Essence 3D EyeShadow

Standard
Essence 3D EyeShadow

Essence 3D EyeShadow

Today I have two of the new Essence 3D EyeShadow duos to show you.  Essence is a brand that I have limited experience with, but I have mostly enjoyed what I’ve tried, so I wanted to try some more products from their line.  For those of you who are not familiar with Essence, it is a German brand that launched in 2001 and hit America in 2008.  They are known for their affordability.  I have only ever found Essence at Ulta, so last time I was shopping there I decided to try some Essence eyeshadows, and these duos caught my eye.  Here is what Essence has to say about them: “New and improved! Essence’s 3D Eyeshadows provide a smoother and silkier texture that is easy to blend. The new color-duos range from neutrals to jewel tones with high pigmentation. Apply with a damp brush for more intensity and maximum impact. Available in 6 irresistible shade duos in satin, metallic, and shimmering finishes.”  Let’s take a closer look.

Essence 3D EyeShadow in Irresistible Choco Cupcake

Essence 3D EyeShadow in Irresistible Choco Cupcake

The first Essence 3D EyeShadow duo I have is in Irresistible Choco Cupcake.  It is a pairing of light, icy pink and deep, dark chocolate brown.  I find the formula very easy to work with, and the shadows have really nice pigmentation.  I always recommend using an eye primer, but especially with these shimmery metallic shades because there can be issues with fall out.  A primer helps the shadows adhere, and increases longevity.  I was able to achieve a bold, crease-free look that lasted all day with this duo.  Here is a swatch:

Essence 3D EyeShadow in Irresistible Choco Cupcake

Essence 3D EyeShadow in Irresistible Choco Cupcake

This swatch of Irresistible Choco Cupcake is on bare skin, no primer at all.  You can see that it has great pigmentation, and that brown is pretty dark.  The pink comes off as more of a champagne shade on the skin, and not nearly as pink as it looks in the packaging.  It is a beautiful pairing, and I definitely recommend  Irresistible Choco Cupcake.

Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresistible Caramel Cream

Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresistible Caramel Cream

The second Essence 3D Eyeshadow duo I picked up was in Irresistible Caramel Cream.  This is a lighter shade than Choco Cupcake and the finish is more of a pearl shimmer than straight up metallic.  I thought that the formula was equally smooth and easy to work with, and there was a little less fall out with this duo.  Still, I recommend a primer to increase wear-time.  Otherwise, you can expect a solid six hours before the shadows begin to fade.  I had no issue with creasing either with or without primer.  Let’s take a look at the swatch.

 

Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresistible Caramel Cream

Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresistible Caramel Cream

Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresistible Caramel Cream looks similar to Irresistible Choco Cupcake in the packaging, but there is actually a pretty big difference in the shades.  The lighter shade in the duo looks like it may have some pink tones in the packaging, but it actually comes off as as white gold on the skin.  The brown shade is a medium caramel color.  The duo provides a more subtle eye look, perfect for those who prefer a natural eye.  Here are swatches of the two duos next to each other so that you can compare them.  Irresistible Choco Cupcake is on the left and Irresistible Caramel Cream is on the right.  Again, this is over bare skin, no primer.

(L-R) Irresistible Choco Cupcake  and Irresistible Caramel Cream

(L-R) Irresistible Choco Cupcake and Irresistible Caramel Cream

I really like the new Essence 3D Eyeshadows.  The two duos that I tried were both very nice with good formulas and great pigmentation.  I prefer Irresistible Choco Cupcake because I like the bolder looks that I can create with that deep chocolate brown, but that’s just me.  The Essence 3D Eyeshadow duos are $3.49 at ulta.com and Ulta stores.  There are four other shades in the line available in the US.  I definitely recommend checking them out.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

