e.l.f. Studio Daily Moisture Stick

Standard
e.l.f. Studio Daily Moisture Stick

e.l.f. Studio Daily Moisture Stick

Today I have the e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick for review.  To be honest, I’ve been putting off this review for a very long time because it took that long to make up my mind about the product.  E.l.f. describes the Daily Moisture Stick as such: “Daily Moisture Stick is an easy to use clear gel formulation that nourishes and hydrates the skin. This light-weight and soothing multi-purpose balm is enriched with antioxidants and anti-aging ingredients including Grape, Cocoa, Shea, Avocado, Macadamia, Aloe and Chamomile. The sleek, convenient packaging is perfect for travel and everyday use to condition and moisturize skin, both at home and on the go!”  It all sounds great, but somehow I am not convinced.  Read on to see why.

e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick

e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick

There are some problems with the Daily Moisture Stick, mostly involving ingredients.  Here is what the back of the package looks like, and if you can’t read it, here is the list of ingredients for you:

Water (Aqua), Sodium Stearate, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, PEG-150 Distearate, Sodium Chloride, Menthol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Mica, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Butyrospermum Parkll (Shea) Butter, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Undaria Pinnatifida Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Chamaemelum Nobile (Chamomile) Extract, BHA, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben.

You may notice the troubling inclusion of Menthol and a trio of Parabens that might raise a few eyebrows.  The Menthol is a known irritant and, while enjoyably cooling, isn’t your friend.  Parabens are pretty controversial.  Some people avoid them at all cost, while others aren’t worried about them at all.  I tend to fall somewhere in the middle.  I’m not too worried about them, but they are worth noting and paying attention to.  If you make it a point to avoid Parabens, then you will want to pass the Daily Moisture Stick right on by.

e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick

e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick

My main issue with the e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick is that I feel like I am applying deodorant to my skin.  The clear gel stick goes on with a light, non-greasy formula that feels a little tacky to me.  It dries down relatively quickly, though the tackiness does linger longer than I would like.  The e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick does hydrate, but the formula is so light that I prefer a bit more moisturizing for my dry skin.  I think the e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick would be best for someone with combo or oily skin who is not prone to breakouts.  It’s just not enough for me.

I do like how travel friendly the e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick is.  The cap is secure and will not accidentally knock off, so you can feel safe tossing it in your purse.  I am not a big enough fan of the formula to apply it to my face, so I usually use it on my elbows and cuticles when they start to feel dry during the day.  Though not my favorite product, the e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick is good for on-the-go moisture.  I don’t think my skin type is what e.l.f. had in mind when designing this product.  The e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick is highly rated and has some decent reviews, but it just isn’t for me.  I’ve used a good chunk of it, but I would not repurchase.  The e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick is $6 at eyeslipsface.com.  I would definitely wait for a sale if you are interested in picking it up.  Maybe you will have better luck than I did.

Have you tried the e.l.f. Daily Moisture Stick?  What was your experience?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. I own this product, but hardly ever use it. Sometimes I’ll tap it on over my undereye concealer halfway through the day if I feel like that area has gotten a little dry, and I also use it to pat onto my nose if I have a cold or allergies and am blowing my nose a lot. It helps prevent flaking and irritation around my nose area when my allergies are acting up. But I wouldn’t ever use it as my all-over face moisturizer or anything, so I find myself agreeing with your mixed feelings about it!

Leave a Reply

