NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Toasted Marshmallow

Standard
NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Toasted Marshmallow

NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Toasted Marshmallow

Today I have the new NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Toasted Marshmallow to show you.  The NYX Intense Butter Glosses are part of the new Spring 2015 lineup, and there are there are 12 new shades.  The formula is just as creamy and hydrating on the lips as the original Butter Glosses.  The original Butter Glosses have great pigmentation, but they are not opaque.  Even the deep shades will have a certain transparency or sheer quality to them.  That is where the Intense Butter Glosses differ from the originals.  These 12 new shades are packed with pigment, and you get an opaque application with only one swipe of the wand.  They are fantastic!

NYX Intense Butter Gloss applicator wand

NYX Intense Butter Gloss applicator wand

The NYX Intense Butter Glosses have a long, flat applicator wand.  I have a really hard time getting a precise application with this wand, which can be an issue because the glosses are so pigmented.  Using a lip brush may be extremely helpful if you want a crisp line.  You can also use a lip liner underneath to help get a clean edge if you so desire.  Neither are necessary, though, as I do not find that the Butter Glosses (Intense or original) feather or migrate into fine lines.  There is a tiny bit of tackiness when first applied that helps the color last for hours.  The Glosses aren’t sticky, though, and I find them so comfortable that I forget that I am even wearing them.  The Intense Butter Glosses have the same sugar cookie scent that the original Butter Glosses have, but no discernible taste.

NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Toasted Marshmallow

NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Toasted Marshmallow

I purchased the shade Toasted Marshmallow, which is a purple toned mauve.  The swatch on my lips is a light, one-swipe application.  You can see that the color is completely opaque.  If I were to build up the color even more it will lean more on the purple side.  Toasted Marshmallow is a gorgeous color.  It is bold, without being overpowering.  Even though it is not a bright shade, it still really made my lips pop.  The smooth, creamy formula doesn’t accentuate my lip lines, and Toasted Marshmallow is a great choice for aging lips.  I love it.  NYX Intense Butter Glosses are a win in my book.  You can find them at Ulta stores, or online at ulta.com or nyxcosmetics.com, and they retail for $6 each.  I am not the biggest fan of lipgloss in general, but the NYX Intense Butter Glosses formula is definitely worth a go.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

