Ipsy October 2014

Standard
Ipsy October 2014

Ipsy October 2014

I got my big pink envelope in the mail that can only mean that I got my October Ipsy bag.  For those who don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month, you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  For October’s theme Ispy says “This month, we’re whipping up the most delicious beauty confections for you in your October “Beauty Candy” Glam Bag. You’ll find both beauty tricks and beauty treats all month long, with colorful and eye-catching eye-candy that you can see and sample!”  But first, again, let’s talk about the actual bag.

Ipsy October 2014 bag

Ipsy October 2014 bag

Love.  That’s all I can say.  I love it.  I really really love it.  A bold, dark-teal patent bag with geographic quilting.  Can I get this three times bigger to carry around as a purse?  It’s so cool.  Just like last month’s bag, this is absolutely something that I could use in real life.  I would have totally picked this one out for myself.  No offense to the products that I received, but this may actually be my favorite item this month.  Speaking of, let’s get into those products.

ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream Beauty Balm for Hair

ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream Beauty Balm for Hair

ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream Beauty Balm for Hair: “A first in haircare. Finally, an ultra-light, incredibly versatile, all-in-one multifunctional beauty balm that harnesses the moisturizing and protective power of the patented Acacia Collagen for ultimate repair, conditioning, manageability, smoothness, body and shine. Perfect for all hair types. Color safe. Paraben free.” The 1 oz travel size (which is the sample I received) is available at ecrunewyork.com for $12.

Épicé International Purifying Exfoliant

Épicé International Purifying Exfoliant

Épicé International Purifying Exfoliant: “A unique exfoliant which removes excess dirt and dead skin cells all while activating collagen production and hydrating your skin. This moisture rich formula utilizes mild, non-irritating and anti-bacterial cleansers with micro-fine polyspheres which enhances skin texture and clarity for a clean, fresh appearance. The Épicé Purifying Exfoliant is also great to use on the entire body and after just a few uses, you will begin to see improvement in the look and feel of your skin.”  Full size is priced at $32 for 3.3 oz at epiceinternational.com. Sample is 1 oz, worth $9.70.

Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Rose Berry

Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Rose Berry

Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Rose Berry: “Figs & Rouge Shea Butter Enriched Limited Edition Hand Creams are deliciously fragrant & indulgent. These delectable creams soften, nourish & thoroughly pamper hands throughout the day, quickly absorbing to provide super-soft skin. Apply Figs & Rouge Hand Cream onto your hands and massage into skin throughout the day as needed.”  This is a full sized product, 20 ml worth $6.56 at feelunique.com.

Jesse's Girl Mineralized Baked Shadow Powder in Plum Frost

Jesse’s Girl Mineralized Baked Shadow Powder in Plum Frost

Jesse’s Girl Mineralized Baked Shadow Powder in Plum Frost: “Get out-of-this-world eyes with Jesse’s Girl Mineralized Baked Powder Eyeshadows.” This is a full sized product worth $3.99 at jessesgirlcosmetics.com.

Starlooks Lip Gloss in Guilty Pleasure

Starlooks Lip Gloss in Guilty Pleasure

Starlooks Lip Gloss in Guilty Pleasure: “Starlooks Lip Glosses are created with a truly moisturizing, luxury, non-sticky formula. This neutral-rose, yet glamorous shade provides the perfect glisten for any lip look and complements any skin tone! Can be worn alone or in combination with other Starlooks lip products for a truly customizable finish.”  Ipsy claims the sample size is .3 oz, but I can’t find how many oz the full size is, only that it is priced at $12 on starlooks.com.  The internet consensus is that the sample is worth about $4, so I’ll go with that.

Ipsy October 2014

Ipsy

The grand total worth of my October Ipsy bag is $36.25, plus that awesome bag.  I am kind of ambivalent toward this month’s bag, honestly.  I wouldn’t say that there are any duds or misses, if you will, but I am not overly excited about any of the products either.  I am sure that I’ll get good use out of the exfoliant and the hand cream, though I would have preferred a different scent.  I have had the Plum Frost shadow in the past, which broke, so I’m glad to have a replacement.  Though the BB cream for hair looks interesting, I am not a fan of getting hair products in my Ipsy bag, and I can take or leave the lip gloss.  I don’t know; it’s not a bad bag, but it doesn’t wow me either.  What did you think of your Ipsy bag for October?  Did you love it, hate it, or did you fall somewhere in between?  Let me know in the comments below.  If you would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link.

5 responses »

  1. Bag twins! The only thing that I’m really loving is the hand cream. As for every thing else, meh… I really had to rub the eyeshadow to get any sort of color pay off.

  2. Do you know why I didn’t get the stuff you did in my ipsy bag? I got the lip gloss like you but everything else is different. This is like the 2nd month in a row that what they said they’re sending me I only received one or two things that was supposed to be in my bag. I’m really considering canceling my ipsy subscription because of this. Any ideas as to why this is happening or what I can do to change it? Thanks for your help!

    • There are several different possible products combinations for every month, so it is quite common to get a different bag than someone else. The image on the website isn’t actually your particular bag. Visit your Glam Room to see what you are actually getting. The products that you get are determined by the quiz that you took when you signed up (which you can re-take) and the way you rate/review the items that you received in your bag. For more information on this, I would email customer support. That’s all I know about it.

Leave a Reply

