Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation

Standard
Covergirl + Olay Face Lift Effect Firming Foundation

Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation

Today I have the Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation for review.  This foundation was released earlier this year, and I did most of my testing during the summer months.  I’m a bit back-logged, and I’ve been meaning to do this review for a while.  In general, I find the Covergirl + Olay line pretty hit and miss.  Some products I have really loved, like the Concealer Balm.  Others, not so much.  One thing that is consistent with the line is that all of the products are priced on the high end for the drugstore.  The Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation is a whopping $18!  So, let’s see if it’s worth it.

Here is what Covergirl says about the Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation: “Get luxurious, flawless coverage combined with the powerful hydrating effects of a night cream. The result? Firmer-looking skin for an instant facelift effect.  Our exclusive Olay FaceFirm technology, infused with a concentrated vitamin complex for all-day hydration and skin renewal, plumps and lifts. After just two weeks of continued use, skin’s natural firmness is improved.”

Covergirl + Olay Face Lift Effect Firming Foundation

Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation

Okay, here’s the deal: jar packaging is the enemy of skincare products.  I’m sorry, but it’s true.  Any anti-aging or firming ingredients are completely compromised by this unstable packaging letting air and bacteria into the product.  This is not a facelift in a jar.  This is not skincare.  Don’t buy Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation thinking that you are going to get any more benefits than any other foundation can provide, because you won’t.  That being said, let’s look at the formula.

Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation is very creamy, and blends into the skin pretty well.  There is no real noticeable scent that I could detect.  There are not the same oxidation issues that are common with Covergirl foundations, which is great.  Though you may think that Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation looks similar to the Covergirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation or the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup, it’s not.  This is definitely more of a creamy liquid than a true whipped foundation.  The following image shows how it applies.

Covergirl + Olay Face Lift Effect Firming Foundation

Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation

I enjoy how Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation looks initially.  There is definitely a blurring effect on my pores and fine lines that I really like.  It gives me medium coverage, but still looks natural with a satin finish.  It feels good on the skin and doesn’t dry me out.  In general, I love it during the application process.  Unfortunately, that good feeling doesn’t last.  I could not get any significant wear time, no matter what primer or powders I used with Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation.  Higher-end, low-end, setting sprays- nothing worked.  The foundation would start to break down on me within four hours, and by the six or seven hour mark, it would be completely gone.  Again, I was testing in the summer, but I do not have oily skin, so it shouldn’t have been that bad.  It’s possible that my results are not typical because my sister has used Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation as well, and has no issues with lasting power, so I don’t know if it’s my PH balance or what.  I guess results may vary, so keep that in mind.

At the end of the day, even if I did get better staying power out of the formula, Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation is not worth the exorbitant price tag.  $18, seriously?  Again, any anti-aging benefits that Olay may have included will begin to disintegrate as soon as they are exposed to air, so this is not a skincare product.  I wanted to like the Covergirl + Olay FaceLift Effect Firming Foundation, and there are some great things with this foundation, but I just can’t recommend it.  Even if my fast fading isn’t typical, the formula simply isn’t worth the price.  My advice would be to just keep walking and pass this one up entirely.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for doing such a thorough review on this foundation! I’m still very curious about this foundation and I have the same MAC coloring as you. Can you tell me which color name/number the Cover Girl is in?

    Thanks so much in advance!

Leave a Reply

