Ipsy, September 2014

Standard
September 2014 Ipsy bag

September 2014 Ipsy bag

I got my big pink envelope in the mail that can only mean that it’s Ipsy time again.  For those who don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month, you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  I am pleased that this month Ipsy was on time.  I’ve been getting my bag pretty late the last couple of months, but we seem to be back on track this month.  The theme for September is Street Style: “All eyes are on NY but our eyes are on YOU. Are you ready?”  before we get into the contents of the bag, can we take a moment to talk about the bag itself?

September 2014 Ipsy bag

September 2014 Ipsy bag

I love this bag!  I don’t know what it is actually made of, but it has a soft leather-like feel and a beautiful gun-metal finish.  Those are actual silver pyramid studs across the top.  I would totally use this bag in real life.  It is something that I would have chosen for myself.  Good job Ipsy.  It’s way better than that crappy plastic thing from last month. Okay, now we can look inside.

Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet Brush

Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet Brush

Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet Brush: “This dual-ended brush offers the best of both worlds. The shadow brush is perfect for applying eye shadow or contouring the eye, while the crease brush is designed to be used dry for defining the eye, or wet for precision concealing. Created with Crown’s Infinity Synthetic Fibers.”  This is a full sized dual-ended brush and it either retails for $17.50 or $6.99 at crownbrush.us. I’m not sure if the “sale” price is their regular price, but I assume that it is based on the rest of the website, so I am guessing that $6.99 is accurate.

Nourish Organic Moisturizing Cream Face Cleanser

Nourish Organic Moisturizing Cream Face Cleanser

Nourish Organic Moisturizing Cream Face Cleanser: “This gentle cleanser washes away impurities without drying, irritating or causing redness. Cucumber hydrates and soothes. Watercress, rich in antioxidants, helps protect skin from free radical damage. Alcohol-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan. Fragrance-free formula cleanses without drying or irritating. Penetrates deep into pores to dissolve dirt, oil and makeup. Packed with vitamins and antioxidants to nourish skin.” Regular size is 6 fl oz, and retails for $13.99 at nourishorganic.com. Sample size is 1 fl oz, worth $2.33.

Hikari Lipstick in Cabernet

Hikari Lipstick in Cabernet

Hikari Lipstick in Cabernet: “Amp up the color with Hikari’s richly colored lipstick. The highly pigmented formula glides on smoothly with a matte finish. Layer this formula to build color for a perfectly enchanted pout.” I believe that this is full sized, and retails for at $13 at hikaricosmetics.com.

Pacifica Natural Water-Proof Eye Pencil in Fringe

Pacifica Natural Water-Proof Eye Pencil in Fringe

Pacifica Natural Water-Proof Eye Pencil in Fringe: “These rich water-proof, buttery smooth eye pencils glide on smooth and deliver big color pay off with every stroke. Long-lasting natural formula, provides hours of wear and contains beneficial ingredients great for the sensitive eye area. Formulated without: Animal ingredients (including carmine, beeswax and lanolin), animal testing, FD&C colors, mineral oil, parabens, phthalates, petroleum, propylene glycol, SLS, gluten, peanut oil and other ingredients you don’t want on your skin!” Full size is 2.8 g and retails for $11 at pacificabeauty.com. Sample size is .73 g, worth $2.87.

Alterna Haircare CAVIAR CC Cream 10-in-1 Complete Correction

Alterna Haircare CAVIAR CC Cream 10-in-1 Complete Correction

Alterna Haircare CAVIAR CC Cream 10-in-1 Complete Correction: “A miracle leave-in product that delivers 10 benefits in 1 easy step, leaving hair perfectly polished. Can be used alone or as a foundation for the layering of other styling products. Benefits: Moisture, Shine, Smoothness, Softness, UV protection, Manageability, Strength, Anti-Breakage, Heat protection, and Light hold.” Full size is 2.5 oz and retails for $25 at alternahaircare.com. Sample size is .85 fl oz, worth $8.50.

September 2014 Ipsy bag

September 2014 Ipsy bag

The grand total worth of my September Ipsy is $33.69, plus that awesome bag.  Overall, I am pleased with my bag this month.  I have been wanting to try out Crown Brush for a while now, so I’m happy to get the chance, though dual-ended brushes aren’t my favorite things.  Both sides feel good quality and are shaped well, and I am happy that it is a synthetic fiber brush, so I’ll give it a chance.  The lipstick is a beautiful color, so I am happy to try that one out.  I am also excited to try the Nourish Organic Cream Cleanser.  I have heard good things about the cleanser.  The Pacifica liner is okay, I guess, but I already have so many liners that I can’t say that it excites me.  The only dud for me is the hair product, which I rarely use.  Most of them end up going to my sister, though this one does look pretty good.  I may give it a try after all.  I definitely think that this bag is better than last month’s bag.

What did you think of your Ipsy bag this month?  Did you get the same things?  Let me know in the comments below.  If you would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link.  I have been subscribed to Ipsy since October 2012 and have really enjoyed my subscription in general.  It’s not realistic to expect to like every product in every bag, but the majority have been good experiences.  I have found some real winners thanks to Ipsy that I wouldn’t have discovered otherwise.

6 responses »

  1. You crack me up! (Last month’s bag is one of my favorites, because I can actually use it. I do like the design of this bag, but its size/shape makes it less convenient for me, and I liked the cute orange/white design.) I got the brush, cleanser, and eyeliner in my bag, as well, but the hair product in mine is a Briogeo deep conditioning mask, and the lip product is a Cailyn Art Touch lip gloss in a berry shade. As usual, I’m pretty happy with this month’s bag. 🙂

  2. I miss Ipsy. And this bag really, really makes me look forward to getting it again. Loved the Nourish Organics moisturizer from earlier this year.

  3. I got the exact same bag as you again this month! I’m happy with everything except the eyeliner, which I will probably try to trade with someone. I’m wearing the Hikari lipstick today for the first time, and I love it! Great color for fall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

