Urban Decay Naked Basics 2

Standard
Urban Decay Naked Basics 2

Urban Decay Naked Basics 2

The newest Urban Decay palette is now available at urbandecay.com.  The Naked Basics 2 will no doubt make as big of a splash as the original did.  Five matte neutrals and one satin finish highlight shade combine for a very versatile complement to the Naked 2 Palette.  Though, of course, you don’t need to own the Naked 2 to enjoy the Naked Basics 2.  I was never a big fan of the original Naked Basics, and didn’t feel compelled to purchase it.  The Naked Basics 2, on the other hand, looks much more interesting.  What can I say, I never met a taupe I didn’t like.  🙂  All of these images are promo shots from the website.

Urban Decay Naked Basics 2

Urban Decay Naked Basics 2

Here is what Urban Decay has to say: “Cooler in tone than the original, Naked2 Basics complements Naked2 perfectly. We loaded this indispensable palette with six TAUPE-hued matte neutrals, including five never-before-seen shades. These shadows are neutral enough for anyone, from cool skin tones to olive complexions to darker skin. So versatile you’ll wonder how you ever lived without it, Naked2 Basics is the kind of palette you’ll reach for again and again. Every shade in Naked2 Basics features our Pigment Infusion System™, the proprietary blend of ingredients that gives each shade its velvety texture, rich color, serious staying power and blendability. While many brands’ matte shadows tend to be chalky or powdery, EVERY shade in Naked2 Basics has a rich, buttery feel for the perfect application. It even includes one shade with a slight satin finish, Skimp, that’s ideal for highlighting and adding dimension. Like the original, Naked2 Basics comes in a sleek, soft-touch case that has a suede-like feel and a slight sheen. It’s small and compact so it travels well, yet we still packed it with six FULL-size shadows.

Original Naked Basics and  Naked Basics 2

Original Naked Basics and Naked Basics 2

This is a helpful comparison shot of the shades in both the Naked Basics 2 and the original Naked Basics.  The Naked Basics 2 comes with a double ended eye liner pencil, and the original comes with a double ended brush.  Though I like Urband Decay’s brushes well enough, I would much rather have the liner.  The shades in the Naked Basics 2 are: Skimp (pale nude satin), Stark (nude-pink matte), Frisk (warm gray matte), Cover (muted red-brown matte), Primal (muted brown matte) and Undone (deep, smoky brown matte).

This newest edition to the UD Naked line makes me think that a Naked Basics 3 to compliment the Naked 3 Palette will be coming our way in the future.  In the meantime, the Naked Basics 2 looks great in my opinion.  What do you think?  Does the Naked Basics 2 speak to you?  Do you like Urban Decay’s matte shadow formula?  Let me know in the comments below.  The Naked Basics 2 palette is $29 right now on urbandecay.com.  Look for it to pop up at Sephora and Ulta soon.

Just a reminder, you have one more week to enter my big 3-year Blogiversary Giveaway.  The winner will be announced on 8/27, so make sure you enter before then.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. I’m super excited about the Naked2 Basics. I actually JUST bought Naked Basics, and now I need this new one! I love the cool-toned shades. But are you sure about the brush/liner pencil coming with the palette? I didn’t get the brush with my Naked Basics palette, and I thought the pencil was a separate product.

  2. I love UD pallettes so much but I look horrible in cool tones!! I’m gonna have to see it in person to really tell if it would work. I love the colors!!

Leave a Reply

