L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

Standard
L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

Today I want to show you the new L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation.  I mentioned this foundation in my latest Monthly Favorites post so you know that I like it, but now I want to give you the details.  L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte was released for Spring 2015.  Here is what L’Oreal has to say about the new foundation: “L’Oreal  presents Infallible Pro-Matte 24HR Foundation, air-light texture with a demi-matte finish. For the 1st time, a super gliding mattifying formula with a high water content for maximum comfort that lasts. Contains Shine Defy Blotting Spheres that act like blotting paper to mimic makeup artist gesture, instantly absorbing sweat and oil without disturbing color pigments. Medium coverage.

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

Let’s start with the packaging.  L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation comes in a squeeze tube which makes for an easy, controlled application.  For those who feel hinky about buying drugstore products, there is a safety seal on the tube to keep people from tampering with the product.  Although you can see the product through the tube, it is still very hard to get an accurate idea of what the shade will actually look like on the skin.  There is 1 fl oz of product in this tube.  I know a lot of you prefer glass jars with a pump, but I don’t mind the squeeze tube.  It’s pretty thin and easy to store.

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation is not actually matte.  It has a demi-matte finish that is quite flattering.  True mattes can tend to suck the life out of your skin, and that is definitely not the case here.  Pro matte has solid medium coverage.  I do need to go back in with a second layer over my very red cheeks as I do with any foundation, but otherwise the coverage is decent in just one layer.  It is a pretty lightweight foundation, and sinks into my skin nicely.  I have dry skin and large pores, so I always wear a good primer and recommend that you do the same.  With use of a primer, I have no issues with Pro Matte clinging to dry areas, sinking into pores, or flaking on me at all.  I have not tested the 24 hr claim (please don’t wear your makeup for 24 hours) but I can tell you that it has lasted very well for 10+ hours on me, including having to survive dancing, sweating, and being out of doors in the So Cal heat. The only issue that I had with Pro Matte is that it dries very quickly, so you need to be speedy during application so it doesn’t dry down before you finish blending.  My preferred blending method is with a flat top kabuki like the Sigma F-80 and I don’t have any trouble now that I am used to the formula.  The foundation is fragrance-free and I did not notice any discernible scent.

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation shades 101 (L) and 103 (R)

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation shades 101 (L) and 103 (R)

There are 12 shades in the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation line.  I have shades 101 Classic Ivory (pictured on the left hand side of the swatch) and 103 Natural Buff (pictured on the right).  Shade 101 is definitely too light for my NC20 skin.  Shade 103 looks a little dark, but when blended out it’s not a bad match.  It will definitely work well as we head into the warmer months and I pick up some color.  Slade 102 Shell Beige would probably have been a better skin tone match, but it leans pink and I need a yellow undertone to cancel out my rosacea redness.  Mixing 101 and 103 is also an option, but frankly, I am too lazy to do so.  As I mentioned earlier, shade selection is tough because, even though you can see through the tube, many the shades look the same and it is hard to see what you are actually getting.  Definitely keep your receipt to exchange for a different shade if you need to.

All in all, I really like L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation.  It does have some quirks like the quick dry down time, and the hard-to-match shade selection.  I happen to really like the formula, and the beautiful finish it gives me.  You do not have to set it with powder, though you certainly can.  Again, I strongly recommend using a primer underneath if you have dry skin to prevent any clinging.  This would be a great formula for those with oily skin.  I know that it has gotten some mixed reviews, but I would say that L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation is worth trying out to see if it is right for you.  It is a winner in my book.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Would you say that the 101 shade leans a little pink? It looks like it from your photo, but sometimes it can be hard to tell from a picture. I’ve been curious to try this foundation, but I haven’t known which shade to get. I do tend to look for pink-leaning shades, so maybe the 101 would work for me…? (I’m insanely pale! LOL) I’d love to know your thoughts. It sounds like a great formula that’d be worth trying out!

  2. Thanks for this very thoughtful and helpful review. You’re very thorough and I always learn so much from you. I’d rather go by your review of a product than by all the marketing hype and airbrushed photos. You keep it real, break it down, assess fairly, and also offer perspective, tips, and insight for other people’s needs which may differ from yours. I appreciate that very much. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

