Colourpop Super Shock Shadows Review and Swatches

Standard
Colourpop Super Shock Shadows + Pigments

ColourPop Super Shock Shadows

I am finally ready to do my review on the ColourPop Super Shock Shadows.  Unlike the Colourpop Super Shock Blushes that I loved instantly, it took a long time for me to suss out how I feel about the ColourPop Super Shock Shadows.  The formula is complicated, wonderful and tricky at the same time.  I feel like the finish really makes a huge difference with how these shadows perform.  So let’s talk about what I think of these shadows, look at some swatches, and see whether or not ColourPop shadows are worth the hype.

Colourpop Super Shock Shadows + Pigments

ColourPop Super Shock Shadows

For those who are not familiar, ColourPop Super Shock Shadows have a squishy cream-to-powder formula.  They come in plastic jars with a screw-top lid that look kind of cheap.  They are all stamped with a quilted pattern that disappears as soon as you use them.  Here are the application tips that ColourPop recommends: “For maximum coverage: Use fingertip and tap shadow onto eye lid. A flat, fine tip synthetic brush will work fabulously as well and is actually better for a more detailed application close to the lash line. However, your fingertips make for the most intense application. To blend: Use a fluffy brush that has good movement, dip tip of the brush into the shadow and blend with a “wind shield wiper” movement throughout the crease of the eye. This will make your shadow softer and more diffused (like a total pro). When finished, close that sucker up tight! Don’t leave the jar opened for long periods of time, you may lose some of the magic that makes the Super Shock Shadow so amazzzing.”  ColourPop Super Shock Shadows have great pigmentation, and they are truly gorgeous shadows.  You will want to play around with them to see which application method works best for you.  I have four regular ColourPop shades, and one Limited Edition shade.  Out of the five, three are metallic finish, one is ultra-metallic, and one is pearlized.  Like I mentioned above, the finish makes a huge difference in the way these shadows perform.  Interestingly enough, the cream-to-powder formula works on my eyes best without using a primer first.  I do not have oily eyelids, so keep that in mind.  I don’t really know why, but the shadows seem to adhere best to bare skin.  I don’t have any issues with fading or creasing that way.  Otherwise, I have tried a few different primers and ColourPop works better with primers that have some slip or tackiness.  They do not perform well over dryer, concealer-like primers (like the MICA Beauty Eye Primer for example) and end up fading quickly.  So you definitely have to be mindful of what you put under them.  Before I go into more detail about finish and formula, I want to show you the shadows that I purchased with the shade description that ColourPop provides.

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Get Lucky

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in Get Lucky

Get Lucky– “Intense ultra-metallic, liquid-like true gold, this shade is so on-point you are sure to “get lucky” *ahem*.”

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Amaze

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in Amaze

Amaze– “Metallic rose gold with multi-colored multi-dimensional glitter. Whether you fancy yourself a girl next door or a sultry vixen, this shade will satisfy your craving for unique shimmer that flatters in any light.”

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in So Quiche

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in So Quiche

So Quiche– “A soft olive with a highly reflective gold and pink violet glittery duo chrome metallic finish…there are no words in the dictionary to describe this. Not even urbandictionary.com .  Aka: this shade is hotter than hot – the F**king Queen of shadows.”  I actually disagree a little with ColourPop’s description.  I don’t see the olive at all.  To me So Quiche looks like a taupey-brown base with a ton of violet purple glitter.  It’s a very unique shade.

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Partridge

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in Partridge

Partridge– “A Saddle brown undertone with a green duo chrome finish in a Pearlized Finish (pear tree not included).

Colourpop Super Shock Shadows

ColourPop Super Shock Shadows

Here is a look at all four shades swatched next to each other.  When I ordered, ColourPop was celebrating their one year anniversary.  They offered a special that included a new LE shade of Super Shock Shadow in Birthday Girl for free with every order.  I don’t want to spend a lot of time on it because it was only available for, like, one weekend but here it is.  It’s a champagne shade with a lot of silver glitter.  Very pretty, but not as unique as some of the other shades available.  Birthday Girl came in pink packaging instead of the white, and the lid has a little cupcake design.

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Birthday Girl

ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in Birthday Girl

I wish that I had been thinking ahead when I ordered and had gotten a matte finish shadow to test out, but no dice.  For me, the deciding factor in whether or not I liked a particular ColourPop shadow turned out to be directly based on the amount of glitter it contained.  Now please understand, I like shimmery shadows.  I like to sparkle, and I love pairing ultra shimmer with mattes for a look that is both sophisticated and playful.  I am not afraid of glitter, but I like to keep it on my eyes and not all over my face.  The “metallic” finish shadows are actually glitter finish, and they aren’t kidding around with the sparkle.  It is a little easier to control the glitter when using a brush to apply, rather than your fingers, but it still gets everywhere.  The glitter shadows are so beautiful, but after an hour or so, it looks like you’ve been rolling around with some unicorns.  It’s crazy.  So, if you are a glitter lover, ColourPop is your jam.  Otherwise, you need to be very careful about the finish that you choose when ordering.  So Quiche and Amaze are such beautiful shadows, but at the end of the day I couldn’t handle all of the glitter fall-out.  Now, Get Lucky is an “Ultra-metalic” finish, and it is a completely different story.  Instead of having even more glitter, it is has a liquid metal finish that is truly stunning.  Partridge has a pearlized finish, and I found it to be the easiest shadow to work with.  I really like both Get Lucky and Partridge.  The ColourPop Super Shock Shadow formula is problematic.  Again, I had no issues with fading or creasing over bare lids, but I don’t know how well they would perform on oily lids.  And that unruly glitter fall out really is a deal breaker.  Unfortunately, easily half of ColourPop’s collection of  Super Shock Shadow comes in that glittery “metallic” finish.  For me personally, I think ColourPop is worth trying out.  I want to get a few more Super Shock Shadows in matte and pearlized finishes, which I think I will greatly enjoy.  They are only $5 each, and they contain 2.1 g of product.  ColourPop is not available in stores, and you can only get ColourPop by ordering online at colourpop.com.  Are  ColourPop Super Shock shadows worth the hype.  No, I don’t think so.  Are they good shadows?  For the most part yes, some of them are fantastic. But some are not so great.  Would I buy more ColourPop Super Shock Shadows?  Yes I would, especially because the blushes were amazing.  If I am ordering more cheek products or trying out some lip products, I would throw in some more shadows and give them another chance.  I really think the main issue for me is the finish.  I hope that helps.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites July 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

