April Favorites 2014

Standard
Monthly Favorites April 2014

Monthly Favorites April 2014

It’s Monthly Favorites time!  For those of you who are new to the blog, Monthly Favorites are those products that particularly stood out to me and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  I was still going pretty easy on the makeup throughout April, and I went for a lot of easy natural looks.  You will notice that there isn’t a whole lot of color in this month’s favorites.  Still, I have been very happy with these products.  Several of them are new, and there are a couple old favorites in there too.  So, let’s get started.

e.l.f. Cruisin' Chic and NYX Moonlit Skinny Dip

e.l.f. Cruisin Chic and NYX Moonlit Skinny Dip

My first favorite is actually two products together.  I’ve been pairing the e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pot in Cruisin Chic and the NYX Love in Rio Eyeshadow Palette in Moonlit Skinny Dip.  I did a review of the e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots earlier this month.  You can see the full review and swatches here.  I’ve been obsessed with the e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots.  The formula is so good and they are so affordable.  In essence, I loved them, and Cruisin Chic was my favorite of the bunch.  It is a gorgeous metallic taupe shade with a ton of dimension and life.  It looks beautiful all by itself, but I’ve been combining it with NYX Moonlit Skinny Dip to complete the look.

e.l.f. Cruisin' Chic and NYX Moonlit Skinny Dip

e.l.f. Cruisin Chic and NYX Moonlit Skinny Dip

I’ve been placing e.l.f. Cruisin Chic on the lid, then dipping my brush back and forth between the middle and darkest shades in the NYX Moonlit Skinny Dip trio for my crease color.  I highlight with the lightest shade in Moonlit Skinny Dip.  Combining the metallic taupe with the more subtle matte shades make this simple look so wearable for daytime.  It’s also a better option for those of you who don’t normally do metallic or shimmer.  The matte shades tone it down so you have that pop on the lids without the shimmers overpowering your look or accentuating flaws that you’d rather ignore.  I love the way the two products look together and have been wearing this combo constantly.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation in (L) Porcelain and (R) Sand

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation in (L) Porcelain and (R) Sand

Another e.l.f. product that I’ve been loving is an oldie but a goody.  I’ve been gravitating toward the e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation before the weather gets too warm.  I’ve featured this foundation in a couple favorites posts before.  I tend to forget about the e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation, but every time I use it, I am reminded of how much I like it.  It gives my skin a beautiful, smooth, semi-matte finish with pretty good coverage.  It doesn’t dry me out, and my skin looks great several hours into wear with no fading.  I love the packaging.  Check out that glass bottle!  It also has a pump dispenser.  E.l.f. really stepped it up with the packaging for the Flawless Finish Foundation.  It looks expensive, but it is still only $6.00, which is pricey for e.l.f., but lower than anything else you can find in the drugstore.  I recommend checking it out, especially if you have dry skin.  Though I should say that I wouldn’t choose e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation during the very warmest months of the year unless you are rarely outside.  The only issue I have with this foundation is the shade selection doesn’t match me perfectly, so I have to mix two shades.  In the summer, when I have some color, I can get away with just using Sand.  However, in the winter months when I’m at my palest, I need to mix Porcelain (which is too light) with Sand (which is too dark) to get a really good match.  For reference, I’m usually the second or third shade in a foundation line.  (I’m 820 in the CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation that everyone and their mother has used.)  E.l.f. foundations often run dark, so keep that in mind if you have very light skin.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream

When I reviewed the Benefit Cosmetics skincare products earlier this month, I mentioned that when it came to moisturizers they either need to actually contain ingredients that work hard for me to fight the signs of aging and restore my skin, or they have to have such an awesome formula that they trick me into thinking that they do.  First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream fits that latter category.  There aren’t any super power ingredients that are supposed to work miracles on my skin, but I absolutely love the formula.  This is for people with dry skin for sure.  It would probably be way too emollient for oily or combo skin.  But if you have dry skin, First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream is amazing.  I can put this on at night and wake up with it still on and moisturizing my face almost as well as when freshly applied.  My husband wrinkles his nose at the concept (he hates lotions and moisturizers) but that is a huge selling point or me.  My skin is completely repaired from the long winter, it feels soft and supple.  It doesn’t feel dry anymore at all.  I love the formula, and despite not having any miracle worker ingredients, First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream works really well for me.

Ralph Lauren Midnight Romance

Ralph Lauren Midnight Romance

I have been really into perfumes this month.  I’ve been trying to remember to apply a different scent every day.  I didn’t want to include my entire fragrance collection here in this favorites post, so I will show off my newest scent that I purchased this month.  Ralph Lauren Midnight Romance is dreamy and sophisticated, and a different choice for me.  I have been trying to grow my fragrance collection to include more sophisticated scents than my usual Juicy or Ed Hardy fragrances.  I started with Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia, which is so lovely, but still pretty light.  Midnight Romance is a bit heavier.  Feminine florals (peony, jasmine, and freesia) combine with sexier notes of bergamot and black vanilla.  There is a slight touch of berry that keeps it from going too dark and heavy, but it isn’t a fruity scent.  Midnight Romance is really a beautiful fragrance that is feminine sexy and sophisticated, and I’m so glad that I got it.  I love getting rollerballs or travel sizes of perfumes because they are so much more affordable so that I can get a variety.  I’m not the kind to stick to a signature scent so rollerballs are perfect or me.

That’s it for my April favorites.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.  What were your favorite products from the month of April?  Let me know in the comments below.

2 responses »

  1. The elf new cream eyeshadows are getting more and more famous! Can’t wait to get one! 🙂
    Everybody seems to talk gold about First Aid Beauty! So curious to try something!

Leave a Reply

