Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette Releases This Week

Standard
Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette

Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette

If you haven’t yet heard, the new Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette releases on July 8th.  People have been counting down (literally, UD set up a countdown clock) for ages now, and the time is finally here.  The newest installment to the ever popular Naked lineup is sure to be just as coveted as the previous releases, but there are a few changes this time around.  First off, the packaging is a little different.  The hard plastic shell is beautifully decorated with a swirling smoke design.  Inside you will find a full sized mirror and a dual ended brush to accompany the twelve shadows.  You also get a look guide with tips and tricks on how to use the shades.  The palette has a metallic closure.  From what I have seen online it looks sturdy, both beautiful and functional.

A change from previous palettes that I personally think is very cool is that the twelve shades are arranged by finish.  From left to right, first you will find four shimmer shades, followed by four satin shades, and finally four matte shades.  You will find the traditional grays and blacks that you would expect to find in a smoky palette, but also some browns and taupes to add some variation.  Nine of the twelve shades are new from Urban Decay.  Here is a list of the shade descriptions:

  • High- Champagne shimmer with micro-glitter
  • Dirtysweet- Medium bronze shimmer
  • Radar- Metallic taupe with iridescent micro-glitter
  • Armor- Metallic silver-taupe with tonal sparkle
  • Slanted- Light metallic gray with a pearly sheen
  • Dagger- Medium charcoal satin
  • Market- Jet black satin
  • Smolder- Deep plum-taupe
  • Password- Cool taupe matte
  • Whiskey- Rich brown matte
  • Combust- Soft pink-taupe matte
  • Thirteen- Light beige matte
Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette

Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette

So, there you have it, the new Naked Smoky Palette.  It will retail for $54, and will be available at Ulta, Sephora, and urbandecay.com.  What do you think?  I am personally going to pass on this one.  I don’t feel that I really need any of these shades.  Frankly, I am a little over the whole Urban Decay Naked line at this point.  I love my Naked palettes, Naked 2 especially, but after all of the Naked releases over the years I feel like it is getting a little tired.  Urban Decay is such an innovative brand, I feel like it’s time to stop and move on to something else.  What do you think?  Do you think Urban Decay is stuck in a rut, or is the Naked Smoky Palette what it needs to revitalize the Naked line?  Will you be purchasing?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. I’m really excited for this palette to come out. I have been hoarding my Ulta points in anticipation!! I know what you mean, though; I’m not sure a fourth Naked palette was really necessary…but that doesn’t mean I won’t buy it. LOL

    • I’d love to hear your thoughts on it when you get it. I’ve heard the formula may be a little different with this palette. Smoky palettes aren’t really my style, but a part of me wants it just because it is Naked 4 (gotta catch ’em all). lol

      • I will definitely keep you posted! I’m hoping I’ll be able to get it during the first “batch,” but who knows how fast it will sell out. I’m super excited to try it, though!!

Leave a Reply

