Monthly Favorites, February 2015 Edition

Standard
February Favorites

February Favorites

It’s the end of the month, so you know what that means.  It’s Monthly Favorites time!  For anyone new to the blog, Monthly Favorites are those products that particularly stood out to me, and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  February was a month of experimentation, beauty-wise.  I have been tying to shop my stash and get use out of all sorts of products.  I really tried to mix it up and use different products each time, so consequently choosing my favorites this month was much harder than usual.  I managed to do it, though, so without further ado, here are my Monthly Favorites for February.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness and Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness and Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

I am trying to work my way through my primers and foundations before I open any new ones, and one thing that I keep going back to month after month is the It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness Neutralizing Correcting Cream.  It is such a great product.  I love using it as a base layer under lighter foundations that don’t have enough coverage for me on their own.  It is a great layering product.  It is light-weight and dries down matte.  It really covers up my rosacea and helps my foundation look great.  I have also lately been using Bye Bye Redness on its own.  I simply go back in for a second layer over the areas that I feel need some extra help.  A little goes a long way, and this product has lasted for months.  I prefer to use my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush to apply and blend it out.  Though this isn’t normally my favorite foundation brush, it works fabulously with Bye Bye Redness.  The brush fits perfectly in the jar and it spreads just the right amount of product for a smooth and even layer.  This is a great duo and I have been really loving them.

 

Maybelline Master Glaze Blush Stick in Mauve

Maybelline Master Glaze Blush Stick in Make a Mauve

On my cheeks I have been loving my new Maybelline Master Glaze Blush Stick in Make a Mauve.  I am going to do a full review soon, so I am not going to go into too much detail now.  Make a Mauve has a lovely, creamy formula that blends well without pulling up my foundation.  It is a gorgeous red-toned mauve shade that sheers out for a “just came in from the cold” healthy flush to the cheeks.  It is a great product, so keep an eye out for my full review with all the details coming soon.

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Bronzer in Deep Bronze

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Bronzer in Deep Bronze

You know that I have been loving my Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve over the last few months, but in February I put it down in favor of the Maybelline Master Hi-Light Bronzer in Deep Bronze.  Even though most of the country is buried in snow, here in sunny Southern California it’s been blue skies and warm weather, so I am hearing some of my spring and summer colors calling my name.  Deep Bronze is a warm, golden bronze shade.  It is quite shimmery, so I don’t use it for contouring.  It’s a great a blush, though, for that golden bronze look.  There is a lot of red in this shade, so it’s more suited for those with neutral or warm undertones in their skin, but it is absolutely gorgeous.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Taupe

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Taupe

Moving on to eyes, I have been reaching or my Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Taupe a lot this month.  Rimmel is extremely affordable and the Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajals have a great formula.  Taupe is my favorite of the bunch because it is a unique shade to my collection and a really versatile liner.  This is such a great shade for the lower lash line for some definition that is appropriate for the daytime when black or brown might be too much.

Wet n Wild Drinking a Glass of Shine

Wet n Wild Drinking a Glass of Shine

I usually try not to include limited edition items in my favortes because I want to make sure you can get your hands on it if you see a product you like.  However, I have been reaching for the Wet n Wild Drinking a Glass of Shine palette (also known as I (Heart) Matte palette) so much over the last couple of months, that I really needed to include it.  I use this palette in conjunction with any variety of other eyeshadows because of the fantastic neutral shades.  That peachy “eyelid” shade is a fantastic transition shadow to use in a large number of looks.  The “browbone” highlight is an everyday staple, and I use the black shadow for liner all the time.  I know many of you picked up this palette and it may be sitting in your drawer because you think of it as a colorful palette, but pull it out and use the neutral side.  It goes with everything.

Lorac Platinum Status Eyeshadow Palette

Lorac Platinum Status Eyeshadow Palette

And finally, we have the Lorac Platinum Status Eyeshadow Palette.  Again, this was limited edition, but it is a great palette for February.  I have loved the sweet, romantic eye looks that I have been getting from this palette.  There are some similar shades in the Wet n Wild Petal Pusher palette, since this Lorac palette isn’t available anymore.  I love that gorgeous shimmery rosy-mauve paired with the satin plum shade right next to it.  I have been trying to wear more purple-toned shadows.  Though I will probably always favor greens, golds, and browns as my favorite colors, I have noticed that purples look really good with my coloring.  Lorac usually releases these five pan palettes around Thanksgiving, and they are fantastic, so keep an eye out when the time comes.

That is all for my February favorites.  I hope you saw something that you might want to check out for yourself.  If you have used any of these products, I’d love to know what you thought of them in the comments below.  February was a good month for me.  I feel like I am finally settling in after the move and getting back to normal.  I have been so busy this month, and have been extremely sleep deprived, but otherwise I’ve been doing well.  I am looking forward to the Spring, and busting out some of my more fun colors.  I have a feeling greens and corals are going to feature heavily in the next couple months.  I am usually all for a long winter, but this year I am ready or Spring to come my way.  How about you?

4 responses »

  1. I am so jealous of the warm, sunny weather you’ve been having! It was 0 degrees here in Indiana this morning. 😦

    I wish I had gotten my hands on that Wet n Wild palette when it was out! You’re right; the neutral shades on the right are SO pretty. They actually remind me a little bit of the Melt Cosmetics eyeshadow stack in Dark Matter, which a TON of people are reviewing on YouTube right now!

    • I’m sorry. 😦 Yes! It does look very similar to Dark Matter. I have seen those Melt cosmetics stack making the rounds and they look great, but expensive. I love that the WnW pans are only $5. Hopefully they will release another matte palette with some neutral shades. Comfort Zone is beautiful, but they need mattes in their permanent lineup.

  2. I love that Real Techniques Expert Face brush so much that every time I have a 30% off for Kohl’s I order one. I believe I have 4 now (2 of which are unopened). I love pairing it with Rimmel’s Stay Matte Mousse foundation because it creates the perfect airbrushed look. I also love that Maybelline Make A Mauve blush and use it when I’m tan in the summer (unlike now where I’m practically translucent). I’m hoping to get my hands on one of the new Matte blushes from the Maybelline 2015 Spring line… but being from a small town in Indiana it’s unlikely. 😦

    • I haven’t tried Rimmel’s Stay Matte Mousse foundation, but I can see how that brush would work well with a mousse like formula. I don’t love it with true liquid foundations as much, but it does wonders with a thicker formula. Good luck in finding those blushes! I hope you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

