E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

Standard
E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

E.l.f. has a new line of bronzers out that I mentioned last month, and now I have one of them to show you.  This is the e.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee.  I really like the somewhat new Pressed Mineral Blushes, so I am very excited that e.l.f. has released bonzers in the Pressed Mineral line.  I had heard that Tan Toffee was a matte shade, and I was anxious to see how closely it resembles Too Faced Chocolate Soleil bronzer.  I have some comparison swatches at the end, but first let me talk about this bronzer.

E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

Here is what e.l.f. has to say about the Pressed Mineral Bronzers: “Create a healthy looking glow year-round with this sculpting bronzer. The silky smooth texture of this pressed formula is blendable for everyday wear. Infused with Vitamin E and Grape to help nourish the skin for a more revitalized feel.”  I really like this formula.  It feels silky soft and goes on smoothly and evenly.  It actually has a higher end feel, in my opinion.  The pigmentation is great, and it lasts on my skin all day.  The only issue I have with the e.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer is that it is so soft that you have to be careful what brush you use with it.  If you have a good soft brush, you should be fine.  Just remember to tap off before you apply.  If your brushes are a little coarse, or if you have a heavy hand, you can kick up a lot of product in the pan.  You should never have to “dig” into a product, and if you feel you do, then you should probably be using a better quality product.  If you use a light hand, you shouldn’t have much of an issue, but otherwise things can get a little messy.  That issue aside, the formula is fantastic.

E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee

E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee is a medium bronze shade with subtly warm undertones.  It is not actually matte.  It’s more of a matte-satin with just the slightest sheen.  It is difficult to detect the sheen on the skin, but it is there if you look very closely.  I feel that it is matte enough for me to contour my cheeks and forehead, but not my nose.  I don’t find it too warm for me, but my skin has a warmish-neutral undertone.  People with cooler toned skin, especially if it is also fair, may find Tan Toffee too warm for contouring.  I am not someone who contours on a daily basis, and like to just warm up my face with bronzer, so Tan Toffee is a great color for me.  If you have medium-tan skin or darker, Tan Toffee will be too light for you.  It should work well for anyone with light-medium skin or lighter.  Now, let’s see how it stacks up against other well-known bronzers.

L-R: NYC Sunny, E.l.f. Tan Toffee, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil

L-R: NYC Sunny, E.l.f. Tan Toffee, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil

Here I have swatched NYC Sunny, E.l.f. Tan Toffee, and Too Faced Chocolate Soleil.  I don’t want to just compare color, but also quality.  These three products were swatched exactly the same way.  As you can see, NYC Sunny, the cheapest of the three by far, looks patchy.  It doesn’t look at all like the other two.  The e.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee swatches just as smoothly as the much more expensive Too Faced Chocolate Soleil bronzer.  I have never had issue with NYC Sunny, and think that it is a good drugstore bronzer, but you do have to work with it to get the same color payoff as the other two bronzers.  As far as color goes, Tan Toffee is darker than NYC Sunny, and also not as warm.  If NYC Sunny is too warm for you, Tan Toffee may be a good option.  Chocolate Soleil is pretty darn close in color to Tan Toffee.  They have similar pigment and depth, but Tan Toffee is warmer toned than Chocolate Soleil.  The E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer retails for $5 and is .14oz.  A full size Chocolate Soleil is $30 for .35oz.  If the two products were the same size, e.l.f.’s bronzer would retail for $12.50, still a significant savings to the higher end alternative.  Are the formulas exactly the same?  No.  But they have enough similarities to make e.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee a worthy alternative.

Overall, I am very pleased with E.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzer in Tan Toffee.  I think that the formula is great, and the color works with my skintone.  I definitely recommend taking a closer look at the e.l.f. Pressed Mineral Bronzers.  I believe the lightest shade is a peach highlight, but the two darker shades are definitely bronzers.  If you have lighter skin with a warm or neutral undertone, give Tan Toffee a try.  It is only $5, full price, and it stands up against higher end products of its kind.  I you plan to order online, be sure to take advantage of one of the many sales e.l.f. has going.  You may be able to pick it up for even less.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

