Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara

Standard
Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara

Today I want to tell you about Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara.  A couple years ago, I tried Essence I Love Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara, but wasn’t a fan.  It was clumpy and flaky, and I disliked it so much that it took two years for me to try another Essence Mascara.  I finally decided to give Essence another chance, largely because they are so inexpensive.  I hate spending a lot of money on mascara, and the Lash Princess Volume Mascara is only $4.99.  And, let’s be frank, the adorable packaging won me over.  It also looked like the formula  had potential.  Here is what Essence has to say: “Get the royal treatment! Essence’s Lash Princess Volume Mascara is presented in a fantastic evening gown design and has a unique wand applicator designed for extra control to reach every lash. The prestige inspired cobra brush is specially shaped to lift, separate, and cover each individual lash for the most majestic volume.”  I’ve been using Lash Princess Volume Mascara for about a month now, and (spoiler alert) I love it!

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara Packaging

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara Packaging

Let’s start with the packaging.  The evening gown inspired design with the corset style lacing and bows is simply irresistible.  I honestly could not help myself.  It looks so pretty that I want to leave it out to admire it instead of putting it away in my makeup drawer.  I am a sucker for really cute packaging, and Essence nailed it with this one.  What’s especially great is that the designs on the handle are not just cute, but also functional.  The the coral designs are rubberized, so the handle has an easy, no-slip grip.  It fits comfortably in the hand, and provides good control over application.  The wand has a curved “S” shape that is pretty popular these days.  Take a look.

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara Wand

Here is a close up of the wand brush head.  The wand reminds me a lot of the LORAC Cobra Mascara that was featured in my Monthly Favorites for January.  The bristles on the curvy wand really grab my lashes and give me excellent length.  It even helps curl them up a little.  It does not clump and give me spider lashes, which was the issue with the last Essence mascara I tried.  I don’t know that I would call Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara an extremely volumizing mascara.  It adds volume, but the real star here for me is the added length.

Naked Eye

Naked Eye

Here is a look at my naked eye.  All I have done is curl my lashes (no really, I did).  As you can see, I have short, stubby lashes naturally.  They are very straight, and do not like to hold a curl.  Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara thickens them up a bit, and adds twice the length in only one or two coats.  I had no issues with flaking or smudging.  Everyone has different needs and preferences with mascara, but I think it’s a great formula for me.

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara

I am a fan of Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara, and definitely recommend that you try it for yourself.  Again, it is only $4.99 which is several dollars less than other drugstore brands.  I find Essence at my local Ulta and ulta.com.  I think the formula performs admirably, and is just as good as L’Oreal, CoverGirl, or Maybelline mascaras.  I am really enjoying the new products that I have been trying from Essence, and am impressed with the brand overall.  Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara is a win for me.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. I’ve been curious about this mascara, and now I really want to try it! I actually love the I ❤ Extreme Crazy Volume mascara, but I do agree about the flaking. Have you tried the black gel eyeliner from Essence? It's really good, too!

    • I have not tried the gel liner, though I have heard that it is the bomb. I don’t use gel liners very often, so I just haven’t gotten around to it. I really like the Princess mascara, but we all have such different mascara needs that it is hard to make recommendations. Mascara really is a product where you have to try it for yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

