Coastal Scents Revealed 3

Standard
Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette

Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette

There is a new Revealed palette in town.  Coastal Scents is launching the new Revealed 3 Palette today at coastalscents.com.  Both the Original Revealed Palette and the Revealed 2 Palette are very popular, and have been hailed by beauty bloggers and Youtubers as less expensive dupes for the three Urban Decay Naked palettes.  This time around though, to my knowledge Coastal Scents isn’t trying to dupe anything with the Revealed 3 Palette.  It is designed to stand on its own.  Let’s take a closer look.

Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette

Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette

According to Coastal Scents, “The Revealed 3 palette features twenty all-new elegant eye shadows, in a stunning variety of hues and textures. Discover infinite possibilities with a combination of looks, perfect for every eye color.”  The Revealed 3 is similar to the first two Revealed palettes in that it is housed in slim and sturdy cardboard packaging.  Coastal Scents still has yet to add a mirror to the Revealed line, but they have kept their price of $19.95 consistent with the other two Revealed Palettes.  This palette looks a little schizophrenic to me at first glance.  There are some warm bronzes and golds for classic neutral looks, but there are also quite a few pinks, purples, and burgundy shades for dramatic smoky eyes.  When you take a closer look and start to create combinations in your head, you realize that the Revealed 3 is actually a very versatile palette that can create a wide range of looks in those color families.  Unfortunately, there are only three mattes in the entire palette.  They are highlight and transitional shades, which will be quite useful, but it would have been nice if more than just the three out of twenty shades had been matte.  The rest of the shadows are a mix of glitter, shimmer, and satin finishes.

Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette

Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette

So, what do you think of the Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette?  I don’t think it will have quite the universal appeal of the first Revealed palette that had so many dupes for UD Naked 1 and 2, but I think it is a decent palette on its own.  If you like pinks and purples, this is going to be a great option for you.  Otherwise, though, you may have more luck with one of the other Revealed palettes.  I also feel like the Revealed 3 is too similar to Revealed 2.  The shades are not the same, but they are similar enough to make me wonder if you need both.  I would have preferred to keep those smoky purples and add in some navys, more grays, and dark greens, for an all smoky palette that would have set Revealed 3 apart from the other two.  I have a feeling that the Revealed 3 is going to be a love it or hate it kind of product.  I think that if you respond to these particular shades then you will love the Revealed 3.  I just don’t think it was the same wide range of appeal as the previous 2 Revealed palettes did.  Here is a pic of all three Revealed palettes together.  What are your thoughts?  Let’s discuss in the comments below.

CS revealed 1,2, and 3

CS revealed 1,2, and 3

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. I only have the Revealed 2, but I think it’s a great palette. The shades are beautiful and the quality is really nice! This is the first I’ve heard about the Revealed 3, so thanks for the heads-up. I’m not sure it’s different enough from the 2 for me to need it. As you say, I wish it had some more unique shades!

    • I don’t have either of the first two palettes because I already had Naked 2 and 3, but I have heard that they are great. It’s too bad that the shades look so similar to Revealed 2. I think that they took a miss-step there.

  2. I think I’ll be skipping out on this one… I have the first 2 and sadly I don’t find myself reaching for them that much. I have mainly been on a Naked Basics 2 kick for this entire year so far.

    • Is there a particular reason that you don’t find yourself reaching for the first two? Is the quality just not there, or is it that you have too much competition in your collection that you just don’t get around to them?

Leave a Reply

