Philosophy Haul for Under $5: This is Why I Shop at Ulta

Standard
Philosophy Haul

Philosophy Haul

Today’s post is a little different.  I have a Philosophy haul for you- one that I paid less than $5 for.  Yes, you read that right.  I scored all six Philosophy products pictured above for less than it costs to get a latte.  I will get right to the chase and explain how I did it.  My savings are due to the 20% off coupon that Ulta sent out to platinum members a few weeks ago, and by redeeming my Ulta Rewards points.  I am a point hoarder.  I usually save up my points throughout the year to help me buy Holiday palettes or big ticket items that I really want, but can’t afford.  In the past, I have purchased Lorac, Urban Decay, and Tarte palettes (at least in part) with Ulta points.  Platinum members earn points 25% faster that regular members, and there are often point multiplier offers during the year to help you earn.  This year there weren’t any Holiday items that called out to me, so instead I chose to use my points on a product that I have been wanting for a really long time.

Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Retinol Eye Repair

Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Retinol Eye Repair

I have been wanting to get the Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Retinol Eye Repair for over a year.  Ever since I tried a sample size that I got as a 100 point perk from Sephora, I have been a big fan of this product.  It is just so expensive that it is hard to justify the price.  Miracle Worker has a thick gel-like consistency and feels like silk on the skin.  I’ve had sensitivity to retinol (or retinoid?  Is there a difference or are they the same thing?) in the past, but I didn’t have any issues with Miracle Worker.  I am so excited to have it again.  I think it does a great job of minimizing fine lines around the eyes, which is my biggest aging issue.  I really like this product, and a little goes a long way.  That’s a good thing because full size is $66 for 0.5 oz.  Here is where Ulta rewards helped me out.  First of all, I used the 20% off coupon, which brought it down to $52.80.  Then I cashed in all of my Ulta Rewards points for an additional $50 off.  So I got this $66 bottle of Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Retinol Eye Repair for $2.80.  But wait, there is more.

5pc Philosophy gift w/ purchase

5pc Philosophy gift w/ purchase

At the time, Ulta was offering this 5pc Philosophy gift with purchase on any Philosophy skincare purchase over $50.  Since redeemed Ulta Rewards points act as payment, not a coupon, my order qualified.  The gift bag included deluxe sample sizes of Purity Made Simple One-Step Facial Cleanser (30 ml), Time in a Bottle Daily Age defying Serum (2 ml), Pure Grace Shampoo, Bath, & Shower Gel (30ml), and Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Moisturizer (12 ml).  I am not sure what the total worth of this gift bag is.  The current 4pc Philosophy gift with purchase that is available on the website right now is worth $20, so I’m assuming the 5pc was worth $25.

Including tax, I paid around $3 out of pocket for all of these Philosophy products, worth $91.  This right here is why I prefer Ulta over Sephora.  I love that I can spend my rewards points on anything in the store.  At Sephora, you have to redeem for specific items, and often times I am not interested in those items.  Occasionally they will offer something awesome like the mini Miracle Worker sample that started this whole thing, but I find those to be the rarity.  The last thing I need in my life is another mascara sample, or perfume samples for fragrances that I already know don’t appeal to me.  At Ulta, I can choose to spend my points throughout the year to save on what I would normally buy, or hoard my points for a big ticket item at the end of the year.  Either way, I am choosing what products I spend my points on.  Ulta gives me control, and I really like that.  I can not wait to try out these new Philosophy products, and I am thrilled to get to use Miracle Worker Eye Repair again.  I you have not signed up for Ulta’s rewards program, you are really missing out.  I encourage you to sign up for any rewards program, weather it be at Ulta, Sephora, or any other store.  If you are spending money anyway, you may as well get something back.  Sometimes those rewards are really, really great.

How do you spend your Ulta points?  Do you redeem as you go, or are you a point hoarder like I am?  What are your thoughts on both Ulta’s and Sephora’s Rewards programs?  Let me know in the comments below.  Also, let me know if you have tried Philosophy products and what you thought of them.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. What a bargain! I haven’t tried the Miracle Worker line, but I generally love Philosophy skincare. If you ever get a chance, you have to try the two-step Microdelivery Peel! It’s a holy grail product for me.

    As for the Ulta points, I for some reason am terrible at letting them build up, but I do enjoy getting a few dollars off my purchase on a semi-regular basis. They really do have a great rewards system. 🙂

Leave a Reply

