Sleek Makeup Haul

Standard
Sleek Makeup Haul

Sleek Makeup Haul

I am back from vacation, and I have a haul to show you today.  Before I left I placed an order with Sleek Makeup because they were offering a sale and free shipping to the US.  If you are not familiar with Sleek, they are a popular UK brand that is known for good quality at low prices.  They kind of remind me of NYX Cosmetics here in the States.  Sleek just released some new Eye & Cheek Palettes that looked great to me, so I wanted to check them out.  I also still hadn’t gotten my hands on the Garden of Eden Palette from last Spring and I felt that the time had finally come.  I took photos and swatched everything that I got, but I haven’t used anything yet, so this isn’t an actual review.  I have used Sleek eyeshadows and blushes in the past and like them a lot, so I knew what I was getting into.  But enough jabber, let’s take a look.

Sleek I-Divine Eyeshadow Platte in Garden of Eden

Sleek I-Divine Eyeshadow Palette in Garden of Eden

This is the Sleek I-Divine Eyeshadow Palette in Garden of Eden.  For those of you who haven’t seen the Sleek I-Divine Eyeshadow Palettes before, they all contain twelve shades, and the palette has a full mirror.  There is a long dual-ended sponge tip applicator included as well.  There are currently thirteen I-Divine Eyeshadow Palettes available on Sleek’s website, but only some of them are available to be shipped to the US.  I am not totally sure why, because some of the palettes that have been able to ship to the US in the past are no longer able.  There are different rules as far as what pigments are acceptable in Europe than there are in the US, and I know that is part of the issue, especially with the neon shades.  Just be sure that, if you live in the US, you pay attention to what palettes can be shipped to you, and which ones can’t.

Sleek Garden of Eden Palette

Sleek Garden of Eden Palette

The Garden of Eden Palette is full of greens, browns, and taupes.  This palette was made for me.  Here is what Sleek has to say: “Enhance what mother nature gave you with the striking, beautiful colours of our new Garden of Eden i-Divine eyeshadow palette. An earthy, nature inspired palette that echoes the hues of a stunning tropical jungle with ultra-wearable earthy browns, dusky purples and organic greens.”  There are seven high shimmer shades, two shades with a matte base with microglitter inclusions, and three true matte shades.  The taupe shades all have a lavender undertone to them.  I have swatched all twelve shades below.  To swatch them, I split the palette in the middle, with the six left hand shades in the first swatch and the six right hand shades in the second swatch.

Sleek Garden of Eden Palette Left side

Sleek Garden of Eden Palette Left side

The shades in this swatch are Gates of Eden, Eve’s Kiss, and Paradise on Earth on the top.  Then there are Entwined, Adam’s Apple, and Fig on the bottom.  This is on bare skin with no primer.  Adam’s Apple is a matte shade, and Entwined is a matte base with some glitter.  The left side of the palette seems to contain all of the lighter shades.  They all swatched well with the exception of Adam’s Apple.  That shade doesn’t seem as pigmented as the others, and will need a base to show up well.

Sleek Garden of Eden Palette Right side

Sleek Garden of Eden Palette Right side

The right side of the palette contains Python, Forbidden, and Flora on the top.  On the bottom the shades are Evergreen, Fauna, and Tree of Life.   Forbidden is mostly matte, with less glitter than Entwined contained.  Flora and Tree of Life are both completely matte.  Again, all of these shades swatched well with the exception of Tree of Life.  It swatched unevenly.  It is absolutely still workable, but you will have to fiddle with it a little.  Sleek does a much better job on the skimmer shades than the matte shades.  Overall, though, I am pleased with the Garden of Eden Palette and can’t wait to use it.

New Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette

New Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette

Now on to the brand new Sleek Eye & Cheek Palettes.  The palettes come with four eyeshadows and two blushes, though some of the blushes would also make great eye shades.  There is a full size mirror in the palette, and they come with a small dual-ended sponge tip applicator and a small blush brush.  The eyeshadows are a decent size, and I will have no issue getting my brushes in there.  The blush wells could be a tad bigger in my opinion, but I have dealt with smaller.  I like to use a large duo fiber brush for my blush, which may be a little big for this palette but a smaller blush brush would work perfectly.  I purchased three of the new Eye & Cheek Palettes

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in Dancing Til Dusk

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in Dancing Til Dusk

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in Dancing Til Dusk

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in Dancing Til Dusk

First up is the Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in Dancing Til Dusk.  According to Sleek, “Dancing Til Dusk includes velvety browns and shimmering fawns from our Au Naturel i-Divine palette. With radiant Blush shades Mirrored Pink, an iridescent soft pink and Sahara, a matte, dark coral, for a sophisticated finish.”  This is a warm neutral palette that would work for most people.  There are two matte shadows and two shimmer shades.  While the shimmery pink blush isn’t my favorite part of the palette, that gorgeous orangey-coral blush is what pushed me over the edge to buy Dancing Til Dusk.  Both blushes have a ton of pigmentation.  Dancing Til Dusk is an easy, everyday palette that looks to be very useful and travel friendly.

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in See You at Midnight

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in See You at Midnight

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in See You at Midnight

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in See You at Midnight

On the complete opposite end of the spectrum is the Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in See You at Midnight.  Here is what Sleek says: “See You at Midnight combines deep blue and pearlescent purple eyeshadows from our Romance i-Divine Palette. Along with Blush in Pomegranate, a golden berry hue and Antique a shimmery dusky rose, for a captivating look.”  I have been wanting to get more into purple and berry eyeshadows, and this palette caught my eye.  I think that See You at Midnight will be pretty versatile.  There is obviously great potential to create crazy colorful looks with the blue, purple, and Pomegranate shades (I doubt I’d use Pomegranate as a blush, but it will be a sweet eyeshadow).  But you could also create a more classic look with the gold and eggplant shades paired with that neutral blush.  I am going to have a lot of fun playing with See You at Midnight, but I do not think that it is a stand-alone palette like the other two are.

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer's Dream

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer’s Dream

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer's Dream

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer’s Dream

The final Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette that I purchased is in A Midsummer’s Dream.  According to Sleek: “A Midsummer’s Dream is the perfect palette for hazy summer nights and features Marsala the pantone colour of 2015, in a stunning shimmery eyeshadow. Along with muted tones of grey, earthy brown, white and copper, the two beautiful coral blush shades add a bronzed highlight to the skin.”  This palette is much cooler in tone than Dancing Til Dusk.  Also, the matte coral blush is much less orange here than in Dancing Til Dusk.  I am in love with both blush shades.  I think the shadows are going to create some really beautiful looks, not just for Summer, but also throughout the Fall.  If your skintone can handle cooler-toned shades, A Midsummer’s Dream looks to be an excellent option.

And that concludes my Sleek Makeup Haul.  I can not wait to dig into these palettes and start creating looks.  If you are in the UK, I think that you can find Sleek at Boots.  The rest of us need to go to their website, sleekmakeup.com.  Sleek has some great prices.  The I-Divine palettes are only $11.99 and the new Eye & Cheek Palettes are $14.99.  As I mentioned before, this order had free shipping to the US, but if I remember correctly, shipping wasn’t too bad.  I have enjoyed the other palettes that I have from Sleek, and definitely think that they are worth checking out.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites, June 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Monthly Favorites and Fails for August 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

