Ipsy, February 2015

Standard
Ipsy February 2015

Ipsy February 2015

It’s Ipsy time again, and let me just start by saying that it took forever to get my Ipsy bag this month.  My bag was really late for reasons that I can’t seem to discern since my tracking code indicated that it just sat at a sorting facility here in SoCal (no weather issues at all) for a full week with no movement.  I am not sure what happened there, but I am not pleased.  But, let’s not dwell on Ipsy’s terrible shipping.  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  February’s theme was “Love” (inspired, I know).  “Love is just a word until you find someone or something to give it meaning.  This February we are celebrating warm hugs, butterflies in your stomach, a new favorite blush, your best friend’s tweets- LOVE in all its wondrous forms and ways to express it.”  I think the design of the bag is really cute, though the pink and white color scheme is predictable for February.  I would definitely use it in real life.  So let’s look at what came inside.

CARGO Cosmetics Mini Lip Gloss in Anguilla

CARGO Cosmetics Mini Lip Gloss in Anguilla

CARGO Cosmetics Mini Lip Gloss in Anguilla: “A new generation of Cargo’s lip gloss. Its super high shine gloss delivers intense color payoff and locks in moisture to keep lips feeling hydrated. This longwearing lip gloss has a slick texture that feels creamy gliding over lips without being sticky. Ingredients such as Vitamin E and Jojoba Seed oil help increase lip moisture and decrease the appearance of furrows around the mouth while increasing lip volume to its maximum fullness.” Full size is $16 for .08 oz at cargocosmetics.com. Sample looks to be half the size, though the precise numbers were a little messed up, so I will estimate a worth of $8.

China Glaze Nail Lacquer in Marry a Millionaire

China Glaze Nail Lacquer in Marry a Millionaire

China Glaze Nail Lacquer in Marry a Millionaire: “Give your manicure a dazzling finish with China Glaze Marry A Millionaire nail lacquer. This rich amethyst lacquer with multi-tonal fibers features differently sized and shaped glitter particles cleverly combined to create a sexy, super decadent, 3-D finish. China Glaze’s unique lacquers contain China Clay as a nail hardener, the same material that gives porcelain its shiny finish.” This is a full sized bottle, worth about $7.50 at ulta.com.

Eva NYC Up All Night Volumizing Spray

Eva NYC Up All Night Volumizing Spray

Eva NYC Up All Night Volumizing Spray: “Get the ultimate blowout with this multi-tasking spray! The light-weight formula adds volume and texture to hair, while protecting against heat for healthier styling. Apply to damp hair before blow drying for added texture and lift, or use on dry hair as a revitalizing spray.” Full size is $24 for 8 oz at eva-nyc.com. Sample size is 1 oz, worth $3.

JOYA Composition No. 1 Parfum Oil

JOYA Composition No. 1 Parfum Oil

JOYA Composition No. 1 Parfum Oil: “JOYA Composition No. 1 is a luscious perfume oil in a beautiful and convenient roll-on travel-sized bottle: fruity, floral, creamy, citrus, a little musk, a lot refreshing. Perfume oil, unlike traditional alcohol-based fragrances, whispers instead of screaming. JOYA parfum realizes the true essences of its top, heart and drydown notes and gently absorbs on the skin of each wearer, making for an intimate and personal experience. Composition No. 1 interacts with your own chemistry and smells different on everyone and is sure to make an impression. Top Notes: sparkling Italian mandarin, Brazilian orange and fresh quince. Heart Notes: heliotrope petals, tuberose, jasmine, camellia and Damask rose. Drydown: creamy sandalwood, pale musk and a hint of tonka bean.” Full size is $30 for .34 fl oz at joyastudio.com. Sample size is .05 fl oz, worth $4.41.

ModelCo BLUSH Cheek Powder in Cosmopolitan

ModelCo BLUSH Cheek Powder in Cosmopolitan

ModelCo BLUSH Cheek Powder in Cosmopolitan: “ModelCo’s BLUSH Cheek Powder creates a beaming, rosy glow to brighten every complexion. The micronized color pigments and luxurious, pressed powder delivers a sheer, natural radiance that lasts all day. BLUSH Cheek Powder’s chic compact is easy-to-use and perfect for beauty touch ups on-the-go.” Full size is $22 for 8 g at modelcocosmetics.com. Sample size is 3.6 g, worth $9.90.

Ipsy

Ipsy

The grand total worth of February’s Ipsy bag is $32.81.  I have to say it, I was not a fan of February’s bag.  Personally, I won’t get much use out of these products.  I do like the JOYA perfume oil.  It’s not a scent that I would typically go for, but I think it smells great.  I also like the blush, though I would have preferred the peach shade as opposed to the pink one.  It’s a good product, though.  I am probably going to give the other products away.  I don’t blow out my hair, so I won’t get use out of the Eva NYC spray.  While the China Glaze polish is an interesting shade, I have so much nail polish that I will never get through it all, especially since it was part of a collection that came out in 2011.  I have to say that I raised an eyebrow at that one.  I would rather get almost anything over hair products and nail polish, but that is just my personal preference.  I know that some people love hair and nail products from Ipsy.  I would be excited to try the CARGO lip gloss, a brand that I do want to get more familiar with, but the color is so terrible for me.  I can not wear that light of a shade.  It would make me look like a corpse!  Truth me told, it would be a tough shade for many people.  So all that to say, February was a dud for me.  I have liked past months much better.  That is the risk with a subscription service- sometimes you are not going to like what you get.  Overall, though, Ipsy has been worth it to me.  You can’t win them all.

If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  What did you think of your February Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things?  Were you more impressed with your bag than I was?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. They sent you a nail polish from a 2011 collection?!!? Oy vey. I think Ipsy has gone downhill a little bit, unfortunately. The blush does look pretty, though.

  2. I canceled my Ipsy subscription after about a year. The cosmetic bag idea is a good one, until you see 7 months of bags strewn about your house. I have also been underwhelmed by the products and just felt like things were feeling repetitive. I also canceled Birchbox for similar reasons. Now I get PopSugar, which costs more and has more than just makeup, but I love it!

  3. I’m just curious as to your preferences on ipsy. I only got the blush and the volumizing spray like you. You bags always seem to be more my style than what I get and I have changed my preferences but still keep getting things I don’t like. Any suggestions you might have to fix this will be greatly appreciated!

    • I took my Ipsy quiz a really long time ago, so I don’t really remember the options. I think I chose “classic” “sultry” and “trendy” for style choices, and I definitely chose expert level on experience using makeup. I don’t really remember my other choices. I hope that helps you out.

Leave a Reply

