Monthly Favorites and Fails, March 2015

Standard
March 2015 Monthly Favorites

March 2015 Monthly Favorites

It’s Monthly Favorites time, better late than never.  Thank you for your well-wishes while I was sick.  I was pretty bad off all week with that stomach flu, but I feel much better now.  Almost completely back to normal.  I thought about skipping Favorites for March since it is so late in the month, but I really like Favorites posts.  Besides, I’ve been testing new products that I haven’t gotten a chance to review yet.  I really want to at least mention a couple of them because there are so many drugstore brand sales this week.  So, even though it is almost half way through April, I am going to talk about my favorites from March.

L'Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

My first favorite is one that I haven’t gotten a chance to review yet, but that I have been really liking.  It’s the new L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation.  I am surprised my how much I like this foundation.  I have dry skin, so I was expecting that it would be too dry for me, but it isn’t as long as I use a good primer underneath.  L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte has an extremely lightweight formula.  It does not have a full matte finish, but more of a demi-matte finish that keeps some of the life in your skin which is probably why I can get away with using it.  The foundation lasts all day on me, even long days outside like at Disneyland.  I will do a full review soon, but in the mean time, know that L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation is a keeper.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Another product that I haven’t gotten the chance to review yet is the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara.  Here is the blurb from Maybelline: “Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara is the first patented fanning brush with 10 layers of bristles to reveal a full flourish of lashes. Liquid Ink formula coats from all sides for a sensational full fan effect.”  I love how my lashes look with this mascara.  The “full fan effect” is no joke, and I get great length and volume with Lash Sensational.  This is definitely a mascara worth checking out.

Maybelline Baby Lips in Rose Rush

Maybelline Baby Lips in Rose Rush

It is Springime and I am all over a coral lip.  I keep reaching for my Maybelline Baby Lips in Rose Rush from the Pink’ed collection. For those who haven’t tried Maybelline Baby Lips yet, they are a tinted lip balm.  I find them pretty moisturizing and comfortable on the lips.  They have a lot of shine and generally sheer pigmentation, though some shades do pack more of a punch of color than others.  Rose Rush is a pink toned coral shade that has sheer, but still noticeable pigmentation.  I think that Baby Lips are a great option and I often have one in my purse.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes

I found myself reaching for my Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes all month long.  I have several of them, and I love the formula.  I know that you are all probably familiar with the Amazonian Clay Blushes, so I won’t spend a ton of time on them.  All you really need to know is that they are nicely pigmented and apply very smoothly.  The blushes pictured are in the shades Adventurous and Treasured, which were both Limited Edition, but any of the Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes are worth exploring if you haven’t already done so.  They are a cult favorite for a reason.

Clean Apothecary Olive Oil Brush Shampoo in Lemon Scent

Clean Apothecary Olive Oil Brush Shampoo in Lemon Scent

I am still absolutely loving my Clean Apothecary Olive Oil Brush Shampoo in Lemon Scent.  I did a full review of this brush shampoo as well as the Goat’s Milk variety, so be sure to check it out for more details.  I still can’t get over how well it cleans my brushes and how quickly I can get through all of them.  It cuts through foundation and cream products like nothing else that I have tried.  I have a ton of brushes, and this brush shampoo makes it so much easier to clean them.  I also really like the subtle Lemon scent.  It is very fresh.  Clean Apothecary Brush Shampoo is a little expensive, but I think that for my needs it is absolutely worth the cost.

Pedi Scrub Foot Buffer

Spongeables Pedi-Scrub Foot Buffer

I was without my Spongeables Pedi-Scrub Foot Buffer for a couple months, and now that I have it back I can tell how much I missed it and what a difference it makes.  This is the Revitalizing Citron-Eucalyptus version.  I think that I may prefer the Lavender & Tea Tree Oil a little more, but both scents are very nice.  One side of the Spongeable is soft and gentle, infused with soap and aromatic botanicals to leave feet clean, fresh and sweet smelling.  The other side buffs away dry, rough skin on heels and soles, and exfoliates.  Use the soft side to cleanse and moisturize; flip the sponge over to the scruffy side to exfoliate and massage away aches, pain and tension.  I really like Spongeables, and don’t want to go without again.

B&BW Honeysuckle Wall Flowers

B&BW Honeysuckle Bouquet Wall Flowers

And finally, more of a lifestyle favorite is the Bath & Body Works Wallflower in Honeysuckle Bouquet.  I know that I have talked about how much I love B&BW Wallflowers.  They are so easy to just plug in and get any room smelling great.  I use candles in the living room, but I always have a Wallflower in the bathroom.  Honeysuckle Bouquet is described as “Sweet honeysuckle, pink peony and a touch of creamy vanilla bring spring to any room.”  I love the smell of honeysuckle, and this scent is divine.  I totally recommend picking it up for spring.

And, now onto some Fails for the month.  Sadly, I did have some products that I did not like at all.  Always keep in mind that my reviews are based on my specific experience with these products, and good or bad, you may have different results.  So, just because I give a product a bad review, it doesn’t necessarily mean that it is a bad product.  It just means that it did not work for me.

Physicians Formula Argan Wear Renew BB Cream

Physicians Formula Argan Wear Renew BB Cream

My first fail of the month is the Physicians Formula Argan Wear Renew BB Cream.  I was so excited to try this out, and was extremely disappointed by its performance.  It is supposed to be “a luxurious, high performance formula that will even out your skin tone, vanishing flaws and imperfections and smoothing skin texture without ever leaving a greasy feel or finish.”  I tried so hard to make this product work for me.  I applied it with brushes, my fingers, a sponge, with and without primer.  No matter what I did, the BB Cream looked streaky and patchy on my skin.  I think there is too much oil in the formula, and that’s coming from someone with dry skin.  It sank into my pores, emphasized every flaw, and made my skin look terrible.  I was really surprised because I know a lot of people love Physicians Formula face products like this, but I hated the formula.  Also, people who are sensitive to smell will have a hard time using this product because the argan oil is kind of stinky.  All in all it was a big fail for me.

Born Pretty Water Decal Nail Wraps Set

Born Pretty Water Decal Nail Wraps Set

My other fail for the month was this Born Pretty Water Decal Nail Wraps Set.  This is the first product from the Born Pretty Store that has not worked at all for me.  The set includes five cute plaid patterns of full nail wraps that are water decals.  My main issue with these is that they were so big that they were completely unruly.  I had to cut them down a lot to fit my nails, and then when I tried to apply them, they kept folding up and creasing.  Every time I would try to smooth them out they would slip and slide around my nail because water decals are like that until they dry.  It was a very long and frustrating process which yielded very poor results.  I think the patterns are super cute, but they were not worth the hassle.

And that wraps up my Favorites and Fails for March.  I am sorry that this post was so late but like I said, I felt like I was dying last week, so it is better late than never.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.  I will try to get the full reviews of the new 2015 products up as soon as I can, though I probably won’t review the crappy BB Cream.  I’ll just say that it sucked and leave it at that.  But definitely a review for the L’Oreal Foundation and the Maybelline mascara will be coming down the pike.  What did you think of my Favorites and Fails?  Have you had any experience with these products?  Do you disagree with my opinions?  Let’s talk about it in the comments below.  Thanks again for all of your well wishes while I was sick.  I appreciate it, and I am so happy to be feeling better.

Leave a Reply

