Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Standard
Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Today I have Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe for review.  Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow was introduced earlier this year, and I was immediately intrigued.  They look like Ulta’s version of L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadow.  Almost an exact copy, actually, so I’ve been wondering how close the two products come.  I finally picked one up along with the Ulta Color Core Lipstick that I reviewed last week.  Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow comes in ten shades, and I opted to try Taupe because it struck me as the most wearable of the ten shades and the one that I would get the most use out of.

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Here is what Ulta has to say about their Brilliant Color Eye Shadow: “ULTA’s Brilliant Color Eye Shadow offers the comfort of a cream and the ease of application only a powder can deliver. This silky soft velvety texture offers great staying power with crease resistant wear.”  Not a very lengthy description, I grant you, but those familiar with L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadow will know the drill.  The Brilliant Color Eye Shadow is more of a pressed pigment than a typical powder shadow.  This means that if you were to press too hard or dig in with a brush, the product will crumble and become a loose pigment.  This is where the little plastic flattener thing comes in handy, because if you do loosen some of the product, you can press it flat again.  Here’s what it looks like:

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow

When you unscrew the cap, you will find the little plastic flattener thingy that plainly states  “DO NOT DISCARD”.  Although it may look cheap and unnecessary, you don’t want to throw it out.  The flattener is designed to keep the product pressed flat and to help keep it from drying out.  I have had some of the L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadows for two years and they are still in perfect shape thanks to this little guy, so be sure to keep it.

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow performs just as well as the L’Oreal version in my opinion.  It is pigmented and smooth.  It applies easily with a variety of methods, but I prefer a flat synthetic brush for myself.  Those of you who prefer to use your fingers are in luck, though, because Taupe applied very evenly when I tried it that way.  I do not have oily eyelids, so I was able to get away with nine hours of wear with no creasing or fading.  If you have more oil issues, use of an eye primer first will extend your wear time.  I also recommend a primer if you have any dry patches on your lids, because the metallic finish will cling to dry patches.  I can’t really talk about the other Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow shades because I haven’t tried them, but Taupe is opaque and smooth.  Based on Taupe, I think Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow has a great formula.

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe is a warm brown based, metallic taupe shade.  It is a great neutral, but with some drama and intensity.  I love shades like this on the lids paired with matte shades in the crease.  I swatched Taupe next to the two L’Oreal Infallible shades that I have that are the closest.  I wanted to you to see how Taupe fit in the shades range so that, if you already own L’Oreal, you could see if you need this shade.  Here they are:

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe compared to L'Oreal Infallible in Bronzed Taupe (L) and Amber Rush (R)

Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe compared to L’Oreal Infallible in Bronzed Taupe (L) and Amber Rush (R)

This is Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe on the top compared to L’Oreal Infallible in Bronzed Taupe on the left and Amber Rush on the right.  As you can see, Bronzed Taupe is darker and cooler toned that Ulta’s Taupe.  Amber Rush has more red in it, and is more of a Rose Gold shade.  I definitely think the shades are distinctly different.  The other comparison to L’Oeal that must be made is the price.  Though these two shadows are the same size (3.5g), Ulta’s version is $10, while L’Oreal’s is $8.

I like Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadow in Taupe and think that you should give it a try, but wait for a sale.  I do not think that $10 is a bargain at all.  While it is a good product, it is overpriced.  Fortunately, Ulta often offers buy one (or two), get one free sales on Ulta brand products.  Plus, there is always the $3.50 off of $10 coupon that is available most weeks.  If you do not have a ton of L’Oreal Infallible shadows, you may want to pick up some Ulta Brilliant Color Eye Shadows.  However, if you already have a large collection of L’Oreal Infallible shadows, Ulta’s version, while good, isn’t all that different.  Check out ulta.com for more information.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

