Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Standard
Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Today I want to show you Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice, a perfect Fall lip shade.  Maybelline released the Color Elixir line for Spring 2014.  They started popping up at the end of 2013 and were out in full force by the beginning of the year.  Here is what the company has to say about them: “A trio of concentrates delivers the color of a lipstick, the cushiony care of a balm, and the glass shine of a gloss. Our exclusive smoothing angora brush delivers a polished, even application and smoothing sensation to lips.”  You may think that these Color Elixirs look a lot like the L’Oreal Color Caresse Shine Stains, and you would be right.  They are very similar, except that the Color Elixirs do not claim to be stains, and they are more hydrating than the L’Oreal Color Caresse Shine Stains.  It is a very similar product, though.

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice goes on like a gloss.  It has a rather thick formula during application that loosens up with your body heat.  Once you get past the initial few minutes, you are left with a comfortable, just slightly sticky formula.  It’s not quite as creamy as the NYX Butter Glosses, but it is hydrating and feels good on the lips.  The applicator is very soft, and a great shape.  It’s wide enough to get most of your lip in one swipe, but the pointed tip allows for more precision along the edges of your lips and your cupid’s bow.

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Intoxicating Spice is a reddish brown cream shade.  It looks more brown in the tube than comes off on the lips.  The pigmentation is sheer, which I think is true across the line, though I can’t be positive because Intoxicating Spice is the only Color Elixir I own.  It can be layered, but won’t ever be completely opaque.  It lasts on my lips for a few hours before needing to be re-applied.  The glossy shine does not stick around for very long, though.  If you are looking for a high-gloss finish, this isn’t for you.  I do not think that it emphasizes lines, but because it is a gloss, it can tend to migrate.  If you have a lot of fine lines around your lips, you may want to use a liner to keep things in place.  I am not wearing a liner in the swatch below.

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice

Overall, I really like Maybelline Color Elixir in Intoxicating Spice.  It is perfect for this time of year as we move into Fall.  It’s not too dark, but has those warm Fall tones.  I think the Color Elixir line is worth checking out if you like hybrid glosses.  I think that I may pick up another shade or two.  Though I don’t wear glosses nearly as much these days, I think the Color Elixirs are really nice and worth a go.

Beauty Quickie

Beauty Quickie

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

