-bye to dry skin and hello to total moisture. This concentrated facial cream delivers immediate & long term hydration for an ultra radiant complexion. Tri-radiance means the complex does three things: captures water on the skin’s surface, maintains water on the skin’s surface, and develops the skin’s reserves of water.”  I actually really liked the Total Moisture Facial Cream, and it’s hands down the best of the bunch in my opinion.   Perhaps because the rich, emollient cream is best suited to normal to dry skin types, I felt that there was decent moisture and hydration for my winter skin.  It feels really lovely and moisture rich.  The problem is that, again, there is fragrance included, but worse than that, there aren’t very many helpful ingredients either.  For $42 a jar, I want more from my skincare than just moisture.  I want anti-aging benefits and reparative ingredients, which this sadly lacks.

It’s Potent! Eye Cream: “Your eyes can’t keep a secret…they’re the first to show signs of age & stress. It’s Potent! Eye Cream fades dark circles & helps smooth fine lines for brighter, younger looking eyes. It contains a peptide complex known to help restore elasticity & firmness, a blend of hydrating botanical extracts including apple extract, known to help boost collagen, & loquat extract, known to help protect the skin from free radical damage.”  Big claims here, and no delivery.  This $34 jar of eye cream feels great when you first apply, but for me, the moisture didn’t last long enough.  My eye area became increasingly dry as time went on and using It’s Potent actually caused me to get a dry patch on my eyelid.  (Sorry if that is TMI, but I’m trying to keep it real.)  I saw no improvement in dark circles or fine lines.  Basically, this eye cream isn’t worth bothering with at all.  I much prefer Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum or Micheal Todd INTENSIVE Organic Cream Eye Treatment.

Triple Performing Facial Emulsion SPF 15 PA++: “Triple performing facial emulsion SPF 15 PA++ hydrates, protects & comforts the skin with an oil-free, lightweight formula. It contains exclusive tri-radiance complex to help develop the skin’s reserves of water. SPF 15 PA++ protects the skin against sun damage with a broad-spectrum blend of UVA & UVB filters.”  This was a great sunscreen, but not the best moisturizer.  I like the protection that it provides from sun damage, but again, for $30 I want more from my skincare.  I want some ingredients that will work for me to restore and correct.  Also, I think the formula may have broken me out.  It’s hard to tell because there were some hormonal issues at the same time I was testing, but I definitely think that this may have been at least in part to blame.

Refined Finish Facial Polish: “Refined finish facial polish beautifully brightens the complexion, gently exfoliating to purify the skin & help minimize the appearance of pores to reveal skin’s natural radiance. It contains natural clay & seaweed extract rich in minerals, nutrients & sugars, known to purify the skin. Refined finish facial polish contains perfectly rounded polyethelene beads and a subtle floral and cucumber fragrance.”  The Facial Polish was too rough for my skin.  The clay was too drying and the beads are too large.  Of all the products in this kit, both good and bad, this is the only one that I couldn’t finish.  The Refined Finish Facial Polish is $23.  Save you money and get something of better quality at the drugstore.

I am glad that I got to try Benefit Cosmetics skincare, and I’m glad that this kit was available so that I could do it for less, but ultimately I am not a fan.  The fragrance, while pleasant, is not a good inclusion and the formulas are just so-so.  For products that retail for around $30 or so on average, I expected more.  Either they need to actually contain ingredients that work hard for me to fight the signs of aging and restore my skin, or they have to have such an awesome formula that they trick me into thinking that they do.  Benefit Cosmetics skincare did not deliver.  I’d skip them entirely, if I were you.

I hope that you liked this review and found it helpful.  Have you had any experience with Benefit Cosmetics skincare?  Let me know in the comments below.  I’d really like to know what you thought because Benefit’s skincare line is pretty popular.  Up next, skincare-wise, will be either First Aid Beauty or Philosophy.  Do you have any recommendations for either brand?  Leave me a comment on that too.

 

One response »

  1. Thanks for the review! I actually have a sample of the Total Moisture Facial Cream, but I haven’t touched it because – as you point out – it doesn’t really do much besides just moisturize. I want more bang for my buck, so to speak!

    If you’ve never tried the two-step Microdelivery Peel from Philosophy, I’d highly recommend it! It’s kinda pricey, but one of my favorite products EVER. I also love Hope in a Jar moisturizer, and have recently fallen in love with Hope in a Jar Night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

