NYX High Voltage Lipsticks

Standard
NYX High Voltage Lipstick

NYX High Voltage Lipstick

The internet has been a buzz for the last month over the new NYX High Voltage Lipsticks.  That being the case, today I wanted to give you my review of the formula, and my thoughts on some of the less common shades in the line.  Here is what NYX has to say about them: “Amp up your look with our High Voltage lipstick! Each of the 22 dramatic shades is infused with vibrant color with a super-rich finish!”  I noticed a lot of pinks and corals in the lineup, but since the High Voltage Lipsticks are being promoted for their high-impact color, I wanted to try some of the more unusual shades, and ones that I don’t have ten dupes for in my collection.  Let’s take a look.
NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Free Spirit

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Free Spirit

The NYX High Voltage Lipsticks come in long, slender tubes with a clear plastic cap.  The packaging is nothing to write home about.  I like that you can see the actual shade before you buy, but that’s the only good thing about the packaging.  It looks cheap, and I had an issue with the cap coming off of the lipstick in my bag.  I know that these lipsticks are only $6 each, but NYX could have put a little more effort in the packaging, if nothing else than to make sure that the caps were secure.  The product does not quite screw all the way down into the packaging, so be careful opening and closing as to avoid nicks.  There is just the faintest sweet scent of vanilla or cookies, but no discernible taste.  I find the formula kind of inconsistent, so I will talk about each shade individually.

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Free Spirit

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Free Spirit

The first NYX High Voltage Lipstick I chose was Free Spirit.  It is a bright, vibrant orange shade.  The pigmentation of these High Voltage Lipsticks is fantastic.  The vibrancy of Free Spirit is quite obvious and easy to achieve with very little layering.  The High Voltage Lipsticks have a smooth, creamy formula, but they do not perform the same.  Though I thought Free Spirit was a gorgeous color, I did not like the way it settles into my lip lines and emphasized my flaws.  It made the texture of my lips look uneven and unattractive.  I do not like how Free Spirit wears at all, and it will be going back.

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Wine & Dine

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Wine & Dine

Speaking of how they wear, I thought that the High Voltage Lipsticks are very comfortable on the lips.  I don’t find them drying at all, and they feel very lightweight.  Staying power is so-so.  They do not stand up to eating and drinking, so you will definitely have to re-apply throughout the day.  If you are not drinking or talking very much, you can probably get three or so out of them.  On the upside, the darker colors do stain a little and they seem to wear pretty evenly.  You are going to want to keep them handy, though.

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Wine & Dine

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Wine & Dine

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Wine & Dine is the complete opposite of Free Spirit, and I love this shade.  It is a simply luscious deep wine color, and it wears beautifully.  Unlike Free Spirit, it does not emphasize my lip lines or uneven texture.  It is so smooth and creamy, and makes my lips look amazing.  This is a shade that highlights how pigmented the NYX High Voltage Lipsticks are.  This is just one layer of Wine & Dine for this super rich and intense color pay-off.  I can’t say enough good things about this shade, and I highly recommend Wine & Dine.

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Dirty Talk

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Dirty Talk

The final NYX High Voltage Lipstick I chose was Dirty Talk.  I am a product of the 90’s, and I used to love, love, love wearing dark brown lipstick.  I simply could not help myself when I saw Dirty Talk.  It is a warm chocolate brown, that is an updated and more modern version of that 90’s lip that I loved.  But I have to say that the jury is still out on this shade.  On one hand, it is just as creamy and pigmented as Wine & Dine, which I like very much.  However, it shares some of the same flaws as Free Spirit in that it emphasizes my lip lines.  It’s not quite as harsh and judgmental as Free Spirit, but I still think it is an issue.  Dirty Talk falls somewhere in the middle of the quality spectrum between Free Spirit and Wine & Dine.  I really want to love this shade, but I am still not sure, even after a couple weeks.

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Dirty Talk

NYX High Voltage Lipstick in Dirty Talk

So, there you have it.  NYX High Voltage Lipsticks have a lot of good qualities, but I find the formula pretty inconsistent from shade to shade.  I definitely think that they are worth trying, but you need to do your homework first and make sure that the shade you want has a smooth and forgiving formula.  One thing is for sure; the NYX High Voltage Lipsticks are intensely pigmented and a lot of fun to play with.  Have you tried the NYX High Voltage Lipsticks yet?  What were your thoughts?  What shades have you tried, and do you have any suggestions?  Let’s talk about them in the comment below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

