Monthly Favorites, June 2015

Standard
June 2015 Favorites

June 2015 Favorites

It’s Monthly Favorites time!  I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy reading Favorites posts and watching Favorites videos on Youtube.  For anyone new to the blog, Monthly Favorites are those products that particularly stood out to me, and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  I’ve got some lifestyle favorites to include this month in addition to the usual beauty favorites, so let’s gt started.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation

Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation

My first favorite was a bit of a surprise.  This is the Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation in the shade Fair-Light Neutral.  The foundation came in a Tarte kit that I purchased in May.  I don’t usually use powder foundation.  I feel like I need more coverage than most powder foundations give because of my rosacea redness.  But, since I had it already, I figured that I’d give it a try.  I am so glad that I did.  The Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation lives up to its name.  It has great coverage, and I can actually wear it alone (over primer) and be totally comfortable with how well it conceals my redness.  It is very finely milled, and gives my skin a slightly soft focused look.  It doesn’t dry me out at all.  This is a pretty heavy swatch so that it could show up on camera.  Obviously you wouldn’t apply the powder this thickly, but you can see how opaque it is.  I am not a connoisseur of powder foundation, so I am going to share what Tarte has to say: “It’s like airbrushing without the air! Powered by Amazonian clay and infused with natural, light-reflecting gemstones, this unique waterproof foundation gives skin rich dimension while invigorating the complexion for a youthful-looking appearance. The full coverage, weightless powder formula is offered in a range of skin-matching shades and lasts for 12 hours. Using the unique, custom mesh delivery system, simply pick up and buff on just the right amount of moisture-rich powder for a flawless airbrushed effect while allowing skin to breathe.”  I still prefer liquid foundation as my go-to, but have been enjoying the Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation so much more than I thought that I would.  I really like it a lot, and if you are in the market for a powder foundation, you may want to give Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation a try.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light

Next up is the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light.  I mentioned in my previous post that I had one of the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders.  If you missed it, here is the description of the powders: “Ambient Lighting Powder is a groundbreaking collection of finishing powders that capture, diffuse, and soften the way light reflects on skin. Unlike traditional powders, which merely cloak imperfections, Ambient Lighting Powder utilizes photoluminescent technology to filter out harsh light and refine the appearance of the complexion. The powders deliver a multidimensional luminescence to every skintone, making it appear softer and lit from within. The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography. With three universal shades available in the Ambient palette, you can create any desired effect.”  I have had this powder for a while now, but I use it very sparingly.  Even though I love how it looks, it is so expensive that I don’t want to use it up.  Lately, however, I decided that I was being a bit stupid taking this Fine China approach to it.  Why have it if I’m not going to use it, y’know?  So I have been using it a lot more, and am really enjoying it.  I have the shades Diffused Light, which is described as “A soft, warm, pale yellow powder that conceals redness and gives skin clarity—like a soft ray of morning light.”  The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders are pricey, but they are beautiful.

ColourPop Supershock Blushes

ColourPop Supershock Blushes

Anyone who read my review of the ColourPop Supershock Blushes shouldn’t be surprised to find them here in my Favorites post.  They are pigmented.  They apply smoothly and evenly.  They are really beautiful, and they are reasonably priced.  You should definitely check out my review to see swatches of theses shades and to get more details about the formula.  All in all, though, ColourPop Supershock Blushes are the bomb.

Milani Rose Powder Blush in Romantic Rose

Milani Rose Powder Blush in Romantic Rose

When I wasn’t using ColourPop, I’ve been using the Milani Rose Powder Blush in Romantic Rose.  I love this shade.  It is a muted, nude rose shade in a similar color family to Tarte Exposed.  It is a very subtle color, but it looks gorgeous on the skin.  The look is minimal and natural, but oh so lovely.  And of course, I can’t mention this blush without talking about that beautiful embossed rose.  It’s the kind of product that you want to keep out because it’s so pretty to look at.  Bottom line, you need this in your life.

*I have a question for you.  I finally bought two shades of this Milani Rose Powder Blush, and I am debating doing a full review.  I know that they have been out for a while now, but it took me until this past month to finally get them.  Let me know in the comments below if you want a review and swatches of the Milani Rose Powder Blushes or if you think I should skip them.

