Ipsy July 2014

Standard
July 2014 Ipsy bag

July 2014 Ipsy bag

It’s Ipsy time once again.  My Ipsy bag came really late this month.  Did any of you experience late shipping for July like I did?  People were receiving there bags at least a week before I got mine, but it did finally arrive.  🙂  July’s theme is “Sensationally Sunkissed”: Here comes the sun and a Glam Bag full of beauty products so good that even the sun would worship it. There isn’t a gray cloud in sight this summer as we give you an amazing selection of brands and products fit to help keep you looking your best during summer’s brightest days and warm long nights.  I thought the bag was kind of extreme with its hits and misses.  There were some great products in this bag, and some colossal misses.  So, let’s check it out.

Pür Minerals Big Look Waterproof Mascara

Pür Minerals Big Look Waterproof Mascara

Pür Minerals Big Look Waterproof Mascara: “Rain or shine, take your lashes to the extreme! Made with Argan Oil—a revolutionary ingredient, loaded with lash-loving omega fatty acids, vitamin E and antioxidants— Pür’s waterproof mascara evenly coats each lash in beautiful, budge-proof colour. Go big with our exclusive, clump-resistant wand, ensuring a smooth, no-mess application— even in tough inner corners. This waterproof lash enhancing mascara is the last waterproof mascara that you will ever need!” Full size retails for $20 at purminerals.com for 0.17 oz, sample size is 0.12 oz, worth $14.12.

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Divine Wine: “Meet the next generation in eyeshadow: creamy, long-wearing color meets exceptional skincare benefits and broad spectrum SPF protection. Chock-full of skin-loving ingredients, this breakthrough product delivers 5 benefits in one luxurious formula: 12-hour long-wearing color, Super-charged primer, Powerful brightening benefits, Smoothes fine lines, Protects with SPF. Available in a range of 10 seductively neutral shades.” Ipsy uses Ulta as their distributor for this one. Full size retails for $18 at ulta.com for 0.10 fl. Oz. Sample size is 0.03 oz, worth $5.40.

Lavilin Jojoba Gel Cream

Lavilin Jojoba Gel Cream

Lavilin Jojoba Gel Cream: “Jojoba, out of all nature’s compounds, is the most similar to human skin oil. It is known to restore the skin’s natural luster and suppleness, and soften and hydrate dry skin. Lavilin Jojoba Gel Cream calms and softens skin, is excellent after over-exposure to sun, and is suitable for use in intimate areas.” Full size retails for $21 at lavilin.com for 100 ml. Sample size is 15 ml, worth $3.15.

Pixi Beauty Mini Tinted Brilliance Balm

Pixi Beauty Mini Tinted Brilliance Balm

Pixi Beauty Mini Tinted Brilliance Balm in Pretty in Pink: “Packed with lip-loving ingredients, this glossy gel balm protects & hydrates lips instantly. After the balm wears off, lips are left tinted with a flattering, personalized hue just for you (color & intensity depends on pH level of lips). Twist-up crayon requires no sharpening.” Full size retails for $14 at pixibeauty.com for 0.1 oz. Sample size is 0.06 oz, worth $8.40.

Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08

Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08

Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08: “Highlight your healthy glow with our organically indulgent dark tanning oil. Rich in vitamins, antioxidants, & exotic plant extracts. Tan naturally!”  Full size retails for $11.99 at hangtensunscreen.com for 8 oz. Sample size is 1 oz, worth $1.50.

Ipsy

Ipsy

The grand total worth of my July Ipsy bag is $32.57.  Like I said, there were some hits and misses.  I am really happy with the Pür Minerals mascara, the Pixi Tinted Brilliance Balm, and the bareMinerals 5-in-1 Cream Eyeshadow.  I am excited to try all three of them out.  And I love the “water droplets” look on the mascara that is so similar to the MAC Alluring Aquatics collection that everyone went crazy over last month.  I’m less excited by the gel cream, but only because I tried it out and it stinks to high heaven.  The formula is really nice (especially on eczema) but it’s pretty stinky, so I am on the fence about it.  The one product that I can’t believe Ipsy even put in the bags is the tanning oil.  I mean, I didn’t know that companies even still made tanning oil.  Hello, melanoma in a bottle?  I have heard many comments from people that received this oil saying that it smells great and works well in hair and on cuticles.  I am still just really shocked.  Ipsy usually does well with skincare products and SPF, so this product seems very unlike them.  Oh well, you can’t win them all.  I am thrilled with three of my five products, and their worth was well over my $10 subscription fee.  I also kind of like this cute little pink scalloped bag.  It isn’t something that I would have picked for myself, but I’ll keep it and use it.

Let me know in the comments below what you recieved in your Ipsy bags, especially if you got the tanning oil and what you are planning to do with it.  If you would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link.  I have been subscribed to Ipsy since October 2012 and have really enjoyed my subscription.  I definitely recommend it.

Don’t forget to check out my previous post and enter the giveaway for the Derma MD Vitamin C duo.  I’m picking the winner tomorrow, so don’t wait too long to enter.

8 responses »

  1. My Ipsy bag shipped pretty late, too – I just got it on Friday. That tanning oil is baffling! I didn’t receive that, but I got an acne spot treatment I’m not really thrilled about. I am super excited to try the BareMinerals shadow, though! 🙂

  2. I got mine a few days late this sad time. I got some of the same things you did but I got the Tints and Sass lip stain and the Benefit Their Real mascara. You’re right about the aloe lotion, it totally stinks!!! I couldn’t tolerate it!! I’m very surprised about the tanning oil! I love in the south where tanning is popular but I am too scared of skin cancer to use it.

    • I would have liked to get the Tints and Sass lip stain. It looked pretty cool, and I love the name. You are right to be scared of tanning. It’s a bad idea. I don’t know what Ipsy was thinking.

  3. My bag was super late- got it july 21. This happened last month too. I wish they would start shipping on the first. By the time it arrives everyone already has theirs. I also know what’s in my bag before it arrives because the website wants me to review everything a day after my tracking code arrives. I don’t tan anymore and was super annoyed at getting that. It’s a useless product whether you are pro-tanning or pro-sun protection. Spf 8 is useless and you wouldn’t use that in a tanning bed at all because it defeats the purpose. I am hoping it smells nice and can be used as a moisturizer because given the controversy I doubt anyone will be willing to trade.

    • Ipsy shipping drives me crazy!They really need to go with a different shipping company, IMO. I agree with you that I doubt anyone will want to trade for the tanning oil. It was a big misstep on Ipsy’s part.

Leave a Reply

