L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

Standard

 

L'Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

Today I have the L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara for review.  L’Oreal claims that the cone-shaped 360⁰ flexor brush on their Miss Manga mascara builds up to 15 times the volume in a flash. Top lashes are amplified, bottom lashes maximized for the ultimate wide-eyed manga look.  For those who are unsure what Manga is, the term refers to Japanese animation.  The female characters are drawn with long, thick, spiky lashes.  In theory, that’s the type of look that Miss Manga promises.  I have the mascara in the shade Black Brown.  I have so many mascaras, that I like to throw a brown one in every now and again.  Rest assured, though, that the have Black and Blackest Black for those who don’t want to compromise on getting the darkest lashes possible.

L'Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

Here is what L’Oreal says about the new Miss Manga Mascara: “L’Oréal Paris introduces new Voluminous Miss Manga mascara featuring the 360 flexor brush to build bold volume with high intensity from top to bottom. For the first time, L’Oréal Paris creates a flexible brush with a unique conical shape to catch those hard to reach lashes with an incredibly even application. The Mega Impact Formula instantly builds oversized volume for 15X lash volume in a flash. Top lashes are amplified and bottom lashes maximized for the ultimate wide-eyed Manga Look.” I have to say that I love the pink and black tube.  While I am surprised that L’Oreal (who is usually so classy) introduced this loud, juvenile, and gimmicky packaging that seems so out of character, I definitely see the appeal.  I think that this mascara will be a big hit for the younger crowd.

360 Flexor Brush

360 Flexor Brush

L’Oreal is very proud of their new 360 Flexor brush, and it is one of the main selling points for Miss Manga.  I am actually not a fan of this brush, but that is because of my particular lashes.  The Miss Manga formula is pretty wet, so the combination of a super flexy brush and a wet clumpy formula makes a mess.  This is especially true for short lashes, which is my problem.  The cone shaped brush tapers nicely to get hard to reach lashes, but the bristles are very short at the tip, and the product gathers there which leads to more clumping.  I was not as happy with Miss Manga as I hoped that I would be.

Normal lashes with no mascara

Normal lashes with no mascara

Here is a picture of my naked eye with no touch ups or adjustments.  I have no liner or shadow on so that you can see the lashes as clearly as possible.  I have already curled them but that’s it.  As you can see, I have short, wimpy lashes, and I need a mascara that lengthens, volumizes, and possibly performs miracles.  This picture is so that you can compare to the following shots with one and then two coats of Miss Manga, to see what it can really do.  Oh, and I did not apply Miss Manga to my bottom lashes because I rarely use mascara on the bottom.  I usually find that liner is the best bet for my bottom lash line, since the lashes are sparse and pretty small.

L'Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara

As I said before L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara has a wet formula.  I don’t see a big difference between one coat and two coats.  I did not find the length or volume built up that much with subsequent coats.  What did increase was the spiky-clumpy look.  It is easy to get spider lashes with Miss Manga.  Even with careful application, I feel like the wet formula leads to messy transfer onto my lid.  I do like the length that Miss Manga gives me, but I personally prefer a little more volume.  My lashes did not hold a curl, and you can see them getting straighter, the more coats I apply.  Miss Manga also flakes on me after a few hours of wear.  I have not used L’Oeal mascaras in the past, so I am not sure if this is unique to all L’Oreal mascara, or just Miss Manga, but I found the mascara to be a bit irritating.  I don’t like wearing it for long periods because it makes my eyes itch.  That could be a personal issue, though, because I haven’t heard others complaining about irritation.

Ultimately, for me, L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara is a fail.  Mascara is tough to review because everyone has such different lashes and lash needs.  Some people love a dramatic spiky look and don’t mind a few clumps.  Others can’t stand clumps and prefer natural looking lashes.  I fall somewhere in between.  But with the messy application, limited buildability, and clumps (not to mention the irritation), Miss Manga just doesn’t do it for me.  If you are looking for a drugstore mascara that does a fantastic job of lengthening and volumizing, try Maybelline The Rocket Mascara.  But I would Skip L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara if I were you.

Last chance to enter my 3-year blogiversary giveaway.  The winners will be announced tomorrow.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for this. I was looking at this mascara, such a junkie! I really don’t like wet formulas. Good to know! The new discontinued Maybelline One by One is my top 5, it has a pretty dry non-clumping formula.

Leave a Reply

