Coastal Scents Forever Blush Review and Swatches

Standard
Coastal Scents Forever Blushes

Coastal Scents Forever Blushes

Finally, I have my review for the Coastal Scents Forever Blushes.  As I mentioned in my July favorites post, I purchased seven shades during the last half off sale that Coastal Scents offered.  I had heard fantastic things about how pigmented the Forever Blushes are, and how smoothly they apply.  I had to give them a try.  There are 18 different Forever Blushes available, and they come in a pretty wide range of shades in three different finishes.  I ordered a little bit of everything, and will show you swatches, but first let’s talk formula.

Coastal Scents Forever Blushes

Coastal Scents Forever Blushes

Coastal Scents Forever Blushes live up to the hype. The formula is so smooth.  The blushes are soft, so they can kick up some powder with a standard blush brush. Simply tapping your brush off will alleviate any fall-out issues.  Or, you can do what I do and use a dual fiber stippling brush, which has never given me fall-out problems.  The Forever Blushes blend into the skin with ease, and they last all day on me. They aren’t going anywhere without the use of makeup remover. Of the there finishes, the matte and satin shades are fantastic.  The shimmer shade that I have (Glamorous*) is my least favorite shade.  It isn’t as pigmented as the other shades, and the glitter particles are a little chunky for my taste now that I’m getting older.  It’s not bad, but it isn’t as good as the other six shades.

The Forever Blushes are extremely pigmented.  A little goes a long way with these.  If you have fair-light skin, I recommend using a dual fiber stippling brush to apply.  That way you can still enjoy several out of the range of shades, without going overboard.  If you are new to blush, they may be too much for you because you barely have to touch the brush to the pan to get great pigmentation.  For seasoned blush users, you know how to manipulate different shades, and you will have no problem getting high-impact color.  A very light hand is all that’s necessary, and these blushes are going to last, well, forever.  They are great quality in my opinion.  Though they only retail for $7.95, they can easily stand up to higher end blushes that go for two or three times that much.

Now, let’s get into the shades that I purchased.  The swatch pictures are a little dark because I’ve been dealing with weather here in NC and shoot with natural light.  They are, for the most part, pretty accurate though, so you can get a good idea of what the shades look like in real life.  Just mentally brighten them a little, haha.  The blended swatches were applied with a traditional blush brush, so they can apply more sheer if need be.  They can also be built up for more impact on darker skin.  I’ll start with the satin finish shades.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Poetic

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Poetic

You saw Poetic in my July Favorites post.  It is a warm toned, nude peach shade with a satin finish.  This shade can definitely be worn by those on the pale side, but can also be built up for those with medium or tan skin tones.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Lovely

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Lovely

I think there was a mistake made with the next two blushes.  Lovely is listed as a Shimmer shade on the Coastal Scents website, but I think that it is more of a satin.  Lovely is a vivid coral with a beautiful sheen.  It does not have any glitter or sparkle in it, unlike the next shade.  If you are very fair, Lovely is probably too much for you, but light skin girls can get away with it if they like bold blush and use a light hand.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Glamorous

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Glamorous

*Glamorous is listed as a satin shade on the Coastal Scents website, but you can clearly see that it contains visible sparkles.  The glitter particles are not only apparent in the pan, but also transfer onto the skin.  That’s not satin, in my opinion, it’s definitely shimmer.  Glamorous is a cool-toned, sparkly plum shade.  As I mentioned above, it isn’t as pigmented as the other shades.  Even though it is dark, I still think light skinned girls can get away with it.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Romantic

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Romantic

Romantic, my first matte shade, is a brown-toned mauve.  It comes off a little darker here than in real life (sorry about that).  It is a beautiful shade that can be sheered out or built up in a way that can be suitable for a variety of skin tones.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Beautiful

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Beautiful

Beautiful, true to it’s name, is a gorgeous shade.  It is a cool, pink-toned mauve with a matte finish.  It is similar to Romantic, but leans a little more toward the dusty rose side than the browner side that Romantic does.  This is another one that can be sheered out or built up to fit a variety of skin tones.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Royal

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Royal

Royal is a brown-toned red shade.  It is also matte.  I think Royal is very unique, but can be difficult to pull off.  This shade is for those with warm-toned skin.  This will be too dark for pale skin, but those with darker skin tones may love it.  If you have light skin and want to go for it, a dual fiber stippling brush is a must, but even that may not be enough.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Passionate

Coastal Scents Forever Blush in Passionate

The last shade that I have is Passionate.  It is a deep wine colored matte shade.  Passionate is gorgeous and will look amazing on women of color.  Again, lighter skinned women will need a very light hand to attempt to pull this off, but it is probably too dark for many.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush Ingerdients

Coastal Scents Forever Blush Ingredients

Here is a picture of the ingredients listed on the back of the package.  I really like the Coastal Scents Forever Blush formula, especially the mattes and satins.  It is clearly posted on the Coastal Scents website which finish (matte, satin, or shimmer) that the blushes come in, so be sure to read the details before you order.  But, as you saw, I feel that a couple of them might be mislabeled.  I always recommend looking up swatches on the internet before purchasing cosmetics online so that you know what you are getting.  I am happy with my purchase, especially since the 50% off sale gave me leeway to be adventurous with my choices.  The only shade that I sort of regret purchasing is Glamorous.  I love the other six shades, though, and recommend them all.  Poetic, Romantic, and Lovely look wonderful this time of year.  And I can’t wait for fall and winter to wear Beautiful, Royal, and Passionate.  I think Coastal Scents nailed it, and definitely recommend the Forever Blushes.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Have 50% off Coastal Scents | Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Coastal Scents Forever Blushes 50% off Now Through Friday | Beauty in Budget Blog

  3. Pingback: Coastal Scents 40% off, Now through Dec 31st | Beauty in Budget Blog

  4. Pingback: Monthly Favorites: November and December 2014 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  5. Pingback: 14 Best of 2014 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  6. Pingback: Monthly Favorites for September 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

