Ipsy December 2014

Standard
Ipsy December 2014

Ipsy December 2014

I got my final pink envelope of 2014 in the mail with my December Ipsy bag.  My hopes are always high for the last bag of the year.  I really enjoyed last month’s glitterpalooza for the holiday, so I didn’t know what to expect for December.  For those who don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for December is Thinking of You: “Our happy thoughts are filled with YOU this month. Thank you for a 2014 full of beauty, wisdom, and inspiration. You’ve given us so many reasons to smile and look forward to another amazing year ahead.”  The bag this month is a simple and sleek black structured bag with a purple zipper.  Ipsy attached a heart shape logo key chain to the zipper pull, which is a nice little bonus.  let’s take  look at the products.

Beauty Without Cruelty A.H.A. 3% Facial Cleanser

Beauty Without Cruelty A.H.A. 3% Facial Cleanser

Beauty Without Cruelty A.H.A. 3% Facial Cleanser: “Beauty Without Cruelty 3% A.H.A. Facial Cleanser is a lightly-foaming, soap-free cleanser that removes dead surface skin cells, daily impurities, and excess oil without over-cleaning your skin. Nature’s own alpha hydroxy acids (AHAs) gently and deeply clean and actively clarify your skin without disturbing it’s natural balance. Pure premium Oshadhi aroma-therapeutic essential oils tone, condition, and calm, leaving your skin clean, clear, and refreshed.” Full size retails for $11.95 for 8.5 oz at beautywithoutcruelty.com. Sample size is 2 oz, worth $2.81.

Sexy Hair 450° Blow Out Heat Defense Blow Dry Spray

Sexy Hair 450° Blow Out Heat Defense Blow Dry Spray

Sexy Hair 450° Blow Out Heat Defense Blow Dry Spray Mini: “Protect those tresses! Sexy Hair’s 450° Blow Out Heat Defense Blow Dry Spray protects hair from heat damage up to 450°F. In addition to outstanding thermal protection, it also conditions for smooth, sleek styles, detangles for improved manageability and strengthens hair. Helps to decrease blow dry time and adds weightless shine.” Full size retails for $18.95 for 4.2 oz at sexyhair.com. Sample size is 1.7 oz, worth $7.67.

NYX Cosmetics Butter Lip Balm in Marshmallow

NYX Cosmetics Butter Lip Balm in Marshmallow

NYX Cosmetics Butter Lip Balm in Marshmallow: “Dip your lips in a sheer wash of color with NYX Butter Lip Balm. One swipe leaves dry lips feeling supple and hydrated. This Buttery Lip Balm is addictively soft and scrumptious and perfect for adding a subtle hint of color for a naturally flirtatious pout. Apply directly to bare lips or apply it over lip liner for more intense color.” This is a full sized product, worth $4 at nyxcosmetics.com.

Tarte deluxe lights, camera, lashes 4-in-1 mascara

Tarte deluxe lights, camera, lashes 4-in-1 mascara

Tarte deluxe lights, camera, lashes 4-in-1 mascara: “Like a pushup bra for your lashes, tarte’s best-selling mascara lengthens, curls, volumizes and conditions to deliver a 330% increase in lash volume instantly. The high-performance formula is also infused with naturally-derived olive esters to help nourish and protect lashes.” Full size retails for $20 for .24 oz at tartecosmetics.com. Sample size is .10 oz, worth $8.33.

CAILYN Cosmetics Just Mineral Eye Polish in Orchid

CAILYN Cosmetics Just Mineral Eye Polish in Orchid

CAILYN Cosmetics Just Mineral Eye Polish in Orchid: “Made with 100% raw mineral powder, this highly pigmented satiny powder not only colors your eyes with shimmery, gorgeous hues, but is also safe to wear long hours. The easy to use built-in sponge tip allows smooth application and seamless blending of colors. Whether you want to give a subtle wash of color or go for dramatic smokey makeup, CAILYN Just Mineral Eye Polish will be a girl’s best friend.” This is a full sized product, worth $15 at cailyncosmetics.com.

Ipsy

Ipsy

The grand total worth of my December Ipsy bag is $37.81, well over my $10 subscription fee as is always the case.  Overall, I am pleased with my bag.  I am not overwhelmed, but I am happy with most of the product that I received.  Tarte lights, camera, lashes is one of my favorite mascaras, so I am happy to have the sample.  The Cailyn Eye Polish is a gorgeous shade, and the Cailyn website lists several different ways to use it other than just an eye shadow.  I have been very curious about AHA products, so I am cautiously willing to try the Beauty Without Cruelty cleanser.  I’m not sure how well it will work with my skin type, and I am surprised that Ipsy sent it to me, but I am happy to test it.  The only product that I am really not pleased with is the NYX Butter Balm.  I reviewed them when they came out last year and did not like the formula.  Marshmallow is a terrible color for me, so I’m not even going to bother with it.  Otherwise, I’ll get good use out of  the products in the December bag.  I wasn’t “wowed” in the way I was hoping that I would be by the last bag of the year, but December’s bag was pretty good.

If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  What did you think of your Ipsy bag for December?  Did you love it, hate it, or did you fall somewhere in between?  Let me know in the comments below.  I can’t wait to see what is in the first Ipsy bag of 2015.  (Can you believe that this year is almost over?)  I have high hopes for what Ipsy will bring in the next year.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

Leave a Reply

