Monthly Favorites September 2014

Standard
Monthly Favorites September 2014

Monthly Favorites September 2014

It is Monthly Favorites time again.  September has come and gone, so I have rounded up my favorites to share.  For those of you who are new to the blog, “Monthly Favorites” feature those products that particularly stood out to me and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  I didn’t wear a ton of makeup through September because I was laid out for two weeks because of my back problems.  I still ended up gravitating to a few products pretty much every time I did wear makeup, though, so those are the items I have to show you.

Sleek Sunset palette

Sleek Sunset palette

First up, I have my Sleek Sunset palette. I did an Eye of the Day post a couple weeks ago using some of the blush colored shades in this palette.  I have been loving the shades in this palette for some warm, romantic looks to transition into Fall.  I do wish that there was a little bit more variation in the palette, because the shades can look very similar on the eye.  Overall, however, I love the colors, and really enjoy the Sunset palette, especially paired with less shimmery shades.  Which brings me to my next favorite.

Coastal Scents Go palette in Beijing

Coastal Scents Go palette in Beijing

I busted out the Coastal Scents Go palette in Beijing to pair with the Sleek Sunset palette, and to wear on it’s own.  The pinks and mauves in this palette have really been appealing to me lately.  I used to avoid a pink and purple color palette on my eyes, but over the last year or so I have been going in that direction more often and am loving it.  Coastal Scents shadows are pigmented and smooth.  I have a couple of the 88 shade palettes and they are great too.  I also love how affordable CS palettes are, and how often they offer bundles and sales.  I think that the Go plattes are a great bargain.

NYX CoQ10 Renew Skin Elixir

NYX CoQ10 Renew Skin Elixir

I have been testing the new NYX CoQ10 Renew Skin Elixir and will have a full review soon.  In the meantime, however, I am including it in my favorites because I love the formula.  NYX claims that the coenzyme Q10 boosts radiance and vibrancy.  I still need more time to test that theory, but I like the way it primes my skin and the look that it gives me.  It is lightweight and feels great, and I like the fresh scent that it has.  It’s a good option.

L’Oreal Color Caresse Shine Stain Lip Color in Everlasting Caramel

L’Oreal Color Caresse Shine Stain Lip Color in Everlasting Caramel

On my lips I have been reaching for L’Oreal Color Caresse Shine Stain Lip Color in Everlasting Caramel.  I’ve been using it as a base stain and then topping it with something more moisturizing because I find the Shine Stains a bit drying.  The staining effect works pretty well, though, and I love the color it gives me.  I like Everlasting Caramel as a base under tinted lip balms like my Maybelline Baby Lips or my next favorite.

Fresh Sugar Rose Lip Tint

Fresh Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment

I can’t get enough of the Fresh Sugar Tinted Lip Treatments  I’ve been reaching for Rose more often lately, but I like the whole line.  They are so incredibly hydrating!  They feel so good on the lips.  Rose has a very sheer rose hue, that gives my lips just a touch of life.  It works great over another color to add some moisture.  This is the mini version because the full size it a bit pricey for my taste.  I prefer to get my Fresh Sugar Tinted Lip Treatments in value packs.

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve

Finally, my last favorite for September is the Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve.  If you were reading me earlier this Spring, then you may remember that I really loved the Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve.  It is such a beautiful shade, and it wears really well.  Mauve has definitely become one of my favorite blushes in my collection.  Mauve is sort of a plum toned rose-gold shade.  It gives me a lovely sheen and looks great.  And a little goes a really long way, so I’ll have this blush for a long time.  Love it.

L-R Everlasting Caramel, Rose, Mauve

L-R Everlasting Caramel, Rose, Mauve

Though I didn’t swatch the eyeshadow palettes because that would have been too much, here are swatches of the other color cosmetics.  From left to right: L’Oreal Color Caresse Shine Stain Lip Color in Everlasting Caramel, Fresh Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment, and Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve.  September was a tough month for me because of my back issues.  I’m all better now, thank you.  I am so extremely happy that Fall has arrived, though.  It’s still warmer than I’d like, but I know sweater weather is just around the corner.  The leaves are changing and starting to fall from the trees.  Halloween is fast approaching.  I have some ideas for Halloween tutorials, but let me know if you have any specific requests.  Do you know what you are going to be for Halloween yet?  Let me know in the comments below.  And tell me what were your favorites for September.

One response »

  1. OMG I have accumulated roughly a million Fresh Sugar Tinted Lip Balms in the last six months or so. I love them!! They’re awesome.

    And by coincidence, I made a trade (on eDivv.com – ever tried that site? I love it!) of an eyeshadow palette i wasn’t getting much use out of for a few other things, including one of the Coastal Scents Go palettes (the Cairo version). It hasn’t arrived yet, but I’m excited to try it out! Glad to know you like the shadows in yours.

Leave a Reply

