NYX Maracon Lippies: Yay or Nay?

Standard
NYX Macaron Lippies

NYX Macaron Lippies

Hey everyone, I’m back!  Thank you for being so patient and understanding with my hiatus.  It was a good break.  But I m back now, and boy do I have something to show you.  NYX new Macaron Lippies are creating quite a stir, and for good reason.  It can often feel like beauty brands are just pumping out the same products over and over again with different names, so when something truly different comes out, god or bad, it catches everyone’s attention.  Here is what NYX has to say about the new Macaron Lippies: “Fantasize in color with our neon and pastel lippies in 12 of the creamiest shades you’ll ever use. Our cruelty-free formula is packed with pigment and has a satin matte finish for long-wearing resilience.”  NYX is known for their quality lip products, especially lipstick, so you know these aren’t going to be cheap waxy Halloween makeup.  Check out the color range below.

NYX Macaron Lippies

NYX Macaron Lippies

So here is my question: Would you actually wear these?  Knowing that the formula is probably as smooth and creamy as NYX round lipsticks (I’m guessing), would you buy these wacky colors and wear them in your real life?  I can see a use for them if they happen to match your favorite sports team colors.  If you are into Cosplay, you may want one or two to complete your costume.  I’m sure they will sell like hotcakes come Halloween time.  But other than costumes and fandom, where would you wear them?  I think I’m a little too old to pull them off.  Personally, I think that I would look ridiculous.  But if you have a young, free spirit and want to channel Nicki Minaj, then NYX Maracon Lippies may be perfect for you.  What do you think?  “Yes, please” or “Please, god no“?  Discuss in the comments below.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

11 responses »

  1. I’m torn… I mean, on the one hand, it is a little strange that I’m totally OK with the concept of applying crazy color to my face (usually eye shadow) in the effort to appear more attractive, yet I draw the line at (what my brain tells me are) lip colors that are within the realm of natural, except that some of the colors that I accept (corals, oranges, fuchsias) are not even remotely natural. Yet I have a very difficult time imagining that powder blue lipstick could possibly be attractive. (Except that Nicki Minaj is rather fierce with her crazy makeup.)

    I mean, it’s all just paint on my face, right? So what does it matter? But — seriously — gray? mint green? lime green? YEESH!

    I can has cognitive dissonance.

    • That is an interesting point. It is a bit arbitrary what colors are accepted as pretty on the face compared to those that are unattractive. And personally, I’ve never been a fan of Minaj style.

  2. I think the pink/purple shades are probably wearable for most in an everyday way (admittedly, my definition of “everyday” might be a bit out there), and I could maybe see owning a couple for mixing purposes. But lime green on my lips…nah. Gotta give it to Nyx though for giving Lime Crime a run for their money 🙂

Leave a Reply

