Ipsy August 2014

Standard
Ipsy August 2014

Ipsy August 2014

I finally received my August Ipsy bag in the mail.  I swear Ipsy is coming later and later in the month, but it’s here and I can now show you what I got.  For those who don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month, you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for August is Beauty Schooled: “Learn the rules, so that you can break them. This month, you’ll discover that you’ll never stop learning – especially, when it comes to the world of beauty. With everything from styling skills, application techniques, to channeling your inner confidence and uniqueness… With the help of ipsy and your August Glam Bag, you’re about to get ‘schooled’.”  I am just going to say it, I am not thrilled with Ipsy this month.  You may not be able to tell from the photo, but the samples are much smaller than I am used to from Ipsy.  And, there was no full sized product this month, which has never happened before in the almost two years that I’ve been a subscriber.  The products aren’t bad, but the samples are usually so much bigger.  I’m not sure what happened.  But, before I get too far onto it, let’s look at the products that came in my August Ipsy bag.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush Sample Duo

Coastal Scents Forever Blush Sample Duo

Coastal Scents Forever Blush Sample Duo: “Coastal Scents Forever Blush boasts 18 perfectly pigmented, powder blushes with a long-lasting rush of color. Complete with a mirror, these color-packed compacts go a long way. Ipsters who sample Coastal Scents blush duo will receive the shades Fresh (Left) and Elegant (Right).   Regular size is 10g for $7.95 at coastalscents.com. Sample size is 2.5g, worth $1.99.

Absolute Lip Balm in Grape

Absolute Lip Balm in Grape

Absolute Lip Balm in Grape: “Treat your lips with this ultra-moisturizing lip balm from Absolute New York. This lightly tinted, creamy, conditioning formula softens, smooths, and protects lips for a seriously kissable pout. Discover this must-have balm for sensationally soft and luscious lips!”  Looks like this is only available in a duo, priced at $5.99 on nicka.com. Sample is one balm, worth $2.99.

Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil

Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil

Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil: “Sensual and exotic, that’s the effect that Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil delivers. Just like the traditional Kohl, but with the modern ease and control of a pencil. Giving a semi-matte finish that is also smudgeable, Silk Kajal Kohl’s soft tip is ophthalmologically-tested and gentle enough to be used on the inner eye. Also available in Nude and White.” Regular size is .048 oz for $16 at lordandberry.com. Sample size is 0.02 oz, worth $6.67.

Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner

Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner

Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner: “A cult favorite, Pores No More Pore Refiner Primer is Dr. Brandt’s quick fix for flawless, photo-ready skin. It is the miracle base to create the perfect skin canvas for long-lasting makeup and well-preserved skin. This velvety formula absorbs excess oil, minimizes pores, blurs fine lines and is resistant to sweat and humidity. Prime, touch-up and treat while perfecting your makeup.” Regular size is 1 fl oz for $45 at drbrandtskincare.com. Sample size is 0.25 oz, worth $11.25.

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara: “Bigger. Blacker. Badder. Urban Decay’s ultra-creamy, lengthening and volumizing mascara features triple-black pigments and a deeply nourishing ingredient blend. Perversion Mascara gets you sexy in one stroke, yet it won’t quit until you say when.” Regular size is 0.4 fl oz for $22 at urbandecay.com. Sample size is 0.1 fl oz, worth $5.50.

I also got a bonus in my August bag.  I redeemed some of my Ipsy points for these adorable arrow stud earrings.

Gorjana Gold Arrow Studs

Gorjana Gold Arrow Studs

Gorjana Gold Arrow Studs: “The gorjana collection combines current trends with timeless classics. Simple everyday pieces are the heart of the collection, which includes jewelry, handbags, scarves and other accessories. 18K gold plated over brass.”  The studs are $35 at gorjana-griffin.com.

Gorjana Gold Arrow Studs

Gorjana Gold Arrow Studs

Here is a closer look at the studs.  They really are very cute.  I have to be wary about what earrings I wear because I am allergic to certain metals, but the 18k gold plating should make these safe for me.  I haven’t worn them long enough to tell for sure, but so far so good.

The grand total value of my August Ipsy bag is $28.40 without the earrings, and $63.40 if you include them.  Oh, and that cute orange and white polk-a-dot bag is vinyl, not fabric.  I would have loved it if it were canvas, or something like that.  Unfortunately, the plastic material creases and looks pretty cheap.  I’m torn.  Like I said before, the products in this bag aren’t bad.  If you read my review from last Friday, you know that I love the Coastal Scents Forever Blushes, and these are two shades that I don’t already have.  But the sample is so tiny!  Seriously, it’s the size of a match book.  How am I supposed to get a brush in there?  The eyeliner is also miniscule.  It’s shorter than an average size tube of lip balm.  Speaking of lip balm, I am not a fan of the grape balm that I received.  Perhaps the Candy Apple flavor is better (some people got that one) but I hate the grape scent and flavor.  I don’t like grape candy or grape soda, so grape lip balm is not for me.  The formula is nice, but it contains glitter, so it’s a fail for me.  I’ll probably pass it along to my niece.  On the flip side, I am actually really excited to try Urban Decay’s new Perversion mascara.  I also think that the Dr. Brandt primer looks great.  So, I don’t know.  The bag isn’t wholly terrible, but It certainly isn’t one of my favorites.  I definitely would be happier if at least one product had been full sized, or if the samples were, at least, not quite so small.

Ipsy

Ipsy

What did you think of your Ipsy bag this month?  Did you get the same things?  Let me know in the comments below.  If you are thinking about subscribing to Ipsy, rest assured that this month’s bag isn’t the normal fare.  Check out my previous month’s bags to get a good idea of what Ipsy has to offer.  If you would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link.  I have been subscribed to Ipsy since October 2012 and have really enjoyed my subscription in general.  It’s not realistic to expect to like every product in every bag, but the majority have been good experiences.  I have found some real winners thanks to Ipsy that I wouldn’t have discovered otherwise.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear your bag was such a disappointment! I actually really liked mine, and I got a lot of the same things you did, LOL. I’m excited about the Coastal Scents blushes (especially after your rave review!), and I’m thrilled to get another sample of the UD mascara (I got a free one in the mail a few months ago and really loved it!). I also really love the Dr. Brandt primer and am happy to have more of it. The lip balm I got was indeed the Candy Apple scent, and I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m not totally offended by the scent or anything. It will probably be useable for me.

    I do have to admit that the eyeliner pencil is horrible, and mine went straight in the trash after I swatched it on the back of my hand. And the bag is cheap, but my company’s “official color” is orange, so I’m going to bring it to work and keep it at my desk!

  2. I got the same exact bag!! I feel like ipsy is going a little down hill. Not sure if they are trying to be greedy or what but you are totally right! The Sample Sizes We’re A joke!

    So many people cancelled recently but I’m going to stick it out for a bit longer!

Leave a Reply

