NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set

Standard
NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set

NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set

While at Target last week, I went ahead and picked up the NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set that was released for the Holidays and want to show it to you while there is still time to get it for yourself.  You may remember last month when I showed you a bunch of NYX Holiday 2014 sets that are available at Ulta.  Well, some of them have made their way to Target, and the NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set is one of them.  Here is what NYX says about the Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set: “Bask in decadence with three lustrous dessert shades from NYX Cosmetics Butter Lipgloss Pure Decadence Set! Whatever you’re in the mood for, these sweets serve up sheer to medium coverage in three luscious shades: Red Velvet, Tiramisu, and Devil’s Food Cake.”

NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set

NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set

If you have not tried NYX Butter Glosses for yourself, you really should give them a shot.  The formula is creamy and very hydrating on the lips.  I don’t think that they are sticky, but there is a tiny bit of tackiness that helps the color last for hours.  They feel so comfortable that you may forget that you are even wearing them.  The glosses have great pigmentation, but they are not opaque.  Even the deep shades will have a certain transparency or sheer quality to them.  They can be built up, though, so you actually get a pretty nice shade range based on how thin or thickly you apply the product.  I find that extremely helpful with shades like Devil’s Food Cake that look pretty intense in the tube, but turn out quite wearable in reality.  The Butter Glosses have a sugar cookie scent, but no discernible taste.

NYX Butter Gloss wand applicator

NYX Butter Gloss wand applicator

NYX Butter Glosses have a traditional doe foot applicator.  There isn’t a very steep angle at all to the tip, which for me means a less precise application.  I do not find that they feather or migrate, but getting a precise lip line is very difficult.  Using a lip liner underneath can help with that, allowing for a clean edge if you so desire.  The lighter shades can have issues with streaking (which is often the case, no matter the brand) but the medium and dark shades are generally streak free and have a very even application.  I am not a big lip gloss fan, but the NYX Butter Glosses are a great find.

L-R: Red Velvet, Tiramisu, and Devil’s Food Cake

L-R: Red Velvet, Tiramisu, and Devil’s Food Cake

The NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set contains three shades: Red Velvet, Tiramisu, and Devil’s Food Cake.  Red Velvet is a bright cherry red.  A thin application will pull a little pink, but regular or thick application will give you a lovely Christmas Red look.  Tiramisu is a pink-toned nude.  This shade is a little lighter than my natural lip color, and not really a great shade on me.  It’s lovely for those who love a nude or natural look, though, and would also layer very well over another lip color.  Devil’s Food Cake is a simply gorgeous deep berry shade.  Though it can be built up for a dark, vampy lip, it can also be sheered out for a very wearable berry lip.  Devil’s Food Cake has wonderful staying power, and even after it fades your lips are left with what looks like a light berry stain.

The NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set is a really good collection and is priced at just under $10.  The Butter Gloss formula is a winner, and this shade selection is beautiful and perfect for this time of year.  I am especially going to get a lot of use out of Red Velvet and Devil’s Food Cake.  The NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set is sold out on Ulta’s website, but you can still find it in some Ulta stores and Target stores.  I found mine at Target.  Be sure to call before you go to see if your local store has the set in stock.  If the NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set is a little too dark for your taste, there is also the Sugar Rush Butter Gloss set for those who like lighter and brighter shades.  Keep in mind that the sets are Holiday releases and Limited Edition.  You can find the individual shades as part of the regular NYX Butter Gloss line.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. I purchased this set maybe a month ago from Ulta. I’ve worn Red Velvet maybe three times, and for reasons I cannot figure out, it keeps ending up on my teeth!! This isn’t an issue I typically have with lip colors, so I really don’t know what the deal is. It’s kind of gross, though, LOL.

Leave a Reply

