Monthly Favorites and Fails, January 2015 Edition

Standard
January Favorites 2015

January Favorites 2015

It’s my first Monthly Favorites post of 2015, and this time around I want to do things a little differently.  Of course I am still going to be talking about my Favorites, the products that stood out to me and that I found myself reaching for over and over again throughout the month.  But now I am also going to include the biggest fails of the month for the products that just did not work out for me.  Hopefully there won’t be fails every month (I am optimistic that I won’t find too many terrible products), but if there are, then I will be sure to warn you against them.  So let’s get into January’s favorites.

Lorac Cobra Mascara

Lorac Cobra Mascara

The first product that I want to tell you about has been a real stand-out for me, and it is the Lorac Cobra Mascara.  I have been using it for a couple months now, and I really like the formula.  I got this sample as a gift with purchase, and I am so glad because I probably wouldn’t have tried it otherwise.  Lorac claims “This curling, lengthening and volumizing formula is infused with keratin, panthenol and vitamin E to help condition and lengthen lashes. The custom Cobra head wand creates dramatic, buildable volume and length for the longest, thickest, blackest smudge and flake proof lashes ever!”  I do get pretty nice length and volume, and can get away with just one coat on easy makeup days.  Though it does nothing to help my extra straight lashes curl, it does not smear, smudge or flake, while still being pretty easy to wash off.  I was using it at the same time as a sample of Urban Decay Perversion mascara, and the difference was so obvious with Lorac Cobra blowing UD Perversion out of the water.  I usually get my mascara at the drugstore, but if I decide to treat myself, Lorac Cobra would be a great one to get.

e.l.f. Zit Zapper

e.l.f. Zit Zapper

Moving to a completely different climate has trashed my skin.  I’ve been breaking out like crazy, so I have been reaching for my e.l.f. Zit Zapper more than I’d prefer.  I’ve talked about the Zit zapper many times before on this blog.  The blend of Salicylic Acid, Tea Tree Oil, Witch Hazel and Camphor make an excellent spot treatment.  It’s only a dollar, but the e.l.f. Zit Zapper really works.

e.l.f. Small Stipple Brush

e.l.f. Small Stipple Brush

Another product from e.l.f. that I’ve been using over and over is the Small Stipple Brush.  I have been really enjoying my cream blushes and highlights, and the Small Stipple Brush is perfect for applying and blending out cream products.  I can be a bit heavy handed with cream products, but the Small Stipple Brush allows me a controlled and even application.  For only $3, you need this tool in your arsenal.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal

Speaking of cream products, my highlight of the month has been almost exclusively the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal.  This highlighter is absolutely gorgeous.  The shimmer particles are so finely milled that they simply disappear into each other.  The product blends in smoothly and sheers out easily.  The result is a subtle luminescence that looks like a radiant glow to the skin.  Opal is a slightly golden shade.  I am not a fan of super shiny highlighters, but the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector looks so natural and beautiful.  I can’t say enough good things about it.  This is a .5 oz sample size that is available at Ulta with Becca foundation samples for only $10, and it’s going to last me forever because such a small amount of product is needed.  The full size is 1.7 oz for $41, but I recommend getting the sample size or the travel size (also available in Moonstone) because you will never get through the full size product.

L'Oreal Glossy Balms

L’Oreal Glossy Balms

On my lips, I have been reaching for the L’Oreal Glossy Balms in Vintage Rose and Petite Plum.  These lip crayons are so hydrating and comfortable on the lips.  Vintage Rose is a sheer, natural rose shade.  Petite Plum is a brown-toned plum shade with very good pigmentation.  They are both beautiful, and I have been especially enjoying Petite Plum.  Feel free to check out my review for more information.

January 2015 Fails

January 2015 Fails

And now onto my January Fails.  The first product is one that I recently reviewed, so it should be no surprise to see the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel listed as a big fail.  If you haven’t read my review of SH Miracle Gel yet, please do.  In short, the polish was terrible and the claim to last as long as Gel manicures, truly laughable.  Some people like SH Miracle Gel, but I certainly am not one of them.  The next item I picked up while I was at Wal-Mart looking for a litter box.  I had run out of cotton rounds, so I decided to try these Swisspers Cotton Rounds.  The textured on one side, exfoliating kind was the only version available.  I don’t know if you can tell in the picture, but I have tried to get through this pack of 80 and made a decent dent.  I really did try, but they are so terrible that I finally had enough and had to use something (anything) else.  I gave up and bought the Target Up and Up brand.  The Swisspers stick together in the package, so when you pull them out there are cotton strands coming off.  They don’t hold up very well to any moisture, so when I try to use them with toner or makeup remover, the Swisspers start to fall apart.  They are completely useless.  Don’t waste your money, buy the Target brand cotton rounds.  They are so much better that these horrible Swisspers.

That is all for my January favorites.  I hope you saw something that you might want to check out for yourself.  If you have used any of these products, I’d love to know what you thought of them.  Also, let me know if you liked me adding some “Fails” in the Favorites post.  Is that something that you would like me to keep doing?  Let me know in the comments below.

4 responses »

  1. I’ve had that issue with the Swisspers. They’d always split, biscuit-style, and would pretty much just turn to mush when wet.

  2. I bought three bottles of the SH Miracle Gel polish and fortunately read your review before I used them. They went right back to the store. So thank you!

Leave a Reply