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer's Dream

Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer’s Dream

My final beauty favorite this month is the Sleek Eye & Cheek Palette in A Midsummer’s Dream.  You may remember the haul I did featuring swatches of the new Sleek Eye & Cheek Palettes.  Be sure to check it out to see how the sades swatch and to see the other palettes.  I know that A Midsummer’s Dream looks like a good palette for late summer/early fall, but something about this palette has been so appealing to me lately.  I have really been loving playing the cool gray and the warm coral off each other.  That matte blush actually makes an excellent shadow.  I’ve gotten both subtle and pretty dramatic looks with this palette, and both approaches look great.  I definitely recommend it, especially for those in the UK who can get Sleek easier than we can here in the States.

Now, onto my non-beauty favorites.  I don’t do this every month, but sometimes there are things that I really want to share with you that aren’t beauty products.

Archer Farms Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cookie Snack Bites

Archer Farms Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cookie Snack Bites

So I was Target one day, and I came across these Archer Farms Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cookie Snack Bites.  OMG you guys, these are so freaking good.  I am a peanut butter monster, and these Snack Bites are perfect.  They have peanut butter chips, chocolate pieces, peanut butter candies, and cookie pieces all rolled together in a delicious snack bite.  They are sweet and dense, so only a couple bites are necessary to satisfy.  If you like peanut butter treats, you have to try them.

My final Favorite for June is Ingrid Nilsen’s (missglamorazzi) coming out video.  I have been subscribed to Ingrid’s channel for several years now and watch off and on. With over three million subscribers, if you are a part of the Youtube beauty community at all, you have probably heard of her.  Ingrid came out earlier this month, and I think that this video is actually really important for several reasons, not the least of which is the huge platform that she has to say that it is perfectly fine and normal to be gay.  I am going to try to be brief as I explain why I think this video is so great.

  • Even within the LGBT+ community, there are stereotypes and boxes that people get forced into, and that is nothing to what stereotypes they face in our heteronormative society.  Ingrid is a cute, femme, girly kind of girl who loves makeup and fashion.  Just like NFL player Michael Sam who shattered the expected boxes of what a gay man (supposedly) looks like, Ingrid shows that a lesbian can come in every shape and size, even with curly hair and petite lace dresses.
  • In the video, Ingrid explained how hard it was for her to be honest about her sexuality because of her fears of not being accepted and loved by family and friends who were not okay with gays.  She talks earnestly about how miserable she was as she tried to deny her feelings and how she felt that she didn’t deserve love.  The target audience for her channel is on the younger side, so she has many viewers that are still trying to figure out who they are.  I think that it is so important for them to see someone who may have had the same struggles that they are dealing with so that they know that they are not alone.  Also, when Ingrid talks about learning to love herself and the warm reception she got from her true friends when she came out to them, I think it sends a clear message that it gets better.  You can clearly see how relieved she is and how happy she is to finally be living an authentic life.  Her video has been viewed over 9,000,000 times There are so many young people getting the message “I’ve been there. I know it hurts, but it gets better.”
  • Because Ingrid tried to force herself to be straight for a while, she has had boyfriends and relationships that were public on youtube.  I think it is great that she addresses this in her video.  Sometimes I think people are so quick to dismiss another person’s truth just because they have had a past.  Yes, she has dated men.  No, that doesn’t mean that this is a “gay phase” or that she doesn’t have a right to call herself a lesbian.  No one has the right to define someone else.  Going back to my first point, in this area as well, Ingrid is busting out of the boxes other people are trying to put her in.  I think that’s great.

That’s it for my June Favorites.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.  What have you been loving in the last month?  Let me know in the comments below.

6 responses »

  1. I’d love to see your review of the Milani rose blushes! I actually have one that I picked up probably two years ago when they were limited edition, but I haven’t bought any more since they made them permanent. I’d be interested to know see swatches of the different shades, because I keep meaning to pick up another one (or two)!

    And I LOLed at “I am a peanut butter monster.” Haha – me too! Gotta try those snacks from Target!!

    And AND I have never heard of Ingrid Nilson, but I’m going to check out her channel now! 🙂

    • Ok, I will review the blushes. And yes, get thee to a Target for those PB noms, lol. They are so good! Yeah, Ingrid has been around for a long time as missglamorazzi. Like I said, I watch her channel kind of off and on because it is geared toward a younger crowd and she has become more of a brand which I’m not the biggest fan of, but I loved her coming out video. 🙂

  2. Her coming out video hurt my heart for her. Hopefully the people in her life that haven’t been so accepting of her realize she’s still the same Ingrid they know and love, she just happens to prefer ladies to lads.

    Yes to the blush reviews. There can’t be too many! 😉

    • I know what you mean. It seems like she is getting a lot of support from fiends and her online community. She sounds so excited to finally be able to live authentically. I wish her the best.

Leave a Reply

