Beauty Quickie: L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

Standard

BeautyQuickiegreen

I have a Beauty Quickie for you today.  Let’s talk about the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray.  For those who haven’t seen my Beauty Quickies before, they are shorter product reviews that I usually do.  It’s kind of a down and dirty look at the product.  The setting sprays that I enjoy the most are the Urban Decay All Nighter and NYX Dewy Finish Makeup Setting Spray.  They both perform very well.  I was really curious to see how L’Oreal’s version stands up, especially with a $16 price tag, a bit much for the drugstore.

L'Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

Here is the blurb from L’Oreal: “Keep your makeup looking fresh hours after application: no melting, fading or touch-ups necessary. This lightweight, oil free setting spray locks in your total makeup look, Face, Eyes, and Lips, preventing color from smudging or settling into fine lines for all-day staying power.”  I have dry skin, so I usually don’t have too many issues with fading throughout the day.  My main reason for using a setting spray is to get rid of that powdery look when I am finished with my makeup.  But I did put Infallible Pro-Spray & Set to the test on long days in warm weather.  I tried it over several foundations, and to be honest, I didn’t see much of a difference in how my makeup wore.  I tried to give Infallible Pro-Spray & Set the benefit of the doubt, but it just didn’t seem to do anything.

L'Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

In addition to the lackluster performance, I have two major complaints with Infallible Pro-Spray & Set.  The first is that the spray comes out a little too hard for my taste.  I use the recommended T and X motion to evenly distribute the mist, but it sprays too much.  My face ends up feeling too wet and a little sticky.  The other major complaint that I have for the Infallible Pro-Spray & Set is its horrible smell.  My husband says that it smells like glue.  I think it smells like cheap generic lotion from the 80’s.  It’s sort of a powdery, chemical, perfumy smell.  It is so gross, and not something I want on my face (or anywhere else).  L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray has gotten some great reviews online, but for me it is a total dud.  Save your $16, and put it towards the $30 Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray, or even better, spend $7.99 on the NYX Dewy Finish Makeup Setting Spray and get some Starbucks with the rest.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

10 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for this honest review. I have dry skin, too, and I sure don’t need this. Fragrance is also very VERY big on my list. If it doesn’t smell good, fresh, or neutral/no fragrance, I don’t want it.
    I’m actually looking for a setting spray to help do away with the powdery look, too. But I’d love it to go a step further, and have a dewier finish, if that makes sense.I wonder if there is such a setting spray?
    Do your favorites just reduce the powdery look, or do either of them actually add any glow or dewy finish? I’m not looking to sparkle, just to not look so dry.
    Thank you again for this honest and helpful review.
    Sherry Lee

    • I would definitely check out NYX Dewy Finish Makeup Setting Spray. It works really well without mattifying so it’s good for dry skin. It is also very inexpensive, so you don’t have to invest a lot in a product that you aren’t going to use all the time. And no unicorns were damaged in the making of this spray. 🙂

      • Thank you for your reply. You’re very helpful and witty, too. I llaughed at the unicorn reference!
        My young friend has a tee shirt that says: “Always be yourself. Unless you can be a unicorn. In which case, be a unicorn.”
        I’m going for the NYX Dewy finish one.
        Thank you again. I enjoy learning from you.

  2. Excuse me, I didn’t read closely enough.
    Does the NYX “Dewy” finish spray really impart a dewy finish?
    I think it must be a myth, kind of like a unicorn. 🙂

  3. I had been curious about this spray, but haven’t wanted to shell out the $16 to buy it. Now I’m glad I didn’t! I prefer the Urban Decay and NYX setting sprays you mentioned. I also kind of like the Elf one, but I think it also has the issue of the spray being too strong/damp/it soaks my face. Thanks for the review; I will be skipping this product! 🙂

  4. I’m wondering if you got a bad bottle… Mine has no smell at all! I received it in the Target box which was a great deal because I wouldn’t shell out $16 for it. But, if NYX has one you like better and it’s cheaper, I’d say go for that one!

    • That’s interesting. Maybe I did get a bad one. Even without the smell, though, I wasn’t a fan of the sprayer so I still don’t recommend it. I am glad that it is working for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

