Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette Review and Swatches

Standard
Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

I have the new limited edition Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette to swatch and review for you today.  This palette really called to me from the first moment I started seeing it in previews, but I debated with myself about getting it.  It is gorgeous, but I knew that I was getting the Lorac 2 for my birthday, so I figured that I should pass.  But, ultimately the beauty of the palette as well as the overall value (and the F&F sale) won me over.  Tarte is one of my favorite brands, and I just couldn’t resist.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Before I jump into the palette itself, let’s talk about the packaging.  I am reminded of Cleopatra with the bright gold embossed snake on the rich (faux) wood panel.  That is an actual purple jewel on the snakes head that sticks out.  It is truly captivating, and definitely a palette that you want to display, not just throw in a drawer.  Tarte has been moving to these round compacts lately.  Previous Tarte Coral Crush and Aqualillies palettes were both this round compact style.  They contain a full-size Amazonian Clay blush in the center, with two face products and six eyeshadows surrounding it.  There is also a full size, good quality mirror in the palette.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Here is what Tarte has to say about the palette: “A limited-edition, colored clay eye and cheek palette for day to night looks. Inspired by the rain forest’s deep orchid hues at dusk, Tarte’s limited-edition eye and cheek palette has everything you need to create sultry and sophisticated day to night looks. Infused with colored clay, which naturally color-corrects as it supports oil control, this makeup provides longer wear and truer color payoff. This modern ingredient from the mountainous regions of Brazil brightens, evens, and soothes skin, while the velvety formula glides on and delivers rich color—without settling into fine lines and wrinkles.”

Before I start talking about the individual shades, I want touch on the overall value of the palette.  Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette retails for $38, full price.  For $38, you get 0.14 ounces of highlighter, 0.14 ounces of bronzer, 0.21 ounces of blush, and a total of 0.21 ounces of eye shadow.  To put this price in perspective, a stand-alone Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush contains 0.2 ounces and costs $26.  Though the price may seem high initially, you are definitely getting a deal with the Rainforest After Dark Palette.  And if you can snag it on sale like I did, then it’s even better.  Check out the bottom of this post for more on that.  😉

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Tarte is a well loved brand for a reason, their formulations are really great.  I have more Amazonian Clay blushes than I am willing yo admit, and can attest to the long-lasting, and highly pigmented formula.  I also have a couple Tarte Holiday palettes and have never been disappointed by the shadow formulas.  The Rainforest After Dark Palette lives up to my expectations of Tarte’s quality products.  All of the products in this palette have excellent staying power, with no issues of fading, flaking, or creasing.  Unleashed is a little stiffer in the pan than typical Amazonian Clay blushes, but it is possible that it will get silkier once I break through the top layer.  Don’t get me wrong, it is still a good blush, but not quite as soft as I am used to with Tarte.  Both the highlight and bronzer are silky smooth and very pigmented.  As far as the shadows go, there is one shade that is a little different than the others.  Bare to Explore, like the Unleashed blush, is a little stiff in the pan.  I still get plenty of color pay-off, but it isn’t quite as silky smooth as the other five shades.  The remaining shadows are fantastic, and I am especially impressed with Up to no Gold and Plum Away with Me.  They are so intense!

The only real complaint I have about this palette is that the face products are all light shades.  While that’s great for those with fair or light skin, darker complexions will struggle.  The bronzer is way too light for anyone with anything darker than medium skin, and the blush will completely disappear on dark skin as well.  Darker complected ladies can still get use out of the Champagne highlight and, of course, the shadows, but if the blush and bronzer are a big selling point for you, you may want to pass.  Now, let’s take a look at the swatches.  I’ll start with the face products.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette Cheek products

Champagne, Park Ave Princess, and Unleashed

  • Champagne:  A white-gold highlight that gives off a soft, subtle shimmer that can be built up for those who prefer a more dramatic shine.
  • Park Ave Princess: The bronzer is a warm-toned medium tan shade that can be applied lightly for an all-over warmth, or built up for contouring. It has a satin finish.  This shade is probably too light for contouring if you have skin darker than NC/NW 25.
  • Unleashed: A warm rose matte shade.  Again, the blush may be too light for those with medium-tan complexions or darker.
Bare to Explore, Make a Mauve, and Plum Away With Me

Bare to Explore, Make a Mauve, and Plum Away With Me

  • Bare to Explore: A pink-toned cool beige with a matte finish.
  • Make a Mauve: A taupey mauve with plum and brown undertones.  This has a a subtle shimmer finish.
  • Plum Away with Me: A warm-toned dark plum shade with a shimmer finish.  Very intense pigmentation.
Up to No Gold, Tan-gled Up in You, Don’t Turn A-Brown

Up to No Gold, Tan-gled Up in You, and Don’t Turn A-Brown

  • Up to no Gold: A warm, molten gold shade.  This has a very intense metallic finish, and amazing pigmentation.
  • Tan-gled Up in You: A medium, matte camel-brown shade.  It has cooler tones that the Park Ave Princess bronzer.
  • Don’t Turn A-Brown: This is a dark-cocoa matte brown.  This makes an excellent shadow liner.

I am very happy that I didn’t talk myself out of purchasing the Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette.  I can see myself getting a ton of use out of it this fall and winter.  Plums and purples have been showing up everywhere in new collections and neutrals are always in season, so this palette is right on trend.  The Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette is available at Uta, Sephora, and on Tarte’s website.  Keep in mind that it is a Limited Edition palette, so you can’t wait too long if you plan on purchasing.  I highly recommend it.

Tarte is currently offering a Labor Day sale on tarte.com.  You can receive $10 off of $50, $20 off of $75, and $30 off of $100 with code LDAY.  All orders over $40 get free shipping within the US.  The Labor Day sale starts today, and goes through Monday, 9/1.  Don’t forget that you can use Ebates when you shop Tarte’s website and get cash back on your purchase.  If you haven’t signed up for Ebates, check out this post that explains all about it, and I’d love it if you would use my referral link (on the sidebar towards the top of the page under “Check This Out”) if you choose to sign up.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I want this palette sooooo bad. It looks so multi-purpose and pretty. I’ve just been sitting on the fence about the cost, but I may splurge, it looks worth it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

