CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer and Powder Foundation

Standard
CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer and Powder

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer and Powder

Today, as promised, I finally have the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer and Powder Foundation for review.  You may remember my review of the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Oil-Free Foundation.  CoverGirl is continuing it’s focus on a younger market with the Ready Set Gorgeous line.  With fun packaging and Katy Perry as the celeb pushing the line, it has certainly garnered attention.  The foundation and concealer are both oil-free, and the mattifying line is designed for oil control.  My sister let me borrow her concealer and powder for review, so let’s start with the concealer.

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer

The CoverGirl Ready, Set Gorgeous concealer is supposedly designed to quickly conceal dark circles and imperfections.  It has a lightweight, liquid formula that applies with a doe foot applicator.  I think that this is a great concealer or younger girls and women who don’t have a lot going on under the eye.  The coverage is pretty sheer, so if you have major dark circles, this concealer is not for you.  I did find that the concealer does brighten very nicely, but if you have issues with puffiness or really dark circles, it won’t conceal these issues and it does sheer away as you blend.  If you just have a little concealing and brightening to do, the formula is very smooth and it applies evenly.  It looks great when applied.

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer Applicator

I don’t have very dark circles, so the sheer formula doesn’t bother me.  The real issue that I have with CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer is that it fades rather quickly.  I didn’t experience any creasing issues, but the concealer only lasted about four hours on me.  There is no way you can make it through a work day.  So bottom line, if you only need light coverage and have the opportunity and willingness to reapply throughout the day, CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer gives you a beautiful finish.  However, if you need some real concealing and don’t want to have to babysit your concealer, look elsewhere.

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Powder

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Powder

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Pressed Powder is actually a Powder Foundation.  The oval compact has a pretty good mirror, but overall, I think the packaging is pretty ugly and cheap-looking.  It may look like there isn’t a whole lot of product in there, but it is 10.5 g, which is comparable to other brands.  The powder does come with a small sponge that fits into the empty space, but my sister had already used it, so I didn’t want to take a picture of it.  I really don’t recommend using the sponge, anyway.  The Ready, Set, Gorgeous Powder is a thick mattifying powder.  It provides pretty good coverage.  I find that you have to be really careful with application, though, because it is easy to apply too much.  That’s why I don’t recommend using the sponge that comes in the compact because it applies way too heavily.  I am not the biggest fan of the Ready, Set, Gorgeous Powder to be honest.  I feel like it can easily look cakey and gives that visible powdery look that is not flattering.  If you have smooth, youthful skin, you can probably get away with it, especially with the use of a setting spray.  But, if you have fine lines or wrinkles, or even a dullness to you skin, the Ready, Set, Gorgeous Powder isn’t the best drugstore option in my opinion.

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer (L) and Powder (R)

CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Concealer (L) and Powder (R)

Here is a swatch of the concealer on the left and the powder on the right.  You can see how liquidy the concealer is.  I’m not sure if you can see the powder very well, but it is always hard to swatch face powders in photos.  I hope that this review was helpful to you.  Ultimately, I do think that all of the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous products are decent if you have youthful skin.  But, if you are in your mid twenties or older, you will probably want to look somewhere else.  They are also not great products in terms of longevity.  I don’t dislike the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous line because I love the look that the foundation and concealer give for the first few hours, but I can’t say that I recommend the products either.  There are too many similar products in the drugstore with less problem issues for me to really give the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous line a thumbs up.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

