LORAC Pro Palette 2- Review, Swatches, and Comparisons

Standard
LORAC Pro Palette 2

LORAC Pro Palette 2

As requested, I finally have my review for the new LORAC Pro Palette 2.  As you know if you have been following my blog in the last year, I loved the Original LORAC Pro Palette.  It is so versatile and easy to work with, and it has everything you need for a ton of neutral looks.  But despite how great that palette is, LORAC was able to improve upon it with the Pro 2.  And I do think it is an improvement.  I feel that the Pro 2 is a better palette than the Original, and while I still love the first one, I recommend Pro 2 over the Original if you have to choose just one.  Read on to see why.

LORAC Pro Palette 2

LORAC Pro Palette 2

The packaging of the Pro 2 is very similar to the Original.  Both come with a mini Behind the Scenes Eye Primer.  The palette itself is thin and sleek, with a magnetic closure.  It has a similar rubberized feel to NARS packaging.  Unfortunately that means it is a magnet for powder and fingerprints, and is difficult to keep clean.  The Pro 2 is a gray or charcoal color, whereas the Original is black.  The Pro 2 palette still has the same full-sized mirror that the Original has.  It is a sturdy palette to travel with, and is a great option on vacation.  I took my Original Pro Palette to Walt Disney World with me last year and it served me well.

LORAC Pro Palette 2

LORAC Pro Palette 2

Just like the Original Pro Palette, LORAC Pro 2 has 16 shadows.  The shades are a good range of light to dark, and half of them are matte.  The entire top row of shadows are matte shades and the bottom row are satins and shimmers.  The quality of the shadows in the Pro 2 is just as good as the Original (if not better), meaning that the shadows have a silky smooth, buttery formulation.  All the shades have great pigmentation and blend very well with each other without getting muddy.  They are soft shadows, so that can kick up some powder, but simply tapping off your brush will do the trick to avoid fall-out.  I personally don’t need primer when I use LORAC shadows to get crease-free wear that lasts all day.  However, if you have oily eyelids or want to even out the color and texture of your lids, primer is always recommended.

You may have heard that the Pro 2 is the cool palette, like the Urban Decay naked 2, but that’s not entirely accurate.  There are definitely several cool toned shades, but I’d say that almost half the shades in the Pro 2 have a warm undertone.  It is a really great mix.  That versatility is one of the reasons that I think the Pro 2 is better.  I think the shadows will suit a wider variety of skin tones.  Though there were some cool-toned shades in the Original Pro palette, most of them were warm.  I also love that there are some great colors in the Pro 2.  The Plum, Navy, and Jade shadows pull your attention, and I am sure they are a big selling point for many people.  The pro 2 is a great neutral palette, but those pops of color are a welcome addition over the Original Pro palette which really only had one colorful shade.  (I don’t count Deep Purple because, although it looks purple in the pan, it applies so dark that it may as well be black.)  Check out my review to see the shades in the Original LORAC Pro Palette and compare them for yourself.

Now, let’s take a closer look at each shade.  I’ll start at the top with the matte shades.

Buff, Light Brown, Cool Gray, and Nectar

Buff, Lt. Brown, Cool Gray, and Nectar

Buff, Light Brown, Cool Gray, and Nectar

Buff, Lt. Brown, Cool Gray, and Nectar

  • Buff: A matte cream shade with buttery yellow undertones.  I love that I don’t have to go outside the palette for a matte cream browbone highlight.
  • Lt. Brown: Like the name suggests, this is a light brown matte shade with subtle warm undertones.  It is a great mid-tone transitioning color.
  • Cool Gray: This cool-toned gray has definite brown undertones which pair wonderfully with taupe shadows for a smoked out look.
  • Nectar: A warm-toned, matte peach with subtle pink and terra-cotta undertones.  This is such an essential shade, and one of the reasons that the Pro 2 is such a good palette.  Nectar is the perfect transitioning shade for both warm and cool-toned looks to keep them from going too stark.  It is so useful and versatile, and such a great addition.
Plum, Navy, Charcoal, Black

Plum, Navy, Charcoal, Black

Plum, Navy, Charcoal, Black

Plum, Navy, Charcoal, Black

 

  • Plum: A medium-dark, neutral plum shade.  I am so glad that Plum isn’t too dark.  That was sort of an issue with the Original Pro palette- there were a couple extremely dark shades that pulled almost black when applied.  Great pigmentation.
  • Navy: Can you believe that intense pigment!  Navy is a gorgeous blue that pacts a huge punch.  I love it as an eyeliner.
  • Charcoal: Charcoal is a straight up, dark gray.  Again, it is true to color, and not so dark that it looks black.  It is great for smoking out a look.
  • Black:  The black in the Pro 2 is a soft black shade, which I personally find easier to work with than stark blacks.  Black makes a great shadow liner.

 

Snow, Beige, Rosé, Mocha

Snow, Beige, Rosé, Mocha

Snow, Beige, Rosé, Mocha

Snow, Beige, Rosé, Mocha

  • Snow: An Icy white shimmer shade.  I personally don’t get a lot of use out of white shadows, but if you like a shimmery browbone highlight this is a good choice.  It is also a good option for an inner corner highlight.
  • Beige: This is a very light, warm-toned beige with a satin finish.  It really brightens the eyes.
  • Rosé: An absolutely gorgeous warm rose-gold metallic shade.  It is one of the best shades in the palette.
  • Mocha: This is a warm bronze shade with a metallic finish.  Beige, Rosé, and Mocha look amazing together.
Chrome, Silver, Jade, Cocoa

Chrome, Silver, Jade, Cocoa

Chrome, Silver, Jade, Cocoa

Chrome, Silver, Jade, Cocoa

  • Chrome: Chrome is a taupe gray satin-shimmer, with a subtle brown tint.  It is a unique shade in that it can look almost cool gray or more brown depending on what it is paired with.
  • Silver: This is straight up foiled silver shimmer.  It has great pigmentation for a true silver shadow.
  • Jade: This is a dark olive green with yellow and brown undertones.  My one complaint about the Pro 2 is that Jade is a little too dark.  If you are not careful, it can start to lose the green tones and get muddy.  It is a gorgeous shade, but it can be a little finicky to get the true to pan color.
  • Cocoa: This is a deep chocolate brown with subtle gold shimmer.

The LORAC Pro 2 is a great neutral palette with added colorful shades to mix it up.  While I think the Original Pro Palette is still a wonderful choice, I personally like the Pro 2 more.  Basically it comes down to your skin tone and you personal color preferences.  If you look best in warm-toned shades and want a palette that is almost exclusively neutrals, then stick with the Original.  But, if you want more variety with warm and cool shades and some fun colors to boot, go for the Pro 2.  It is totally worth the cost.  Speaking of which, the LORAC Pro Palette 2 is $42.  While not entirely budget friendly at first glance,  $42 divided by 16 shadows is only $2.63 per shadow.  Granted, they are not large pans, but it is still a good value in my mind.

Have you gotten your hands on the LORAC Pro Palette 2?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites: November and December 2014 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: 14 Best of 2014 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  3. Pingback: Monthly Favorites for September 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

