Ipsy August 2015

Standard
Ipsy August 2015

Ipsy August 2015

I received that big pink envelope in the mail that can only mean one thing- it’s Ipsy time again!  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for August is “Prep School- Pretty and Polished are always in style“.  The samples for August came in a textured vinyl houndstooth print bag with a hot pink zipper.  I madlove the pattern, though I wish the bag were fabric instead of plastic.  So, let’s talk products.

Briogeo Blossom & Bloom Ginseng + Biotin Volumizer

Briogeo Blossom & Bloom Ginseng + Biotin Volumizer

Briogeo Blossom & Bloom Ginseng + Biotin Volumizer: “This dual-action spray enhances the look of hair fullness with long-term thickness results. The formula contains a unique ingredient—maltodextrin, a natural sugar starch—which coats each strand of hair to promote a fuller appearance. Lemon and witch hazel extract dissolve excess oil and help extend time between washes. For longer term benefits, the spray contains ginger to support natural blood flow to the scalp and biotin to encourage natural, healthy hair growth. Cruelty-free and Vegan-friendly.”  Full size is $18 for 5.1 oz at briogeohair.com.  Sample size is 1 oz, worth $3.53.

Noyah Natural Lipstick in Desert Rose

Noyah Natural Lipstick in Desert Rose

Noyah Natural Lipstick in Desert Rose: “Noyah’s all-natural lipsticks come in dazzling earth-friendly bamboo packaging and are versatile enough to take you from subtle daytime chic to a fun-filled evening look. The lipsticks are made in the USA, never tested on animals, and contain no parabens or sulfates. If that’s not enough to make you feel all warm and fuzzy, post #noyah or #livedivinely and noyah will donate a product to the homeless! [Desert Rose is] a semi-matte, subtle dirty-pink shade that straddles the line between elegant and flirty and has just the right balance to make a polished statement at work while remaining playful enough to carry you through happy hour.”  Full size is $18 for .16 oz at noyah.com.  Sample size is .04 oz, worth $4.50.

JUARA Skincare Turmeric Antioxidant Radiance Facial Mask

JUARA Skincare Turmeric Antioxidant Radiance Facial Mask

JUARA Skincare Turmeric Antioxidant Radiance Facial Mask: “A must for radiant skin, JUARA’s Turmeric Antioxidant Radiance Mask utilizes the proven power of Indonesian turmeric. This powerful mask detoxifies, brightens and strengthens stressed, tired, dull-looking skin in one single application. Turmeric extract works to brighten and even out skin tone while providing antioxidant protection, kaolin clay purifies skin and refines pores and a touch of candlenut oil is added to soften and nurture skin. This unique mask is a great instant pick me up! Free of Parabens, Phthalates, Sulfates, Mineral Oil, Gluten, Artificial Colorants and no Harsh Chemicals.”  Full size is $35 for 3 oz at juaraskincare.com.  Sample size is .34 oz, worth $3.97.

Skone Cosmetics Luxe Doubler Eye/Lip Pencil in Wine

Skone Cosmetics Luxe Doubler Eye/Lip Pencil in Wine

Skone Cosmetics Luxe Doubler Eye/Lip Pencil in Wine: “This smooth, creamy pencil is an eyeliner that doubles as a lip pencil. It’s multi-purpose design allows you to create a pop of color to line the eyes, fill in the lids, or add color to your wings. Or use it as a lip pencil to easily shape, line or fill in the lip.”   This is full size product, worth $12 skonecosmetics.com.  *I just want to note here that no liner should be used on both eyes and lips without being thoroughly sanitized.

Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish in Elegantly Wasted

Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish in Elegantly Wasted

Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish in Elegantly Wasted: “‘If you enjoy yourself, it’s not really a waste – it’s your prerogative.’ Trust Fund Beauty is a quick-drying, chip resistant polish comes in cute bottles complete with some seriously sassy names. Plus, it’s 7-free, non-toxic, vegan, and cruelty-free. Don’t mind if we do!”  Full size is $15 for 17 ml at trustfundbeauty.com.  Sample size is 15 ml, worth $13.24.

August 2015 Ipsy

August 2015 Ipsy

The grand total worth of my August Ipsy bag is $37.24.  Though this isn’t the most expensive Ipsy bag, I am pretty happy with it.  Though I don’t usually want nail polishes, this Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish looks really beautiful.  I also think that the Skone Cosmetics pencil is beautiful, and I will definitely use it as a lip liner.  (It’s got too much red in it for me to use as an eye liner, IMO.)  Once again, I’d like to say that no liner should be used on both eyes and lips without being thoroughly sanitized in between.  It’s better to not use any product that has been on your lips on your eyes at all to avoid infection.  End PSA, lol.  The lipstick is in a ho-hum shade, but I like that it is all natural.  Actually, many of the products that I received in this bag are all-natural or vegetarian/vegan friendly.  I think that’s really cool.  I can not wait to use the Juara mask.  It looks great, but I wish the sample size wasn’t so small.  I’m not thrilled by the hair products (why Ipsy, just stop it) but otherwise I am pleased with my bag.

Ipsy

Ipsy

If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to get your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  If you are already a subscriber, what did you think of your August 2015 Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things or did you get different items?  Were you happy, disappointed, or ambivalent?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. Very cute bag this month! I actually got a sample of that same Juara mask a while back from Birchbox, but it was in completely different packaging (it’s in a little tub instead of a squeeze tube). I like it! I think it leaves my skin looking nice and refreshed. And OMG I love the shade of that lipstick – so pretty!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

