Have You Seen This? e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette

Standard
e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette

e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette

Earlier this month, I showed you a ton of new products from e.l.f. for their Summer/Fall 2015 line.  They have released several new palettes, that have created quite a buzz, especially with the e.l.f. Studio Contour Palette.  Well, e.l.f. just added another new face palette to the line up, the e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette.  According to e.l.f., “This beautiful ambient palette holds 4 gorgeous complimentary shades to mix and match for a custom blended radiance that captures, diffuses, and softens the way light reflects on the skin. The soft-focus powders are great for highlighting around the eyes and on cheekbones to enhance the skin with a luminous effect. Perfect for all skin tones.”  I don’t think that there is any doubt that this is being marketed as a dupe for the extremely popular Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette features three of the Ambient Lighting Powders in one palette.  Here is the blurb from Sephora, if you aren’t already familiar with them: “Ambient Lighting Powder is a groundbreaking collection of finishing powders that capture, diffuse, and soften the way light reflects on skin. Unlike traditional powders, which merely cloak imperfections, Ambient Lighting Powder utilizes photoluminescent technology to filter out harsh light and refine the appearance of the complexion. The powders deliver a multidimensional luminescence to every skintone, making it appear softer and lit from within. The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography. With three universal shades available in the Ambient palette, you can create any desired effect.

e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette

e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette

Sound familiar?  I can not wait to see the reviews come out for the e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette.  I really appreciate the effort to try to dupe such a popular high-end product.  The Hourglass palette retails at $58.00 for 0.35 oz. of product.  E.l.f.’s version, if it is consistent with other similar palettes, retails for $6 and you get .56 oz. of product.  Here’s the thing though, I own one of the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders (not the palette), so I know how high quality they are.  There is a reason why the powders and the palette are so popular, despite the high price tag.  I have never seen e.l.f. put anything out that is even remotely so finely milled and smooth as those powders.  The e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette may be a fantastic palette of highlighting and finishing powders, but I can not see it ever being a true dupe for the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette.  That being said though, I still can not wait to see what e.l.f. has come up with.

You can find the e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette at eyeslipsface.com and it is currently listed as limited edition.  The palette is not in stock yet, but hopefully it will be available soon.  Please keep in mind, as previously discussed, e.l.f. has chosen for some ridiculous reason to exclude all new items from their sales and promotions.  So, you will be paying full price on any product under the “What’s New” category.  What do you think of the e.l.f. Studio Ambient Palette?  Have you tried the Hourglass powders?  Are you excited about this possible dupe, or are you assuming that e.l.f. can’t possibly reach such high quality?  Let’s discuss in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

14 responses »

  1. IMO, to qualify as a dupe, a product’s ingredients/formula must closely match the ingredients/formula of the product you’re trying to dupe – especially the first four or five ingredients (because those are the ingredients in a product in the greatest quantity in its formula).

    Unfortunately, this E.L.F. palette fails that test. The first five ingredients in the Hourglass Ambient Palette are:

    Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate

    The first five ingredients in the E.L.F. palette are:

    Talc, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Silica

    The talc in the E.L.F. palette (completely absent in the Hourglass) is the ingredient which makes up the highest percentage of all the ingredients in the formula. It’s being used here as a base and to extend the product. I suspect the talc is going to make the E.L.F. product look “powdery” on the skin, which the Hourglass product does not (which is why the finish of the Hourglass is so luminous).

    To my untrained eye, and just by comparing the ingredients lists, it doesn’t look like the E.L.F. product will even come close in performance to the Hourglass.

    I should mention I have found dupes to other high-end products in both E.L.F. and other low-cost and mid-price brands that perform just as well as their higher-end counterparts. I just don’t think this is one of them!

  2. It’s hard to imagine that this product will be a true dupe, but the shades are really beautiful. I’d be tempted to check it out as a bronzy-highlighty (totally a word) palette, myself. As with the contour palette, though, it looks as though it would work for light to light-medium skin tones, but I doubt it would work for others. “Works for all skin tones”… Right.

    • I am definitely tempted just out of pure curiosity. The thing about the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders is that they aren’t highlighters per se. They are finishing powders that give your skin a radiance or luminosity that looks completely natural and healthy. They don’t look like makeup. They look like happy healthy skin. It’s hard to explain, but they are really beautiful. But you are right, e.l.f.’s palette may be a great set of subtle highlighters.

  3. I had NOT seen this yet – very interesting! I’ll probably be a sucker and buy this just out of curiosity. I have the Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette, and I think I’m the only person in the world who’s not in love with it. Haha maybe I’ll end up liking the e.l.f. version better!

    • I’m curious, what is it about the Hourglass palette that you don’t like? I only have one of the powders because they are so pricey, so I don’t have any experience with the palette. Is the formula the same, or are they different? I can’t wait to see swatches and reviews of this palette. I am really curious to see what e.l.f. came up with.

      • I just now saw this comment! I guess I don’t like the Hourglass palette because I just don’t feel like it does much. No matter how I use it, I swear my skin looks the same afterward as it did before I applied any of the powders. For what it cost, I was expecting it to be life-changing! LOL

        Also, I’ve been keeping an eye on the e.l.f. site ever since you posted this, and their Ambient palette had been listed as out of stock, but today it’s just disappeared! They seem to have taken it off the site altogether. Too bad – I really wanted to try it!

        • That is so weird! I wonder why it’s gone. I also really wanted to try it, and I think it’s really strange that e.l.f. would release a product in such limited quantities that only a handful of people could get it. s far as Hourglass, I can see what you mean. Based on what everyone says about these powders, you’d think they were literally magic. I really like Diffused Light, but I had a gift card so I wasn’t spending all my own money on it. They are so expensive it is a tough choice to get them or not.

          • I almost wonder if maybe e.l.f. had some sort of legal imbroglio with Hourglass, and they were given like a cease-and-desist order or something. A lot of their products mimic higher end ones, but that one seemed to be especially copycat-ish!

            And for what it’s worth, I did at least get my Hourglass palette during the Sephora 15% off sale, so I didn’t pay full price for it. But it was still expensive, and I really wanted to love it! I should pull it back out and see if it maybe strikes my fancy. Right now it’s just collecting dust!

  4. Pingback: e.l.f. Illuminating Palette Review and Swatches | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

