Birthday Haul: MAC, e.l.f., and Sephora

Standard
Haul time

Haul time

Hey everyone, I have a birthday haul to show you.  You have seemed to really enjoy haul posts in the past, so I thought that I would share what beauty items I got for my birthday this year.  This should go without saying because you all know me by now, but this post isn’t meant to be taken as bragging.  It’s all in the spirit of fun to be shared with other makeup addicts like myself.  I didn’t go to crazy this year, but I did get a few things from MAC, e.l.f., and Sephora.  If you see anything that you want a full review on, just let me know.

MAC

MAC Prep + Prime Lip

MAC Prep + Prime Lip

I only needed one thing from MAC, and that is the MAC Prep + Prime Lip.  I first got this product around the time of my wedding and loved it, but that was several years ago.  I haven’t had it in an extremely long time, but I always remembered how much I liked it.  I’ve tried many balms and lip treatments, but nothing works quite like MAC Prep + Prime Lip on my lips.  I don’t think everyone needs it, but my lips are extremely dry and lipsticks go on and wear so much better on me when I have Prep + Prime Lip.  I am very excited to have it in my collection once more.

e.l.f.

e.l.f. haul

e.l.f. haul

I finally broke down and placed an e.l.f. order.  I have been pretty unhappy with e.l.f.’s exclusion of new products in their promotions, and consequently have not placed an e.l.f. order in quite some time.  But I really wanted to try out the new Studio Contour Palette and one of the new Smudge pot shades.  I finally broke down and took advantage of one of their free shipping offers.  Also, in July e.l.f. offered a free gift with purchase to all customers, so they sent me two Expert Liquid Liners for free.  I am not sure if I am going to keep them or give them away, so I left them in their packages, but I appreciate the gesture.  Here is what I got:

  • New Studio Contour Palette
  • Contouring Blush & Bronzing Powder in Fiji (Matte)
  • New Smudge Pot Cream Eyeshadow in Wine Not
  • 2 Expert Liquid Liners in Charcoal (free)

Sephora

 

Sephora haul

Sephora haul

I was super happy to get a gift card to Sephora from my sister for my birthday that let me get some items that I’ve been eying for a long time.  Most notably, the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light.  I mentioned in my June Favorites post how much I have been enjoying Diffused Light.  I have been going back and forth in my head for the better part of a year about if I wanted to get Dim Light as well, or possibly the Palette.  Finally, I decided to bite the bullet and get Dim Light.  I can’t wait to use it.  Here is what else I got from Sephora:

  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light
  • Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Duo in Fig/Date
  • Sephora Collection MicroSmooth Baked Blush Duo in Tea Rose Tickle
  • Sephora Collection MicroSmooth Baked Blush Duo in Tangerine Tease
  • Sephora Beauty Insider 2015 Birthday Gift
Sephora Beauty Insider 2015 Birthday Gift

Sephora Beauty Insider 2015 Birthday Gift

Let’s take a closer look at the Sephora Beauty Insider Birthday Gift.  Many of you are probably familiar with it, but if you haven’t seen it, Sephora paired with NARS to give us two mini lip pencils.  In the box, which is free to anyone who signs up for Sephora’s Beauty Insider points program, we get mini versions of the Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien and the Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella.  I have personally never used a NARS lip pencil, so I am really happy to have them.  The shades are really pretty, and that lovely matte red is going to be gorgeous in the Fall and Winter months.  Sephora’s birthday gift certainly beats Ulta’s 2015 birthday gift (which has changed each quarter and is currently an Urban Decay Perversion Mascara), at least in my opinion.

Sephora Beauty Insider 2015 Birthday Gift

Sephora Beauty Insider 2015 Birthday Gift

(L) Rikugien and (R) Cruella

(L) Rikugien and (R) Cruella

And that is it for my Birthday haul.  I do have a couple things coming from Ulta, but they won’t be here until the end of the week.  Like I said, I didn’t go crazy this year as far as buying makeup.  I still had fun, and was able to get a couple things that I have really been wanting.  I hope that you liked my haul, and you will be seeing some of these products again in reviews.  But please, if there is anything specific that you want a review on, let me know in the comments below.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

10 responses »

  1. Happy birthday!! I love seeing people’s hauls, especially birthday ones. You got some really fun stuff! I know they’re not “budget” products, but I’d love it if you’d do a full review of your Hourglass powders sometime. I’ve mentioned before that I have the Ambient Lighting Palette, but I’m curious about other stuff from their line (because I think maybe it’s better than the one thing I have! LOL).

    Also, I recently placed an e.l.f. order, too. I meant to order some of the new shades of the Smudge Pots…but I forgot. ((facepalm)) I did get the Contour Palette, which I’m enjoying so far. I’d love to hear your thoughts on that, too!

  2. Dim Light is my favorite of the Ambient Lighting Powders. I’ve hit pan on it in the palette but also have the full sized version, which I’m using now. Happy Birthday!

  3. I would love to see a review of the Sephora blushes. Tea Rose Tickle actually caught my eye at Sephora the other day, but I couldn’t find reviews online other than just swatches.

Leave a Reply

