E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes

Standard

 

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes

Today I have the e.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes for review.  There are three Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes available on eyeslipsface.com, and I have two of them to show you.  I purchased the palettes when they first came out, back in August, and only the Smoke and Sunset palettes were available.  Now you can also purchase the Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Naked for six neutral shades.  Here is what e.l.f. has to say about the Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes: “These ultra-silky and lustrous eyeshadows look like a powder but feel like a cream, allowing for a smooth and flawless application. Use to contour, line, and highlight for a radiant finish. The luminous, shimmery formula creates a gorgeous range of looks for both day and night.”

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette

The Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes are pretty sleek looking, about the length of a checkbook, but half the width.  They open up to reveal a full length mirror of good quality.  No fun-house cheap mirrors here.  The six shades come in a row of square-shaped pans that are 2 grams each.  The Studio Prism Eyeshadows have a silky, creamy formula.  They are like a loosely pressed pigment that feels reminiscent (and has some characteristics) of a mousse or a gel.  They are creamier than a powder shadow, but not as wet as the gel-based e.l.f. Studio Long-Lasting Lustrous Eyeshadow, if that helps.  It’s a very interesting formula, and I applaud e.l.f. for doing something different.  The problem is that I don’t like the formula.

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes aren’t terrible, but I do not understand why they seem to be raved about.  They are so highly rated, and have gotten so many great reviews, but I am not impressed.  I think that the Sunset palette performs better than the Smoke palette, but neither are as good as the Long-Lasting Lustrous Eyeshadows or the new e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots.  They have good pigmentation and feel lightweight on the eye, but there are problems too.  I have a major fall-out issue with the shadows, and they can get chunky if you aren’t careful with how much product is on the brush.  In keeping with the pressed pigment idea, it’s as if they are too loosely packed so that they flake up a lot in the pan.  They make a huge mess in the palette.  I’ve also noticed that the Studio Prism Eyeshadows have a strange petroleum chemical smell that really turns me off of them.  They really aren’t as good as the hype would make you believe.  I’ll explain further as I detail each palette.

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Smoke

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Smoke

The Smoke palette is the worst of the two that I purchased.  The shades reminded me of an Urban Decay palette (I think it’s the Dangerous palette) and I was hoping that it would be a good dupe.  It wasn’t.  All of the shades in all three Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes are shimmery or metallic.  If you like mattes, stay far away from these products.  I actually really like shimmer, but I like to pair them with mattes or at least satin finish to tone them down.  All this metallic shimmer is a bit much for one look, especially if you are hoping to transition from Day to Night.  While I love the shades in the Smoke palette, the real issue that I had was with staying power.  Without primer, these shadows began to fade within a couple hours.  What’s even worse is that they started to crease on me within four hours.  Remember, I have dry lids, so I rarely have trouble with fading and creasing.  Actually, I’m not completely convinced it was actual creasing, but rather an uneven fading that looked like creasing.  Either way, it was bad look.  With primer, the Smoke Prism Eyeshadows did better and didn’t start to fade until the four or five hour mark with no creases on me.  I think even with a primer, oily lid girls will have problems.

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Smoke

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Smoke

The other issue that I had with the Smoke palette is that the shades get lost together.  They blended with each other a little too smoothly and looked muddy and undefined.  I really wanted to like the Smoke palette, but it was a big fail for me.  E.l.f. did a little better job on the Sunset Studio Prism Eyeshadow palette, and I did enjoy that one.

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Sunset

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Sunset

True to it’s name, the Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Sunset is a collection of fiery gold and pink shades.  The wear-time for the Sunset palette was much better than the Smoke palette.  You still need a primer with the Sunset Palette to avoid fading and creasing.  Even with a primer I still had some fading issues, but it was minimal compared to the Smoke palette, and I didn’t really mind it that much.  Unlike the Smoke palette, these shades blend well with each other and stay defined for a dimensional look.

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Sunset

E.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Sunset

As you can see, the six shades in the Sunset palette are even more metallic than the shades in the Smoke palette.  This is a lot of look, even for someone used to wearing bright colors.  I think that the Sunset palette is gorgeous, but I can not wear it alone. I have to incorporate some true powder shadows with matte or satin finishes.  E.l.f. claims that you can use the Studio Prism Eyeshadows as liner as well as shadow, but I would not recommend it, especially with these fiery colors.  The shadows migrate and the pinks can make you look a little ill.  Also, with that sick petroleum smell, I’m not thrilled with the idea of putting them on the lower lash line for fear of getting them in the eye.  I haven’t heard of any bad reaction to the Studio Prism Eyeshadow, but that smell makes me nervous.

All in all, though the e.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes swatch beautifully, the formula leaves a lot to be desired.  At $10 full price, I would definitely skin the Smoke palette.  It just isn’t worth it.  If you like the Studio Prism Eyeshadow in Sunset or want to try it in Naked, I’d wait for a sale.  I don’t think that they are worth $10, but they may be worth $5.  I would love to hear if you have tried the e.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes.  My opinion seems to be in the minority from what I see on the internet, so I really want to hear your thoughts.  Am I missing something?  Do you love the e.l.f. Studio Prism Eyeshadow Palettes?  Or do you, like me, wonder what all the hype is about?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I LOLed at “This is a lot of look.” Great review – I had been curious about these but not bought them because I’ve actually seen a few negative reviews. They do look gorgeous in the pan, though.

    • I’m surprised that you saw a few negative reviews because I’ve seen so many positive ones. At least I know now that it’s not just me. I wish they looked as good on as they do in the pan. Oh well. 😉

Leave a Reply

