ColourPop Supershock Blush Review and Swatches

Standard
ColourPop Supershock Blush

ColourPop Supershock Blush

A few weeks ago I posted a ColourPop haul and now I feel like I have had enough time to review the ColourPop Supershock Blushes that I ordered.  I still need some more time with the shadows, but I am solid with my opinion of the blushes.  I ordered three shades, two mattes and one satin finish, and based on these three blushes I can say that the ColourPop Supershock Blushes are great.  I think that they are absolutely lovely, and they perform really well on my skin.  I should say upfront that ColourPop is not available in stores, and you can only get ColourPop by ordering online at colourpop.com.  Let’s take a closer look.

ColourPop Supershock Blush

ColourPop Supershock Blush

ColourPop Supershock Blushes have a rather unique cream to powder formula.  I don’t want to compare them to Maybelline Bouncy Blushes, because in my mind there is no comparison, but they do have that smushy clay-like quality to them.  They are all stamped with a quilted pattern that disappears as soon as you use them.  They come in white plastic jars with a screw top lid.  I am not a fan of the packaging, which looks cheap to me, but it is functional.  Be sure to keep that lid screwed on tight because the product will dry out eventually.  Keeping a tight lid on them will help to extend their life to about a year or so.  The ColourPop Supershock Blushes are 4.2 g (twice the size of the eyeshadows) and retail for $8 each.

As far as the formula is concerned, I really like the ColourPop Supershock Blushes. I thought that they apply smoothly and easily, with great pigmentation.  ColourPop recommends using your fingers for bold full color coverage, and a brush for a more sheer application.  Personally I like to use my e.l.f. Studio Small Stipple Brush for any cream cheek product, and the ColourPop Supershock Blushes are no exception.  I stipple the product on first, and then give it a few circular blending motions for a smooth application.  They apply equally well over cream or powder products, and they don’t disturb the foundation or face powder I have underneath.  I haven’t had any issues with fading throughout the day.  On the contrary, once set the ColourPop Supershock Blushes stay put and don’t budge.  Speaking of setting, you do want to apply the blushes in a timely manner.  They don’t set so quickly that you are racing the clock, but you don’t want to take too long either or you will have more difficulty blending them out.  The ColourPop Supershock Blushes are very pigmented, but you should note that the color of the blush is not true to pan unless you really build it up.  From the swatches that I have seen online and with the three blushes that I purchased, the color in the pan is much darker than they apply.  You can build the color up quite easily if you want a dramatic cheek, but if you have fair or light skin, don’t get scared.  You can still wear many of the blushes.  Be sure to look at as many swatches as you can online before you buy so that you know what you are getting into.  Now let’s look at the three shades that I got: Between the Sheets, Bonus, and Quarters.

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Between the Sheets

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Between the Sheets

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Between the Sheets (Matte finish): ColourPop describes Between the Sheets as “A mid-tone beige pink in a matte finish, be a lady in the streets or a freak in the sheets.”  Between the Sheets is a neutral, muted nude-pink.  It’s not too warm, not too cool, and perfect for a wide range of skin tones.  It may look a little dark in the pan, but it is actually a lovely shade for fair skin.  Between the Sheets is a gorgeous everyday shade.

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Bonus

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Bonus

ColourPop Supershock Bonus (Matte finish): ColourPop describes Bonus as “A mid-tone true peach in a matte finish – wham bam thank you ma’am BONUS!”  Bonus is a beautiful warm peach with orange undertones.  It is kind of the spunky younger sister to Quarters, which I will get to in a minute.  Applied lightly, Bonus is sweet and fun, but you can build up the color for a bright, bold look.  It is the perfect shade for this time of year.  (Please excuse the gouge mark.  I dropped Bonus as soon as I opened it and my thumb nail took a chunk out when I tried to catch it. sigh)

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Quarters

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Quarters

ColourPop Supershock Blush in Quarters (Satin finish): ColourPop describes Quarters as “A Mid tone dusty coral in a satin finish – in remembrance of the OG drinking game.”  To me, Quarters is more of a burnt peach shade.  It has a very subtle satin sheen, but it may be more appropriate to call it demi-matte than actually satin.  It has warm tones, and although it may be a little dark for fair skin, it will look gorgeous on light-medium skin and darker.  I love Quarters, and definitely recommend this shade.

ColourPop Supershock Blush (L-R) Between the Sheets, Bonus, Quarters

ColourPop Supershock Blush (L-R) Between the Sheets, Bonus, Quarters

Here is a swatch of all three shades, from left to right Between the Sheets, Bonus, and Quarters.  This is one swipe of each.  See what I mean about them applying lighter than what is in the pan?  Again, you can definitely build up the color with a second pass, but they are pretty well pigmented without building.  I know that there is a ton of hype surrounding ColourPop, and you may be wondering if it is deserved.  I honestly don’t know the answer to that question, but I can say that I am a big fan of these ColourPop Supershock Blushes, and can’t wait to order more.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. I really like the ColourPop blushes. I only have two shades (Thumper and Olive), but this post is making me want to get some more! I also recently got one of their new highlighters in Hippo, and it’s also great. It’s just totally different from anything else I have in my collection. I’d highly recommend that one if you decide to place another ColourPop order. 🙂

    • I really enjoyed them. I definitely want to get more, but I am hesitant to buy too many because I know that they will eventually dry out. It’s tough, though, to resist. I have heard that Hippo is beautiful. I am not a big highlighter fan, so I didn’t get any this time around, but I do appreciate unusual shades. I just want to get all the things! Haha! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monthly Favorites, June 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  3. Pingback: Colourpop Super Shock Shadows Review and Swatches | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

