Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup

Standard
Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup

Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup

Today I would like to review Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup, as requested by my sister.  I’ve been interested in this foundation since it came out about a year ago, but hadn’t gotten around to trying it until now.  Here is what Revlon says about the product: “Inspired by the latest advances in anti-aging, this all-in-one formula combines Hyaluronic acid, our Exclusive Triple Lift Complex, and moisturizing ingredients. Relax the look of expression lines, smooth skin, and boost hydration 3X for a rejuvenated look.”  Let’s take a closer look.

Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup

Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup

Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup comes in a glass bottle and is 1 fl oz of product.  It has a pump style applicator, which is my personal preference.  As far as the formula is concerned, I am of two minds.  On one hand, the formula has some major problems, but under certain circumstances I do actually really like the look of Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup.  In general, though, it may be more trouble than it’s worth.  Although Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup is targeted toward aging skin, the formula does not handle skin imperfection well at all.  I am specifically talking about textural issues.  If you have smooth, evenly textured skin then you should have no problem getting a lovely smooth finish with Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup.  However, if you have large pores, fine lines, acne scars, bumps or divots then you will want to stay away.  When I was in NC last month, I had an allergic reaction that caused me to break out into tiny bumps all over the lower part of my face and my neck.  They weren’t red or very big, so they weren’t too terribly noticeable unless you were up close.  That is, until I put on Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup and suddenly it looked like I had a neon sign to proclaim my problem skin to the world.  It looked horrible.  I had to wash it off and apply  a different foundation instead.  (L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte, incidentally, and it looked wonderful.)  A really good pore filling primer can help, but Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup definitely emphasizes problems with skin texture.  As far as coverage is concerned, Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup is light/medium coverage.  There is definitely some decent coverage with one layer of foundation, which is good because Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup does not build very well at all.  Most of you know by now that I have mild rosacea, so redness is a big issue for me (though I’m getting better, yay).  I usually use two layers of any foundation, unless it is a thick full-coverage foundation.  I tried that with Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup and found that it cakes up very quickly.  It tries to stick to the previous layer, so instead of blending out it turns a bit patchy.

I know what you are thinking.  Why, if Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup has such a problematic formula, did I say that I am of two minds?  The thing is that on a good skin day with even texture and not a lot of redness, Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup looks beautiful on the skin.  One layer of the foundation looks very natural.  It evens out my skin tone, while still allowing freckles to show through.  It doesn’t dry my skin out, and lasts a surprisingly long time for this kind of foundation.  The finish isn’t too dewy or too mate.  It works really well on me for a lighter makeup day.  So, although there are a lot of issues with the formula, there is some good mixed in there as well.

Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup in Bare Buff and Tender Beige

Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup in Bare Buff and Tender Beige

There are 12 shades in the Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup range.  I am usually the 2nd or 3rd shade in a range, so I tried them both.  Pictured above, I have shade 10 Bare Buff on the left, and shade 20 Tender Beige on the right.  Bare Buff was too light for me and made me look ghostly pale, so if you have NC20 skin, Tender Beige may be a better choice for you.  It also has a bit more yellow in it, which I prefer.  I have seen Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup priced as high as $15.49 at Walgreens and CVS.  It retails for less at places like Target, Walmart and drugstore.com.  I’m just going to put it out there, don’t pay $15+ for a drugstore foundation.  It is a ridiculous price, and Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup is absolutely not worth it.  I haven’t seen any anti-aging benefits since I began using it.  At the end of the day, if you combine the high price tag and the problematic formula, Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup is a dud.  I can’t recommend it.  That being said, there are some circumstances where Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup is nice.  If you have really good skin anyway, and like a comfortable formula with decent coverage, you may like Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup.  I am going to keep Revlon Age Defying Firming+Lifting Makeup in my collection for those good skin days, but it probably won’t be in my regular rotation.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

7 responses »

  1. Sounds like this is one foundation I can skip! I have some large pores, so this definitely won’t work for me. But OMG, I’m loving the L’Oreal Pro Matte. It wears so well, even in the horrible hot, muggy weather we’ve been having here.

    • Hello, Caroline.
      May I ask, do you feel it smoothes your pores? And do you use a primer with it? If so, which primer.
      I’m becoming a bit desperate as you can see from reading my comments.
      Thank you for your time.
      Sherry Lee

      • I feel like the L’Oreal Pro Matte does a pretty good job of masking my pores, and more importantly, it doesn’t seem to really sink into them throughout the day (which is an issue I have with a lot of foundations). I do use a primer; lately I’ve been using the Smashbox Photo Finish, which seems to work well with it, but I think any silicone-based primer would probably work. Hope that helps!

  2. Thanks so much for your thorough and candid review. I’ve been tempted by this one, but I’m age 54, and I don’t have good texture days anymore.
    I’m searching for a foundation for normal to dry skin that won’t make my lines and pores look worse! I’ve almost decided to skip foundation all together as my skin looks better with just primer and concealer than the foundations I’ve tried.
    I don’t have a lot of discoloration or uneven tone. I just need a bit of coverage to cancel out a hint of pinkness (not even redness). I feel like a good BB or CC cream would do.
    My main problem IS textural issues, and I want a foundation that is smoothing and that lasts thru an 8 hour work day. I don’t think that should be too much to ask for, but apparently it is.
    You mentioned the loreal infallible matte. Do you feel it would accentuate dry skin and textural issues like pores and lines? Ive been hearing good things about it. Or have you any suggestions?
    Thank you again. I always enjoy your reviews so much.

    • L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte is a great foundation, but it may be more than you are really looking for and possibly too dry for you. I think that Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation is a very good drugstore option. It seems to work equally well for both dry and oily skin. Cover Girl recently launched a new Outlast Stay Luminous foundation, but I have not had the chance to try it yet since it literally just came out. I don’t personally have a recommendation for a BB or CC cream because I generally don’t like them and need more coverage. Sorry that I can’t be more help there. You may also want to try Revlon Nearly Naked if you want a lightweight, minimal coverage foundation. I hope that helps.

      • Thanks so much for your thoughtful reply. I’ll look into the cover girl and the Revlon. Hope u have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

