Washington DC

Standard
Photo of the Capitol Dome borrowed from their website

Photo of the Capitol Dome borrowed from their website

Hey everyone, this isn’t actually a real post, but instead a cry for help.  My husband and I randomly decided to take a trip up to DC next month in order to mark something off of our “Stuff we should do/see before we leave the East Coast forever” list (which only sort of exists in our minds).  He has never been there and, though I took a school trip in 8th grade, I don’t really remember very much because I was 13 and more interested in hanging out with my friends than absorbing everything our nation’s capitol has to offer.  So, I am asking you for some advice.  For those of you who live in the area, or who have vacationed to DC, what do you recommend that we do/see/eat…etc.?  We will only be there for a short weekend trip, so we can’t do everything, but what are the Must-See places that we absolutely can’t miss?  Any tips, advice, and recommendations are welcome.

Thanks in advance.  I can’t wait to read your comments.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

7 responses »

  1. The Smithsonian institution, particularly the Air and Space Museum and the Natural History Museum. National Gallery of Art. The White House if you can get in, but usually need to take care of that well in advance. The capital. The Washington Monument. The Lincoln Memorial, the Jefferson Memorial, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. The National Zoo, including the pandas, is also a must see.

  2. I live about 30 minutes outside of DC, some great places I have been to many times are right in the middle, so I don’t think you would have to do TOO much walking in between places. The American History museum is amazing! they are the ones who have stuff like Dorothy’s slippers, First lady’s dresses, and many more things involving american T.V. and history. The Natural history museum is also an amazing place to visit. It has the wonderful Diamond and stone exhibit, and the dinosaurs and stuff. The National gallery of art is great too, a relaxing place to walk through. Many memorials as mentioned can be found on a map at any shop around there and walk to them. Some of my favorites are the capital, Lincoln memorial, Vietnam veterans memorial, and martin Luther king memorial. hope I could offer some help! I don’t know if the cherry blossoms will still be in bloom, but I know it will sure be busy! have fun!

  3. Currently you can’t go into the Washington Monument, but you can go to the top of the Old Post Office Pavilion and the view is just a good (plus you can get a look at the Post Office building before the Trumps turn it into a hotel). If the Smithsonians on the Mall are overcrowded, hit the National Portrait Gallery instead, which is fascinating and in a historic building in the happening neighborhood around Verizon Center. You can’t go wrong with eating at Jaleo or Zaytinya around there. Another hot area is the new 14th Street strip, see http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/special/local/14th-street-businesses/. For something lower key, shop at Eastern Market on the weekends or go to Old Tabard Inn near Dupont Circle for dinner or drinks. There is so much going on here! Are you looking for anything in particular?

  4. On a school trip I took last year, we did a night bus tour (link below) of the DC monuments. Very informative, talks about the history of DC and the presidents and also allows you to hop off and spend some time at the memorials. About 2.5 hours, not too expensive, and checks off a lot of the sights you’ll want to see in one night. Really easy to get tickets, we were able to get tickets for a group of 21 or so the week before we went, and the buses aren’t terribly crowded. Highly recommend in April/May, the weather was beautiful!
    http://eng.bigbustours.com/washington/night-tour.html

  5. My dad lives in D.C., so I have a bit of experience visiting the area. I always love the Smithsonian museums, and the Holocaust museum is one that everyone should visit at least once in their lives. Not sure if you’ll have occasion to visit the Georgetown area while you’re there, but there’s an Italian restaurant there called Tuscana West that my dad LOVES. Happy traveling!

Leave a Reply

