Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Standard
Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Real Techniques, one of my favorite makeup brush brands, released three new brushes at the beginning of the year.  Today, I have the Retractable Kabuki Brush to show you.  I have mentioned Real Techniques several times here on the blog, but if you haven’t used a Real Techniques brush, you really should check them out.  Real Techniques is an affordable brand with good quality brushes that are perfect for anyone, whether you are a beginner, or if you have advanced skills.  I am really pleased with the Retractable Kabuki Brush.  Let me show you why.

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

The Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush is a fluffy, angled kabuki.  Ulta describes the brush as such: “Get “gorgeous on the go with Real Techniques new Retractable Kabuki Brush! The firm, full brush is an essential, on-the-go tool that evenly applies powders, bronzers or blush. And the retractable brush and lid protects the plush bristles and allows you to throw it in your purse or bag and use it while on the go! For perfect cheekbones, use with bronzer or highlighter to define and contour the hollows of the cheeks. Use with blush to fill out the apples of the cheeks.

It really is quite the multi-tasker.  The The Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush is a pretty decent size for easy powder application, without being so large that it takes up half your face when you try to apply blush.  The angled side has enough of a point that you can use it for more precise contouring.  You can use the brush for all-over powder, blush, bronzer, and highlight with equal ease.  The bristles are soft with some flexibility, but they are also dense.  If you are familiar with Real Techniques face brushes, I’d say that the Retractable Kabuki Brush is less dense than the Expert Face Brush, and more similar to the Buffing Brush.  Though it wouldn’t be my first choice, I personally think that you can get away with using the Retractable Kabuki Brush with liquid and cream products if you wanted to buff out your foundation, but it depends on your personal preference.  Some women prefer a denser, stiffer brush for foundation.  Of course, the Retractable Kabuki Brush is perfect for powder foundation.

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

The completely synthetic (Taklon), cruelty free bristles on the Retractable Kabuki Brush are super soft and feel luxurious against the skin.  All of the Real Techniques brushes I own set a pretty high standard for softness.  They also hold up very well to use and frequent washing.  I have had no issues with bristles falling out or getting loose.  I really love the design of the Retractable Kabuki Brush.  The one issue that I have with regular retractable brushes is that the bristles can sometimes get caught at weird angles which leave them bent and wonky.  There is no issue with that happening with the Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush.  There is a wonderful metal guard that slides up to protect the bristles when you put the cap on.

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

When you want to cap the Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush, you slide the metal guard up.  It reaches all the way to the tip of the bristles, so that they are completely out of the way of the cap.  There is a ridge at the top of the guard where the cap sits to push the guard back down into the body of the brush.  It is a wonderful design to protect the brush and keep it lasting a long time, even with frequent travel.  The cap is secure enough that when you try to remove it, the guard comes up with it.  I haven’t had issues with the cap coming off in my bag.  However, it is possible that the cap will get looser as time goes on.  Still, I have faith that the cap will keep my brush protected and clean in my bag.

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush

The Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush is not small, and it has some heft to it, but it is still a fantastic travel brush because of it’s versatility and good design.  I think that those of you who need to apply or refresh your makeup on the go would do really well to pick one of these up.  Even if you don’t need a travel brush, the Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush is a good option for those in the market for a good quality kabuki that’s not too expensive.  I am a fan of Real Techniques brushes, and recommend the line.  I have several Real Techniques Brushes, and none have disappointed me.  If you are interested in a retractable brush, but you’d rather get a different shape, Real Techniques also has the Retractable Bronzer Brush.  It is a flat top duo fiber brush that is larger than the Kabuki.  (I don’t own that one.)  I usually buy Real Techniques from Ulta, and the Retractable Kabuki Brush is $10.  I have recently seen Real Techniques in-store at Walgreens, and I know you can find them online through Ulta, Walgreens, and Target.  The Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush is a win for me, and I think you should check it out.

Real Techniques Retractable Bronzer Brush

Real Techniques Retractable Bronzer Brush

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I didn’t even know this brush existed, but I might have to check it out. I’ve only recently started carrying my makeup with me, and this might come in handy for carrying around in my bag since the bristles would stay clean.

Leave a Reply

