Ipsy, January 2015

Standard
Ipsy, January 2015

Ipsy, January 2015

It’s Ipsy time again!  I received my January bag in the mail.  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for January is “Fresh Start” and Ipsy simply says that “It’s time to get fresh.”  The bag this month is nothing to write home about.  It is textured vinyl, white on one side and blue on the other with an orange zipper.  It reminds be of sports team paraphernalia, honestly.  Luckily the items inside impressed me more than the bag, so let’s get into it.

Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner in Jet

Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner in Jet

Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner in Jet: “Add impact to any look with our Liquid Eyeliner in Jet. This sleek onyx hue liner is ideal for creating impressively dazzling eyes instantly. The tiny felt tip brush allows you to precisely line eyes effortlessly. The formula dries quickly and lasts all day without smudging, smearing, or fading away.” This is a full sized product, worth $2.95 at coastalscents.com.

Elizabeth Mott All Over Shadow Brush

Elizabeth Mott All Over Shadow Brush

Elizabeth Mott All Over Shadow Brush: “Don’t miss a spot with this ridiculously soft shadow brush. This brush with its 100% synthetic bristles is the perfect multitasker. Use it to highlight your brow bone and place the right amount of color for perfect and even application! Your lids will thank you later!” This is a full sized product, worth $9.99 at elizabethmott.com

Hey Honey Take It Off! Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask

Hey Honey Take It Off! Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask

Hey Honey Take It Off! Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask: “This fifteen-minute beauty mask brightens and smooths skin with the exfoliating power of Alpha Hydroxy Acids, while moisturizing with luxurious honey extract. It instantly renews skin, leaving it refreshed and clean after only a few minutes. This gel mask helps promote a smooth and clear complexion for a post facial feeling. Take It Off! is quick and easy to use, so you can feel beautifully refreshed, radiant and ready to go in just a few minutes.” Full size product is 50 ml, worth $35 at heyhoney.com. Sample size is 10 ml, worth $7.

(MALIN+GOETZ) Mojito Lip Balm

(MALIN+GOETZ) Mojito Lip Balm

(MALIN+GOETZ) Mojito Lip Balm: “(MALIN+GOETZ) Mojito Lip Balm is as soothing to the lips as it is to the senses. Flavored with (MALIN+GOETZ) Mojito, this lip balm is scientifically blended to restore and replenish. This hydrating lip gel easily integrates for daily maintenance, prevention and treatment of dry, irritated lips. Color and paraben free.” Full size product is .35 oz, worth $12 at malinandgoetz.com. Sample size is .20oz, worth $6.86.

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow in Ethereal

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow in Ethereal

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow in Ethereal: “An incredibly innovative formula that pushes natural makeup and mineral color to new bounds. Rich, lasting, creaseless eye shadows are infused with coconut water for a velvety, cream-like finish. Formulated without: Phthalates, parabens, carmine, beeswax, lanolin, mineral oils, propylene glycol, petroleum and FD& C colors (along with other nasties you do not want on your skin). No animal testing. Gluten-free, 100% vegan and cruelty-free.” Pacifica doesn’t sell singles like this. Their Mineral Eyeshadow is available in 7g palettes for $14 at pacificabeauty.com. This sample is 2.5g, and is worth approximately $5.60.

The grand total worth of my January Ipsy bag is $32.40.  I am pleased with my bag this month. I am especially excited to try both the mojito lip balm and the exfoliating honey mask.  I am even excited to try the Coastal Scents liquid liner, despite the fact that I feel I may never get the hang of liquid liner.  The eyeshadow brush and the Pacifica shadow are slightly less exciting, but I am still happy to have them.  There are no products on the January bag that I think are duds, and I will get use out of everything that I received.  All in all, I think January’s bag was a win.  Go Ipsy!

Ipsy

Ipsy

If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  What did you think of your Ipsy bag for January?  Did we get the same things?  Did you love it, hate it, or did you fall somewhere in between?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I finally broke down and canceled Ipsy this month because I found myself never using the products I got. Not sure I would’ve used any of these, either, besides the eyeshadow brush (and I have plenty of those already!), so I feel like I made the right decision. I’m glad you like your bag, though! 🙂

    I did resubscribe to Birchbox and it’s going well so far! Two good boxes in a row. 🙂

Leave a Reply

