July 2014 Favorites

Standard
Monthly Favorites for July 2014

Monthly Favorites for July 2014

It’s the first day of August, so you know what that means.  It’s Monthly Favorites time!  For those of you who are new to the blog, Monthly Favorites feature those products that particularly stood out to me and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  July was a lot of fun.  I celebrate my birthday all month long, and my niece came in from out of town, so I was pretty busy and there were several nice dinners out.  I did a lot of experimenting with makeup this month, so my favorites were a little harder to narrow down because there was so much variety.  These were the products that anchored my looks.

Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner

Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner

First, let’s start with skincare.  I ran out of my Michael Todd Cranberry Antioxidant Toner, so I went back to the Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner.  I remembered really liking it, so I wanted to give it another chance.  What I like about it is that it is really gentle, alcohol free, fragrance free, and lanolin free.  It’s a basic, gentle toner formulated for sensitive skin.  When push comes to shove, I do prefer the Michael Todd Cranberry Antioxidant Toner, but it is $18.  The Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner is less than $5.00 at Target, and does it’s job very well.

Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia  and Ralph Lauren Midnight Romance

Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia and Ralph Lauren Midnight Romance

I have been really into perfumes lately, and have been trying to remember to apply a different scent every day.  The two scents that I am just loving are Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia  and Ralph Lauren Midnight Romance.  Oh my god, you guys, they smell so good!  I like rollerballs because I can have many fragrances without having to invest in an entire bottle.  Acqua di Gioia is probably my absolute favorite scent right now.  It is a fresh, clean, aquatic scent, with light citrus and floral notes.  It transports me to the Mediterranean, and I can’t get enough of it.  Also, I smelled the men’s version recently and it is just as divine.  I may have to pick it up for the Hubs.  Midnight Romance is a little heavier.  It is really a beautiful fragrance that is feminine, sexy, and sophisticated.  Feminine florals combine with a little bergamot and black vanilla and a slight touch of berry that keeps it from going too dark and heavy (without turning fruity).  I fully recommend both of these fragrances.  They are not similar, but they are equally fabulous.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Poetic

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Poetic

So, we need to talk about Coastal Scents Forever Blushes for a moment.  They are so good!  I have a full review coming for the seven shades that I purchased during the last half off sale, but I had to mention Poetic in my favorites post because I have been really loving it.  Poetic is a warm, nude peach with a satin finish.  It is gorgeous, and so great for this time of year.  I tend to stick to blushes with a brown-ish undertone in the summer, and Poetic is lovely.  The Forever Blush formula applies smoothly and they blushes are crazy pigmented.  I will definitely be reviewing them soon.

 

NYX Butter Gloss in Peach Cobbler

NYX Butter Gloss in Peach Cobbler

For lips, just like last month, I am still loving bright orange and coral.  I am also still loving the NYX Butter Gloss, this time in Peach Cobbler.  I have been really impressed with the Butter Gloss formula, and find them very comfortable to wear.  Peach Cobbler is a fiery red-orange shade that really pops.  It is a great summer shade.  I am not usually a gloss lover, but NYX really won me over with these Butter Glosses.

Nivea Kiss of Cherry Lip Balm

Nivea Kiss of Cherry Lip Balm

Next up is the Nivea Kiss of Cherry.  When I didn’t have bright lips on, I went very natural with this tinted lip balm.  It feels just like a regular Nivea lip balm, which are my favorites, but it has just the slightest light red tint to it.  The effect is just enough to brighten your face up a little, but it is extremely sheer.  The lightweight formula is so comfortable and works so well at keeping my lips healthy.  I do wish that the color was a little less subtle, but I am still enjoying it.

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer

Last but not least, is Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer.  Summer is the time when bronzing is at it’s peak for me.  Chocolate Soleil is a medium matte brown that looks great as a contour shade.  It isn’t too warm like some bronzers can be, and it doesn’t give you that odd orange cast.   And yes, it does smell very convincingly like chocolate.  Yum!  This is a deluxe sample size, but I can definitely see myself purchasing the full size when I am out.  If you have very fair skin, Milk Chocolate Soleil would be a better shade for you than the original.  Otherwise, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer is a very good choice.

July 2014 Favorites swatches

July 2014 Favorites swatches

Here is a swatch of the color cosmetics items mentioned in this post.  Everything looks pretty spot on, except that the Nivea Kiss of Cherry Lip Balm is pulling very cool toned next to that fiery NYX Lip Butter.  (Natural lighting, what can you do, you know?)  It looks almost berry in this shot, but in real life it is more red.  It is definitely that sheer, though.  I hoped that you liked my favorites for July and saw something that sparked your interest.  What were your favorites this past month?  I am a little sad that July is over.  I had such a good Birthday month.  I am excited that we are progressing through summer rather quickly, though.  It is my least favorite time of year, but I love fall and winter.  August can not go by fast enough for me.  On the horizon are more giveaways as we celebrate three years of doing this blog.  My three-year Blogiversary is August 12, so keep an eye out for good stuff coming your way.

Leave a Reply

