Monthly Favorites for August 2014

Standard
August favorites

August favorites

August is now over, so it’s Monthly Favorites time.  For those of you who are new to the blog, Monthly Favorites feature those products that particularly stood out to me and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  Let me just get it out there right now: I am so thrilled that summer is almost over.  I know that some of you love summer, and I am sorry, but I can’t wait for Fall to settle in.  School is back in session, we are starting to see the new Fall collections, and summer is on the way out.  Happy day.  You will definitely be able to see my longing for Fall in my makeup favorites this month, especially when it comes to lip products.  After a couple months of bright corals, greens, and bronzes, darker shades are starting to creep in.  But enough of my yapping, let’s get started.

Lorac Pro Palette 2

Lorac Pro Palette 2

My number one favorite thing the entire month (from the middle of July, really) is the Lorac Pro Palette 2.  I love it!  I think it is even better than the first one.  I know that some of you are waiting for a review, and I will be getting to it soon.  Just know that it is really great, and completely worth it.  I am getting a ton of use out of it, and will continue to do so as we move into Fall.  I promise to get my review up soon so that you can see swatches and get more details, but seriously, this palette is so good.

Wet n Wild Blue Wants to be a Millionaire

Wet n Wild Blue Wants to be a Millionaire

I had forgotten how awesome Wet n Wild Blue Wants to be a Millionaire is.  As you can see, this bottle has been well-loved, but I hadn’t pulled it out in a really long time until this month.  It is very hard to capture on camera, but there are multicolored iridescent micro-glitters in the polish that make it sparkle like a treasure trove.  Wet n Wild’s Fast-Dry formula does indeed dry very quickly.  Blue Wants to be a Millionaire is on the sheer side, so two coats will still give you a visible nail line, but I kind of like that with this polish.  Three coats make it totally opaque.  For swatches, see this post.

theBalm Hot Mama Blush

theBalm Hot Mama Blush

I have been keeping it light and girly on my cheeks with theBalm Hot Mama Blush.  (It is still summer, after all.)  Hot Mama is a light peach shade with gold shimmer.  It is gorgeous, and flattering on so many different skin tones.  It’s in that NARS Orgasm family, but less pink and more peach.  The gold is definitely shimmer, not glitter, and leaves a healthy sheen, as opposed to a sparkle.  It is a beautiful blush.

Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment

Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment

If you saw my birthday haul, you know that I got the Fresh Sugar Lip Service set including the Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment.  I really like the Fresh Sugar line.  I find them so moisturizing and healing, and I love that subtle lemon scent.  The Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment is the clear one, so it is perfect as an overnight lip treatment.  My lips feel soft and supple from using this treatment.  It is more expensive than I like to spend on lip treatments, but it is wonderful.

NYX Lip Liner Pencils

NYX Lip Liner Pencils

For some reason I have been very interested in my lip liners lately, even though I’m not wearing a lot of lipstick.  I’ve been using the NYX Lip Liner Slim Pencils under glosses and balms to bump up the color.  The two that I have been reaching for the most are Ever and Auburn.  Ever is a mauve-toned, dark nude.  Auburn is a berry shade.  These are simple pencil liners, but they have a smooth formula that doesn’t tug and great pigmentation.

L’Oreal Glossy Balm Crayons

L’Oreal Glossy Balm Crayons

My final favorite that I can’t seem to get enough of is the L’Oreal Glossy Balms.  I reviewed them here, in this post.  I truly love the L’Oreal Glossy Balm formula, so much so that they stand out over the 50 million other balm crayons out there.  I have been wearing all three, but Vintage Rose has been a particularly good choice to go over those liners that I mentioned.  They are not super glossy, but they are extremely moisturizing.  I don’t think that they are limited edition, so be sure to pick up a couple when you see them.

Those are my favorites for the month of August.  My lips are going darker and I’m using cooler tones on my eyes.  I have also opted for boots instead of sandals on more than one occasion.  You know where my heart lies.  I know that there are still a good, solid three weeks left to Summer, and I hope that you make the most of them if you are a Summer lover.  What were some of your August favorites?  Are you still in full sun goddess mode, or are you transitioning to Fall like I am?  Let me know in the comments below.  I have big things happening in my life, and big plans for the Fall and Winter seasons.  How about you?  Are you looking forward to Fall?

One response »

Leave a Reply

