Ipsy, March 2015

Standard
Ipsy, March 2015

Ipsy, March 2015

It’s Ipsy time again!  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.   The theme for March is Floral fantasy: “This is what Flower Power looks like.  Wake up your imagination with a crazy beautiful explosion of flowers.  Vivid shades and inviting textures collide this March.  Let the blooms begin.

NYX Butter Lipstick in Pops

NYX Butter Lipstick in Pops

NYX Butter Lipstick in Pops: “Pamper your lips with a hydrating kiss of smooth Butter Lipstick in 22 luxurious shades. The delicate texture of satin fused with the high color saturation creates an even finish on lips that’s long-wearing and beautiful.” This is a full sized product, worth $6.00 at nyxcosmetics.com.

Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Duo

Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Duo

Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Duo: “Give your eyes shimmery summer glow with this Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Eye Duo in Apricot Glow made exclusively for ipsy. These ultra-smooth shadows blend effortlessly and can be used wet or dry, depending on your desired makeup look.” Full size is a 6-pan palette (.2 oz) worth $12 at pixibeauty.com. Sample size is .03 oz, worth $1.80.

ACURE Day Cream

ACURE Day Cream

ACURE Day Cream: “Face the day with Gotu Kola Stem Cells, shown to firm and help your skin fight environmental damage and free radicals, and Chlorella Growth Factor, shown to support collagen and elastin fibers. This powerhouse combo helps fight off the signs of aging with a one-two punch. Easily Absorbed Moisture + Cell Renewal = Great Day! Day Cream is Gluten Free and Vegan. Free of Parabens, Sulfates, Petrochemicals, Phthalates, Formaldehyde donors, Synthetic fragrances, Animal testing, Ethanolamine, Mineral oil, Propylene glycol and Silicone. For normal to dry skin.” Full size is 1.75 oz, worth $18.99 at acureorganics.com. Sample size is 1 oz, worth $10.85.

Chella Ivory Lace Highlighter

Chella Ivory Lace Highlighter

Chella Ivory Lace Highlighter: “This fresh and pretty neutral pencil will brighten and visibly lift your eyes when lightly applied on the brow bone, dark circles, blemishes and red spots. In addition, this multi-purpose pencil can be used to brighten and “open” the eye area by applying to the water line and inner corners of the eye. Applying a thin, blended line down the center of the nose creates the illusion of a thinner nose. Perfect for highlighting a beautiful smile by eliminating dark shadows and preventing lipstick spread by applying to the Cupid ’s bow and along the lip line.” This is a full sized product, worth $18 at chella.com.

skyn ICELAND Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels

skyn ICELAND Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels

skyn ICELAND Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels: “When you’re run down and stressed out, the delicate skin under your eyes really takes a beating, resulting in puffiness, dark circles and premature wrinkling. In just ten minutes, this cooling transdermal gel patch infuses the eye area with highly potent actives and Icelandic glacial water to firm, tone, brighten and reduce the appearance of puffiness and wrinkles. Eyes are revived, soothed and rejuvenated.” Full size is $30 for 8 pairs at skyniceland.com. Sample size is 2 pairs, worth $7.50.

The grand total worth of my March Ipsy bag is $44.15.  That is a whole lot more than my $10 subscription fee.  I am really happy with my Ipsy bag this month.  If you read my post last month, you know that I was not pleased with my February bag at all, but I am happy with pretty much every item that I got this time around.  I was already thinking about getting NYX Butter Lipstick in Pops myself, so that’s a win, and I love that the eyeshadows from Pixi coordinate so well.  I am excited to try the skyn Iceland eye gels and Acure Day Cream.  The only product that gave me pause was the Chella highlighter pencil, but I will probably use it to line the outside of my lip to make sure my lipstick doesn’t feather.  I would definitely call March’s bag a win.  If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to sign up for your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  What did you think of your March 2015 Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things?  Were you as happy with your bag as I was?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

8 responses »

  1. The bag is cute! I love the Acure day cream! I got it in another box (maybe Birchbox?) and loved it so much! Target sells it for $16.99

  2. Nyx Butter Lipstick is gorgeous. I’ve worn my Licorice and Hunk shades right down. (Only problem is that in Australia, the Nyx instore ranges are wildly inconsistent as to shade availability. Have you noticed this problem in the US?

  3. I felt kind of “meh” about the Pixi shadows I received, but then I tried them. They’re really pretty and they wear well!

Leave a Reply

